$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rtiste
Couples
Delaware
Nov 23, 2009

Excellent value for $

We were very happy with our stay. The room was clean and the bed linens & pillows were very comfy. Normally we would use the fitness equiptment, but this trip did not, so cannot comment. The location is super-about 2 blocks to the White House and many attractions are walking distance. Would not hesitate to stay there again next trip to D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gina from NY
Single
new york NY
Nov 21, 2009

wonderful hotel!!

i went to washington dc to visit a friend and stayed at the capital hilton. it was absolutely wonderful. the room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. the hotel is very easy to get to from the metro and other bus stations...great location with coffee shops across the street. the staff was also very helpful in pointing me in the right direction - very respectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KW Wilkes-Barre
Friends
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Sep 14, 2009

Washington DC Gem

Great place to stay! Easily located near all of Washington's destinations, especially the White House. We only stayed for one night because we had a lot of things planned in two day's time, but would love to come back! Only a few things I noticed about the room that I didn't like: there was freshly chewed gum on one of the window curtains, but easily removed with tissue; when we first entered the room it was extremely warm, and the air conditioning didn't really cool the room down much; there was a slight sewage smell coming in from outside through the A/C vent but later disappeared; and lastly, the shower curtain had no liner so the floor got very wet when we had to shower. Other than that, this was a wonderful place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan everything before you go: destinations, subway trips, and time. This helped us to see almost everything in two days. Also, the subway is the best way to travel between destinations. You can buy an all day pass which is good if you use the subway many times in one day, or figure out how many times you plan on using the subway, calculate the distance costs, and by farecards with that amount. We saved nearly $30 by doing this!

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Habum Tatum
Couples
New York
Jul 7, 2014

Great for the price

Good location for sight seeing. Very nice for the price. 2nd time staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super travellor
Family
Chicago,illinois
Jul 7, 2014

Wonderfull experience and perfect location

Hotel location is perfect just 3 blocks walk from White House and staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris of Small Business
Business
Lewisville, Texas
Oct 20, 2014

Business Man's Friend

Capital Hilton received me kindly and served me promptly. The room was very nice & an excellent place to work & sleep. This was the second leg of a tiring journey & the helpful porters & bellmen were ready when I got there. The coffee shop across the street was great and the nearby restaurants were great. The Hotel chefs made great food and the view of the White House was directly down the street. It was a short walk to the Metro Transit system. Great trip- can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant & coffee opposite corner were great.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrommyD
Business
new york, ny
Oct 18, 2014

Great hotel in a great location

Stayed at the Capital Hilton for one night on a business trip to DC and it met all my needs. A great hotel for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JD1964
Couples
Washington DC
Dec 6, 2014

DC Nov 2014

This hotel was recommended by a contact through work as a good business hotel with a good location close to sights and the metro and we had read some mixed reviews before arriving for our 4 night stay to celebrate my 50th birthday, all we can say is we had an absolute brilliant time in Washington and from check in to check out the hotel was fab. As it was a celebration we booked a suite which was excellent value for money compared to prices in NYC & Boston and although our room wasn't ready after arriving from our 4hrs train journey from New York it gave us a couple of hours to have a look around DC and Isobella on reception was extremely helpful and friendly as were all the staff on reception and at the hotel from the doorman, porters, room service and cleaners to the bar staff and when we did get to our room we had the surprise of a bottle of fizz to celebrate my birthday with, a lovely gesture. The room was huge with a separate sitting room and two TV's and two queen beds and nice bathroom and bonus of in room tea/coffee making facility and room service breakfast although a little pricey worth treating yourself to at least once. Very comfortable feel in the reception area and staff always friendly and helpful and the bar food was very nice and a nice place to relax after a days sightseeing. Location two blocks from The Whitehouse and 15 min walk to quite a few other fantastic sights, memorials and museums and if you want only 5/10 mins walk to get the metro. We had a 10.30pm flight back to the UK so a late check out sorted with reception on our last day just finished off our stay brilliantly. Overall we loved Washington and our experience was greatly enhanced by the great time and relaxing feel we had at the hotel, we can't wait to go back again and stay at The Capital Hilton Washington, not as I initially thought a good business hotel but a great place to stay for a holiday/vacation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick&Schmicks, seafodd, steak & pasta nice relaxing atmosphere to eat drink and watch sport in the bar or if you an equally nice restaurant with good friendly service

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sterling
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Great for my purposes....

I was in DC to hit some government offices, so this hotel put me in walking distance of everywhere I needed to go. I was also surprised just how close some great eating and drinking was just up 14th street. The day charge for valet parking was higher than I expected but overall I was quite satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cork Wine Bar had some amazing food, it's about 3/4 of a mile from the hotel, and right down the street from the 14th street location of Ted's Bulletin (get a milkshake....just do it)

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert N.
Business
N/A
Mar 20, 2015

Nice Hotel

Convenient, clean, and good value for the location - I will recommend this place for business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top