$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Capital Hilton

4 stars
1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
145 reviews
Great for the price

Good location for sight seeing. Very nice for the price. 2nd time staying at this hotel. See full review

  • Habum Tatum
  • Jul 7, 2014
Wonderfull experience and perfect location

Hotel location is perfect just 3 blocks walk from White House and staff was very helpful and friendly. See full review

  • Super travellor
  • Jul 7, 2014
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9032 -77.0361
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 30.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlottesville, virginia
Mar 26, 2012

fantastic location, great people..

I arrived about 4 hours earlier than my check in as I was there for a large event in DC. I was able to check in early because the rooms were done, cleaned, and ready earlier than normal. The woman at the front desk smiled the whole time and said I could check in early so I didn't have to leave my bags in their locker room. We got in the room and it was a corner view... literally, three blocks from a bunch of decent night clubs, bars. One block from the metro. Awesome location, awesome price, awesome people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Jun 21, 2010

Quality above average

We stayed here because the tour group we were joining was using this hotel for the first night. I would not have chosen it otherwise. Internet access was $13.95/day. That's absurd! Local calls added $1.00 per call. Also absurd! With rates as high as they are at this hotel, extra charges are a slap in the face. There was also construction going on in what sounded like the room above us which started at about 7am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you're loaded, check out the use of Metrobus and Metrorail. Also look at Tourmobile for an excellent tour of the town. It's hop-on, hop-off service so you can use it all day - or two. If you're on a budget, there's a lot of eating options in the 'Mall'. Also check out the many spots at Union Station. Union Station isn't your average train station!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy to holiday
Business
Northeastern NY
Jun 2, 2010

Capital Hilton, Washington DC

We (a party of 3 women, two sisters and our sister-in-law) were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room, the cleanliness and the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in! The location was also wonderful. What we were not too thrilled about was the other weekend visitors were loud very late at night (well after midnight); the 3:55 am wake up call that was supposed to be at 4:30 (not a person, but some type of machine); and finding a decent cup of coffee (at a reasonable price) nearby was a real challenge---Starbucks doesn't qualify for either of those and even they were not close! It was a good thing we brought our own coffee maker, filter and coffee (only needed to buy cream at CVS, which was a block away)! There is a restaurant in the hotel, but $18.50 for 2 eggs, bacon, toast and juice is unreasonably high (our meal at the Asian restaurant was $16 for each of us, including tax and tip!). The hotel's proximity to two subway stations (different lines) made accessibility to our destinations top-notch; the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again, and also with our coffee pot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the Asian restaurant recommended to us by the staff; a short walk for most travelers requiring no aids (such as a wheelchair, cane or walker), but I've forgotton the name!!! I ordered the Pad Thai Noodle dish, the best one I've ever eaten, and my companions also enjoyed their separate dishes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
forgeanvil
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 9, 2010

Nice, newly renovated rooms

Great service and wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
May 7, 2010

Great Location

They put me in a remodeled but noisy room near the elevator and ice machine. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is convenient and cheap compared to taxis and other shuttles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DelVecc
Business
Audubon, NJ
Apr 22, 2010

Wrong Room and Overbooking

I had a room booked for one night 4/16-4/17, I had asked for a non smoking room with a king size bed. I called ahead to let them know we would be arriving late. When we got there they said we had been upgraded to the 11th floor. When we got up there the room had 2 double beds. I went back down stairs and said I asked for a king size bed and thats when the employee at the front desk said they had overbooked so they gave a room on the 4th floor with a king size bed but it was smoking! It was a terrible night sleep, I expected so much more. Overall, we did not enjoy our stay and it was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 18, 2010

DC Trip

Very nice, no problems, I would gladly stay again, it was a great location and walking distance to all the monuments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS open 24 hours near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven CT
Apr 18, 2010

great location

Nice night and perfect place to visit the White House, the museums, the mall etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 17, 2010

World-Class AWFUL

What a nightmare! At 4:45 a.m., I was awakened by a wild, noisy crowd of people in the hallway screaming profanities and threats at each other (male and female). I called the front desk, and was told they had already received several complaints and would take care of it immediately. In this case, immediately was not until over 30 MINUTES LATER, by which time I was unable to go back to sleep. When I checked out, I was not asked "How was your stay"? Perhaps the staffer already knew and was afraid to ask. A refund would not be enough to make amends for this Hellish experience. Next time, I'll stay with PARIS Hilton instead of the Capital Hilton. She may be stupid, but she could not be less hospitable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hickory, NC
Apr 14, 2010

Great Stay, great service

Staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants, pizza delivery, and directions to the best places to tour in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Not many restaurants to choose from in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Apr 11, 2010

Not as good as it used to be

This is my fourth year coming to the Capital Hilton. It has always been first class, and the conceierge lounge has been a great plus and lifesaver for those of us that work long days. This year, after paying the additional room rate for the lounge, the lounge was empty of snacks, drinks and even the coffee machine was not working. I did not receive anything from this lounge. False advertising. I will not come back in the future. The hotel was not cleaned properly, trash from previous guest was still in the trash can and the tub was not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't pay extra for anything. It's not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top