$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Capital Hilton

4 stars
1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
148 reviews
DC Nov 2014

This hotel was recommended by a contact through work as a good business hotel with a good location... See full review

  • JD1964
  • Dec 6, 2014
Business Man's Friend

Capital Hilton received me kindly and served me promptly. The room was very nice & an excellent... See full review

  • Chris of Small Business
  • Oct 20, 2014
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Memorial Day
Business
Washington DC
May 26, 2009

Great Location

The location is great a few blocks from the White House and Metro station. There are taxis always waiting for business, a starbucks on every corner, and a friendly staff. The rooms were small and they were clean but not very tidy. All in all nice elegant (pricy but nice) place to sleep (the beds were amazingly comfrotable) in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn the layout of the city and use the Metro to get anywhere fast and cheap!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 17, 2009

Good for the money

Overall, you get what you pay for. While this isn't the most glamorous hotel in Washington DC, it fits the needs of a budget-type of family. Nice and clean, but rooms could be a little larger.The best thing is the location. Right in the heart of the city with all major attractions within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House is right across the street for those who love to sightsee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sesser, il
Jul 12, 2010

nice vacation

Room was smaller than expected and located next to elevator machine room. Staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

metrolink was very close saved time and money getting around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Apr 7, 2010

capital hilton easter 2010

the staff checked us in a queen bed room even though we booked a king size. after a couple of calls, they switched us to the worst king size room they had, right next to extremely noisy elevators. But, the location is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clayton, CA
Jul 10, 2010

Great location! Beautiful ambience.

We could not have asked for a better location. We walked to everything, even in the middle of a heat wave! The lobby was beautiful and all the staff were courteous and helpful. My biggest disappointment was the cleanliness of the room. We arrived late in the evening and when my husband lifted the toliet seat to use the toliet, there were urine spots on the underside! We went downstairs to dinner and my husband stopped at the front desk to tell them. They did offer a new room which my husband turned down(!) and said they would clean it while we were at dinner. It was cleaned when we got back to our room. However, when I went to take a shower, there were no washcloths in the bathroom! Called housekeeping and they brought some up, as well as an additional glass as there were only two and there were three of us in the room. The ice machine on our floor was out of service (7th floor) so my husband went to the 5th to get ice. The next day housekeeping left the bucket with the melted ice and again only two glasses. Called housekeeping again and they brought up an additional glass and a new liner for the ice bucket. On the 3rd night, no new liner again. The last night was fine. The breakfast buffet was delicious with something for everyone! Started every morning there. Wait staff was friendly and professional. Very well trained! On our first night we had dinner in the lounge as the restaurant is closed after lunch(?!) and it was excellent. Our waitress was courteous and professional. We wanted for nothing and she made helpful suggestions. Again, well trained. The door people were helpful and friendly. We never saw the concierge although the doorperson and waiters and waitresses were helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is no place to eat in the hotel in the evening unless you choose to dine in the lounge and I don't think if you have young children you want to eat in a bar, though elegant and historic it may be. Within walking distance of the hotel, all the sandwhich shops and coffee houses, etc, close around seven and the restaurant are all very elegant so you need to bring something a little dressier than capri pants and tee shirts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Plains, NY
Apr 4, 2011

good hotel

The location is good, withing walking distance to white house. After we arrived, we walked to see the cherry blossom. But there's no self parking. You have to pay $42 for night parking. And there's no fridge there. I think it's better to have a fridge, free tv channels and free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison, NJ
Apr 24, 2011

Good location

We stayed here 3 nights. This hotel is a few blocks from the White House. First night the room was horrible because the heat didn't work properly. They sent the engineer up promptly and he fixed it but by then it was past midnight, so it kind of ruined our day next day. The bed also was not of good quality. Bathroom was 2 feet from the the bed - imagine the rest. They changed us to a better room next day but the bed quality was the same - I guess the entire hotel has the same kind of beds. Luckily we had a sofa bed in the 2nd room which got us through the next couple of nights. The staff was very helpful. Hotel parking is valet parking and expensive - there is public parking within couple of blocks. Also if you ask for your car while check out time - then forget about it - give or take a half hour. Restaurant is okay but expensive - 20 bucks for breakfast buffet. The hotel is not too far from other attractions so the 2 good things are location and great staff. Room tariff was reasonable. Anything in DC is usually very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House is a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge NJ
Nov 10, 2009

Ok Hotel

I Guess I had high expectations from this hotel.This is an OK Sort of Hotels.Good if you just want to sleep at night.I would not recommend this hotel to any one who is looking to enjoy their stay in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 16, 2011

Decent Downtown Hotel

I stayed here as the conference was being held here. At $380 per night, I expected more. I was surprised at the lack of restaurant options, especially when their only restaurant was closed. Ate from a limited menu in the lobby bar. Room was nice, but hallway noise far more prominent than others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Apr 10, 2010

DC Traveler

friendly staff, great location and very clean and in a new wing. Lots of traffic noise even facing the alley and there was $40 per night vallet parking, the only other option for parking was driving around finding a lot or it was suggested that we could park on the street and feed the meter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from the white house and 2 blocks from the metro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top