$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
150 reviews
Great for my purposes....

I was in DC to hit some government offices, so this hotel put me in walking distance of everywhere... See full review

  • Sterling
  • Jan 27, 2015
DC Nov 2014

This hotel was recommended by a contact through work as a good business hotel with a good location... See full review

  • JD1964
  • Dec 6, 2014
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jgmz
New York, NY
May 21, 2012

Amazing!

The best hotel I've ever stayed in. The location was spot on - 1 block from the White House. The room was very presidential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 14, 2010

Wonderful Hotel

Had a great time there. I was able to take advantage of the wonderful workout facility. I didn't like that it was an extra $15 charge to use the facility, but it ended up being worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sesser, il
Jul 12, 2010

nice vacation

Room was smaller than expected and located next to elevator machine room. Staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

metrolink was very close saved time and money getting around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mtbpresident
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 11, 2010

Comfortable, great location, attentive

Business visits. But found time to visit Smithsonian and National Archives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Have a nightcap at the top of W hotel. Great view of the downtown and some monuments. Make reservation to insure a good seat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clayton, CA
Jul 10, 2010

Great location! Beautiful ambience.

We could not have asked for a better location. We walked to everything, even in the middle of a heat wave! The lobby was beautiful and all the staff were courteous and helpful. My biggest disappointment was the cleanliness of the room. We arrived late in the evening and when my husband lifted the toliet seat to use the toliet, there were urine spots on the underside! We went downstairs to dinner and my husband stopped at the front desk to tell them. They did offer a new room which my husband turned down(!) and said they would clean it while we were at dinner. It was cleaned when we got back to our room. However, when I went to take a shower, there were no washcloths in the bathroom! Called housekeeping and they brought some up, as well as an additional glass as there were only two and there were three of us in the room. The ice machine on our floor was out of service (7th floor) so my husband went to the 5th to get ice. The next day housekeeping left the bucket with the melted ice and again only two glasses. Called housekeeping again and they brought up an additional glass and a new liner for the ice bucket. On the 3rd night, no new liner again. The last night was fine. The breakfast buffet was delicious with something for everyone! Started every morning there. Wait staff was friendly and professional. Very well trained! On our first night we had dinner in the lounge as the restaurant is closed after lunch(?!) and it was excellent. Our waitress was courteous and professional. We wanted for nothing and she made helpful suggestions. Again, well trained. The door people were helpful and friendly. We never saw the concierge although the doorperson and waiters and waitresses were helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is no place to eat in the hotel in the evening unless you choose to dine in the lounge and I don't think if you have young children you want to eat in a bar, though elegant and historic it may be. Within walking distance of the hotel, all the sandwhich shops and coffee houses, etc, close around seven and the restaurant are all very elegant so you need to bring something a little dressier than capri pants and tee shirts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy Bob
Business
Kingsport TN
Jul 9, 2010

Not happy

Two {2) days in a roll,we were locked out of our room.The room was small and only one arm chair.The wash cloths were not picked up each day.Also the ice bucket was not emptied,or the insert was not changed, and the glasses were not cleaned.All this for a $ 200.00 per night hotel lift a lot to be desired.Pluss $ 42.00 per night for parking.The staff as a whole were very good,BUTT the front desk didn't even apologize for locking us out Robert F. Redmon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 8, 2010

Overall Good Stay

My husband and I spent three nights at the Capital Hilton for $150/night with breakfast included. Based upon the reviews, we thought we might get an older room that had not yet been renovated. Happily, our room was beautiful and renovated. The staff was friendly and courteous. We especially enjoyed breakfast. Honestly, I wasn't expecting much. The made-to-order waffles and eggs were delicious. This hotel is two blocks north of the White House and two blocks from both the blue line and the red line, so getting around is very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Jun 21, 2010

Quality above average

We stayed here because the tour group we were joining was using this hotel for the first night. I would not have chosen it otherwise. Internet access was $13.95/day. That's absurd! Local calls added $1.00 per call. Also absurd! With rates as high as they are at this hotel, extra charges are a slap in the face. There was also construction going on in what sounded like the room above us which started at about 7am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you're loaded, check out the use of Metrobus and Metrorail. Also look at Tourmobile for an excellent tour of the town. It's hop-on, hop-off service so you can use it all day - or two. If you're on a budget, there's a lot of eating options in the 'Mall'. Also check out the many spots at Union Station. Union Station isn't your average train station!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy to holiday
Business
Northeastern NY
Jun 2, 2010

Capital Hilton, Washington DC

We (a party of 3 women, two sisters and our sister-in-law) were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, the cleanliness and the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in! The location was also wonderful. What we were not too thrilled about was the other weekend visitors were loud very late at night (well after midnight); the 3:55 am wake up call that was supposed to be at 4:30 (not a person, but some type of machine); and finding a decent cup of coffee (at a reasonable price) nearby was a real challenge---Starbucks doesn't qualify for either of those and even they were not close! It was a good thing we brought our own coffee maker, filter and coffee (only needed to buy cream at CVS, which was a block away)! There is a restaurant in the hotel, but $18.50 for 2 eggs, bacon, toast and juice is unreasonably high (our meal at the Asian restaurant was $16 for each of us, including tax and tip!). The hotel's proximity to two subway stations (different lines) made accessibility to our destinations top-notch; the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again, and also with our coffee pot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the Asian restaurant recommended to us by the staff; a short walk for most travelers requiring no aids (such as a wheelchair, cane or walker), but I've forgotton the name!!! I ordered the Pad Thai Noodle dish, the best one I've ever eaten, and my companions also enjoyed their separate dishes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
forgeanvil
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 9, 2010

Nice, newly renovated rooms

Great service and wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
May 7, 2010

Great Location

They put me in a remodeled but noisy room near the elevator and ice machine. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is convenient and cheap compared to taxis and other shuttles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top