$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
151 reviews
Great for my purposes....

I was in DC to hit some government offices, so this hotel put me in walking distance of everywhere... See full review

  • Sterling
  • Jan 27, 2015
DC Nov 2014

This hotel was recommended by a contact through work as a good business hotel with a good location... See full review

  • JD1964
  • Dec 6, 2014
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, OH
Sep 6, 2010

Great [...] price

The service was outstanding, the room was roomy and comfortable, however we could hear people in the hall and closing their doors. They are redecorating which did not interfere with our stay. There are many restaurants nearby ( 1-4 blocks). The metro is 2 blocks away. We had an enjoyable stay. The price of parking is now $42 daily. [...], you offered a great price for this room. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yle
Business
Italy
Jan 11, 2010

VERY GOOD HOTEL!

Very nice location, near all the main monuments and museums of Washington. The room was spacious and clean. Staff friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachelD4
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Jan 16, 2011

Overnight in Downtown DC

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, newly renovated. Our room was extremely spacious--two doubles and a large sitting area with couch. Plenty of room for the kids to spread out. Location was excellent in the heart of downtown, easy to find. Parking is expensive, but a necessity in the area. It was $42 to valet park our car for the night. Service was impeccable, breakfast was good. Our room was very comfortable--but my one complaint is that it was VERY noisy along that street all night (and I mean ALL night). Traffic noise, horns honking, people coming out of clubs at 2:00 a.m. It was very loud. I couldn't find any way to keep the HVAC fan running to make white noise--the fan kept turning off with the heating cycle. Lovely hotel--we will stay again, but I will be bringing earplugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to The Mall, The Smithsonian. It would be doable as a long walk, but we drove and parked closer, due to colder weather and small children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
May 7, 2010

Great Location

They put me in a remodeled but noisy room near the elevator and ice machine. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is convenient and cheap compared to taxis and other shuttles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, La.
May 11, 2009

hotel rating

we went to DC for our anniversary. everything was good except the prices in the hotel restaurant. rooms were large enough, and clean. the location for sighseeing was real good. I would recomment this hotel to anyone traveling in DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, Ohio
Nov 28, 2010

Very pleasant

Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. It is convenient to several metro lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the McPherson metro stop from Reagan Airport. Use won't have to change to the redline.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st anniversary couple
Business
Portsmouth, VA
May 11, 2009

Very nice hotel

This is a very nice hotel. The staff was very courteous. We had to request washcloths. For some reason there were none in the room the first two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cosi has excellent flatbread pizzas and very good breakfast. It is in the same block as the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 20, 2010

A Great Night!

From the time we pulled up to the entrance, to when we departed, my wife, and I were treated with wonderful service, and the staff were very helpful. We needed additional items, and they brought us what we needed with kindness, and went the extra mile to make sure we had all we needed. The location was great. Will go back again without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach,Va
Oct 26, 2009

grad old place

outstanding staff especially doormen great workout facilities and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tully, New York
Oct 31, 2010

[...]

We asked for a non smoking room and at first were given a room which smelled so much of smoke that it made me dizzy. However, after asking, we were changed to a magnificent corner room. Our bellman hellped us immensely and stayed with us until we were satisfied. However, the assitant manager, when we had trouble with a reservation the day before, was very snippy.The rest of the staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top