$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
156 reviews
vacay

Great time over all. I would recommend this hotel to friends and famiky. I would visit the hotel... See full review

  • Maryann C.
  • Apr 16, 2015
weekend getaway

The hotel was very beautiful,and clean.I would recommend this hotel to ALL of my friend's and... See full review

  • Sharon M.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 156
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sharon M.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

weekend getaway

The hotel was very beautiful,and clean.I would recommend this hotel to ALL of my friend's and family.It was close to stores,and entertaiment.We did a lot of shopping in Georgetown.Had a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JD1964
Business
Washington DC
Dec 6, 2014

DC Nov 2014

This hotel was recommended by a contact through work as a good business hotel with a good location close to sights and the metro and we had read some mixed reviews before arriving for our 4 night stay to celebrate my 50th birthday, all we can say is we had an absolute brilliant time in Washington and from check in to check out the hotel was fab. As it was a celebration we booked a suite which was excellent value for money compared to prices in NYC & Boston and although our room wasn't ready after arriving from our 4hrs train journey from New York it gave us a couple of hours to have a look around DC and Isobella on reception was extremely helpful and friendly as were all the staff on reception and at the hotel from the doorman, porters, room service and cleaners to the bar staff and when we did get to our room we had the surprise of a bottle of fizz to celebrate my birthday with, a lovely gesture. The room was huge with a separate sitting room and two TV's and two queen beds and nice bathroom and bonus of in room tea/coffee making facility and room service breakfast although a little pricey worth treating yourself to at least once. Very comfortable feel in the reception area and staff always friendly and helpful and the bar food was very nice and a nice place to relax after a days sightseeing. Location two blocks from The Whitehouse and 15 min walk to quite a few other fantastic sights, memorials and museums and if you want only 5/10 mins walk to get the metro. We had a 10.30pm flight back to the UK so a late check out sorted with reception on our last day just finished off our stay brilliantly. Overall we loved Washington and our experience was greatly enhanced by the great time and relaxing feel we had at the hotel, we can't wait to go back again and stay at The Capital Hilton Washington, not as I initially thought a good business hotel but a great place to stay for a holiday/vacation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick&Schmicks, seafodd, steak & pasta nice relaxing atmosphere to eat drink and watch sport in the bar or if you an equally nice restaurant with good friendly service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tbird128
Business
southside Va.
Oct 6, 2014

2 day get away

location was great, parking was way to high, plenty of places close by to eat, sirens throughout the night, otherwise a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks to white house, can walk to all mall areas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve C from MA
Business
Norwood MA
Sep 12, 2014

Quick Visit to DC

Front desk ..Service was good quick and efficient. Valet was friendly and attentive. However to get our car took too long.. Great location, clean and was fairly priced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Habum Tatum
Business
New York
Jul 7, 2014

Great for the price

Good location for sight seeing. Very nice for the price. 2nd time staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin05 man
Business
Boise
Jun 15, 2014

Nice inside

It was nice, but for an expensive room they should provide free wifi. And there food was way over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Like not
Business
Texas
May 28, 2014

Tour of whitehouse

Just looking at the amenities they look great did not use them.every thing was over shadowed by the expensive prices. The hotel location was great, walking distance to all I came too see ,that's if you are a good walker like me. My wife was not so that was added expense. Do not rent a car if not driving out of town, no parking, over night parking at the hilton $ 47. Room was not 4 star I think they give you the worse room and see if you complain. Their wae no view, no refrig. My toilet got plug up and service had to be called three time. The staff was very nice.the valet people was nice but very slow with car returns. If you have lots of money go have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't eat in the hilton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snillocg
Business
New jersey
May 27, 2014

Great Location-Most staff great

Great location, most staff very accomodating. Took 1/2 hour to get car from parking lot-was mayhem and staffing should be beefed up to cover what they know are busy times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short distance to monuments and parks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner Girl Amy
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 7, 2014

Exactly what we wanted

We were in town from Baltimore overnight for a specific event taking place near the Mall, so the location couldn't have been any more perfect. Even if we'd just been in town to sight-see, it was within walking distance of most of the major monuments and museums that people want to visit. And we were two blocks directly north of the White House. The staff was incredibly friendly and professional. The room was clean, comfortable and mostly quiet - considering that we were downtown. We could here sirens from time to time, but that comes with staying in the city. I can't speak to whether the value was good or not. We stayed at the beginning of the Cherry Blossom festival, so I expected prices to be a little higher. I wouldn't normally have paid what we paid anywhere else. ($200 range)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Talk to the concierge. He was very helpful!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sojourner Ab
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 3, 2013

Little attention to detail

First the positives: 1) The hotel was in an excellent location--only a stone's throw away from the White House. 2) The cost of the room relative to its location and the Hilton brand was fair. 3) The room was large and spacious. Now the disappointments, of which I will state but a few: 1) Within minutes of checking into our room we discovered that the toilet in our room would not properly flush. We asked the staff to see to the problem while we grabbed a few drinks at the overpriced--although, to be fair, only slightly so for the DC market--bar. We were assured that the problem would be resolved immediately; it was not. An hour later, when we went back to the room, the toilet was still clogged. When the situation was finally resolved, at some time while we were out that night, the staff was so uncourteous as to leave us with a disgusting toilet. 2) The room was far too noisy. We could hear boisterous guest in the hallway as well as the regular screeching of sirens much of the night. 3) There was also little attention to detail. As an example, the coffee selection in our room consisted of one regular coffee and three decaf. Also, our checkout receipt was not slid under our door, as is usual to do the night before checkout. Room-service dishes, left dirty in the hallway, we also left to sit for hours without notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top