$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JP.957
Business
Potomac
Jan 15, 2015

Great family time

Had a great time and the staff was amazing as well as the gym and Lisa the massage therapist was just great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Rhoads
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 4, 2014

quick DC trip

Staff was wonderful and very helpful. This was my first trip to DC and only had 3 days there. We were within walking distance to many attractions staying here. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rteckert
Business
Poughkeepsie, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Weekend getaway

This was our second time staying at the Capital Hilton. Great distance from all the sights. Hotel is currently under renovations but this didn't stop us. The renovations did not get in the way of anything the hotel had to offer. Would definitely stay again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All the museums and monuments the district has to offer...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy to holiday
Business
Northeastern NY
Jun 2, 2010

Capital Hilton, Washington DC

We (a party of 3 women, two sisters and our sister-in-law) were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, the cleanliness and the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in! The location was also wonderful. What we were not too thrilled about was the other weekend visitors were loud very late at night (well after midnight); the 3:55 am wake up call that was supposed to be at 4:30 (not a person, but some type of machine); and finding a decent cup of coffee (at a reasonable price) nearby was a real challenge---Starbucks doesn't qualify for either of those and even they were not close! It was a good thing we brought our own coffee maker, filter and coffee (only needed to buy cream at CVS, which was a block away)! There is a restaurant in the hotel, but $18.50 for 2 eggs, bacon, toast and juice is unreasonably high (our meal at the Asian restaurant was $16 for each of us, including tax and tip!). The hotel's proximity to two subway stations (different lines) made accessibility to our destinations top-notch; the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again, and also with our coffee pot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the Asian restaurant recommended to us by the staff; a short walk for most travelers requiring no aids (such as a wheelchair, cane or walker), but I've forgotton the name!!! I ordered the Pad Thai Noodle dish, the best one I've ever eaten, and my companions also enjoyed their separate dishes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Baldwin, NY
Nov 1, 2010

Almost perfect

My husband and I decided to go to a Rally at the National Mall and make it a romantic getaway by not bringing our children. We were happy with the location as it was walking distance to the White House and most sites. The room was very clean and nicely decorated with a flat screen TV, comfortable bed and all the usual amenities. The restaurants and train station and bus were all nearby, too. The staff was courteous and the only real complaint we had was that we were told repeatedly that the valet parking was good for twenty four hours for 42 dollars but in actuality it was good until 2PM regardless of when one checked in, in our case 4:30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 14, 2010

Wonderful Hotel

Had a great time there. I was able to take advantage of the wonderful workout facility. I didn't like that it was an extra $15 charge to use the facility, but it ended up being worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 8, 2010

Overall Good Stay

My husband and I spent three nights at the Capital Hilton for $150/night with breakfast included. Based upon the reviews, we thought we might get an older room that had not yet been renovated. Happily, our room was beautiful and renovated. The staff was friendly and courteous. We especially enjoyed breakfast. Honestly, I wasn't expecting much. The made-to-order waffles and eggs were delicious. This hotel is two blocks north of the White House and two blocks from both the blue line and the red line, so getting around is very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desmond C.
Business
N/A
May 4, 2015

mostly enjoyable

A good comfortable hotel, staff very helpful. However we were disappointed to learn that wi fi was only available in our room at an extra cost of 18 dollars per day! Otherwise one had to go and sit in the hotel lobby with dozens of others. Not satisfactory in a hotel of this calibre!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss beach escape
Business
New York
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect Location

For DC visitors who enjoy walking to our Nation's attractions, the Capital Hilton is an excellent choice. Although the room was clean, the view of garbage outside our window was distasteful. Being a Hilton Honors member, I expected better. The staff at check-in were very polite and helpful as we're the gentlemen who handled the parking. However, on Saturday night, my daughter and her husband were treated rudely in the lobby bar. Despite the negative hotel aspects, we had a great time in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike the visitor
Business
Quebec Canada
Jul 6, 2009

Capital Hilton Do not drive there!

I have paid less for more. $40.00 a day parking fee for your valet parked car. Be ready to tip a lot. $12.95 a day for wireless computer hook up which is free at other places. Hint: you can get e-mail for free by hooking on to the network of the hotel across the street. Hotel computer staff can not walk and chew gum at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk of one block you will find several places which serve a good cheap breakfast or lunch. They close around 5:00 pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top