$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Capital Hilton

4 stars
1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
147 reviews
Business Man's Friend

Capital Hilton received me kindly and served me promptly. The room was very nice & an excellent... See full review

  • Chris of Small Business
  • Oct 20, 2014
Great hotel in a great location

Stayed at the Capital Hilton for one night on a business trip to DC and it met all my needs. A... See full review

  • BrommyD
  • Oct 18, 2014
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby "Hot Cups"
Business
Manassas, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Highly Recommending the Hilton

My girlfriend and I were celebrating an anniversary. The Capital Hilton was a perfect fit for us. The room appeared to be brand new and was in pristine condition. Before leaving the next day we were pleasantly surprised by a five star breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We chose to take a taxi to our dinner, it provided minimal hassle and was very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rtiste
Business
Delaware
Nov 23, 2009

Excellent value for $

We were very happy with our stay. The room was clean and the bed linens & pillows were very comfy. Normally we would use the fitness equiptment, but this trip did not, so cannot comment. The location is super-about 2 blocks to the White House and many attractions are walking distance. Would not hesitate to stay there again next trip to D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gina from NY
Business
new york NY
Nov 21, 2009

wonderful hotel!!

i went to washington dc to visit a friend and stayed at the capital hilton. it was absolutely wonderful. the room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. the hotel is very easy to get to from the metro and other bus stations...great location with coffee shops across the street. the staff was also very helpful in pointing me in the right direction - very respectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KW Wilkes-Barre
Business
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Sep 14, 2009

Washington DC Gem

Great place to stay! Easily located near all of Washington's destinations, especially the White House. We only stayed for one night because we had a lot of things planned in two day's time, but would love to come back! Only a few things I noticed about the room that I didn't like: there was freshly chewed gum on one of the window curtains, but easily removed with tissue; when we first entered the room it was extremely warm, and the air conditioning didn't really cool the room down much; there was a slight sewage smell coming in from outside through the A/C vent but later disappeared; and lastly, the shower curtain had no liner so the floor got very wet when we had to shower. Other than that, this was a wonderful place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan everything before you go: destinations, subway trips, and time. This helped us to see almost everything in two days. Also, the subway is the best way to travel between destinations. You can buy an all day pass which is good if you use the subway many times in one day, or figure out how many times you plan on using the subway, calculate the distance costs, and by farecards with that amount. We saved nearly $30 by doing this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Habum Tatum
Business
New York
Jul 7, 2014

Great for the price

Good location for sight seeing. Very nice for the price. 2nd time staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super travellor
Business
Chicago,illinois
Jul 7, 2014

Wonderfull experience and perfect location

Hotel location is perfect just 3 blocks walk from White House and staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris of Small Business
Business
Lewisville, Texas
Oct 20, 2014

Business Man's Friend

Capital Hilton received me kindly and served me promptly. The room was very nice & an excellent place to work & sleep. This was the second leg of a tiring journey & the helpful porters & bellmen were ready when I got there. The coffee shop across the street was great and the nearby restaurants were great. The Hotel chefs made great food and the view of the White House was directly down the street. It was a short walk to the Metro Transit system. Great trip- can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant & coffee opposite corner were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrommyD
Business
new york, ny
Oct 18, 2014

Great hotel in a great location

Stayed at the Capital Hilton for one night on a business trip to DC and it met all my needs. A great hotel for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner Girl Amy
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 7, 2014

Exactly what we wanted

We were in town from Baltimore overnight for a specific event taking place near the Mall, so the location couldn't have been any more perfect. Even if we'd just been in town to sight-see, it was within walking distance of most of the major monuments and museums that people want to visit. And we were two blocks directly north of the White House. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional. The room was clean, comfortable and mostly quiet - considering that we were downtown. We could here sirens from time to time, but that comes with staying in the city. I can't speak to whether the value was good or not. We stayed at the beginning of the Cherry Blossom festival, so I expected prices to be a little higher. I wouldn't normally have paid what we paid anywhere else. ($200 range)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Talk to the concierge. He was very helpful!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy to holiday
Business
Northeastern NY
Jun 2, 2010

Capital Hilton, Washington DC

We (a party of 3 women, two sisters and our sister-in-law) were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, the cleanliness and the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in! The location was also wonderful. What we were not too thrilled about was the other weekend visitors were loud very late at night (well after midnight); the 3:55 am wake up call that was supposed to be at 4:30 (not a person, but some type of machine); and finding a decent cup of coffee (at a reasonable price) nearby was a real challenge---Starbucks doesn't qualify for either of those and even they were not close! It was a good thing we brought our own coffee maker, filter and coffee (only needed to buy cream at CVS, which was a block away)! There is a restaurant in the hotel, but $18.50 for 2 eggs, bacon, toast and juice is unreasonably high (our meal at the Asian restaurant was $16 for each of us, including tax and tip!). The hotel's proximity to two subway stations (different lines) made accessibility to our destinations top-notch; the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again, and also with our coffee pot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the Asian restaurant recommended to us by the staff; a short walk for most travelers requiring no aids (such as a wheelchair, cane or walker), but I've forgotton the name!!! I ordered the Pad Thai Noodle dish, the best one I've ever eaten, and my companions also enjoyed their separate dishes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top