$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Museum lover
Business
Morristown, NJ
Jul 19, 2010

Fabulous for a weekend getaway

Recently remodeled & gorgeous. Very friendly & helpful staff. Terrific breakfast buffet which they included [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Took Metro to museums which were great in the heat.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sesser, il
Jul 12, 2010

nice vacation

Room was smaller than expected and located next to elevator machine room. Staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

metrolink was very close saved time and money getting around.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mtbpresident
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 11, 2010

Comfortable, great location, attentive

Business visits. But found time to visit Smithsonian and National Archives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Have a nightcap at the top of W hotel. Great view of the downtown and some monuments. Make reservation to insure a good seat!

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clayton, CA
Jul 10, 2010

Great location! Beautiful ambience.

We could not have asked for a better location. We walked to everything, even in the middle of a heat wave! The lobby was beautiful and all the staff were courteous and helpful. My biggest disappointment was the cleanliness of the room. We arrived late in the evening and when my husband lifted the toliet seat to use the toliet, there were urine spots on the underside! We went downstairs to dinner and my husband stopped at the front desk to tell them. They did offer a new room which my husband turned down(!) and said they would clean it while we were at dinner. It was cleaned when we got back to our room. However, when I went to take a shower, there were no washcloths in the bathroom! Called housekeeping and they brought some up, as well as an additional glass as there were only two and there were three of us in the room. The ice machine on our floor was out of service (7th floor) so my husband went to the 5th to get ice. The next day housekeeping left the bucket with the melted ice and again only two glasses. Called housekeeping again and they brought up an additional glass and a new liner for the ice bucket. On the 3rd night, no new liner again. The last night was fine. The breakfast buffet was delicious with something for everyone! Started every morning there. Wait staff was friendly and professional. Very well trained! On our first night we had dinner in the lounge as the restaurant is closed after lunch(?!) and it was excellent. Our waitress was courteous and professional. We wanted for nothing and she made helpful suggestions. Again, well trained. The door people were helpful and friendly. We never saw the concierge although the doorperson and waiters and waitresses were helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is no place to eat in the hotel in the evening unless you choose to dine in the lounge and I don't think if you have young children you want to eat in a bar, though elegant and historic it may be. Within walking distance of the hotel, all the sandwhich shops and coffee houses, etc, close around seven and the restaurant are all very elegant so you need to bring something a little dressier than capri pants and tee shirts.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy Bob
Business
Kingsport TN
Jul 9, 2010

Not happy

Two {2) days in a roll,we were locked out of our room.The room was small and only one arm chair.The wash cloths were not picked up each day.Also the ice bucket was not emptied,or the insert was not changed, and the glasses were not cleaned.All this for a $ 200.00 per night hotel lift a lot to be desired.Pluss $ 42.00 per night for parking.The staff as a whole were very good,BUTT the front desk didn't even apologize for locking us out Robert F. Redmon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Jun 21, 2010

Quality above average

We stayed here because the tour group we were joining was using this hotel for the first night. I would not have chosen it otherwise. Internet access was $13.95/day. That's absurd! Local calls added $1.00 per call. Also absurd! With rates as high as they are at this hotel, extra charges are a slap in the face. There was also construction going on in what sounded like the room above us which started at about 7am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Unless you're loaded, check out the use of Metrobus and Metrorail. Also look at Tourmobile for an excellent tour of the town. It's hop-on, hop-off service so you can use it all day - or two. If you're on a budget, there's a lot of eating options in the 'Mall'. Also check out the many spots at Union Station. Union Station isn't your average train station!

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
forgeanvil
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 9, 2010

Nice, newly renovated rooms

Great service and wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
May 7, 2010

Great Location

They put me in a remodeled but noisy room near the elevator and ice machine. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is convenient and cheap compared to taxis and other shuttles.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DelVecc
Business
Audubon, NJ
Apr 22, 2010

Wrong Room and Overbooking

I had a room booked for one night 4/16-4/17, I had asked for a non smoking room with a king size bed. I called ahead to let them know we would be arriving late. When we got there they said we had been upgraded to the 11th floor. When we got up there the room had 2 double beds. I went back down stairs and said I asked for a king size bed and thats when the employee at the front desk said they had overbooked so they gave a room on the 4th floor with a king size bed but it was smoking! It was a terrible night sleep, I expected so much more. Overall, we did not enjoy our stay and it was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 18, 2010

DC Trip

Very nice, no problems, I would gladly stay again, it was a great location and walking distance to all the monuments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS open 24 hours near by.

Back to menu Return to top