$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation here we come
Couples
New Orleans, La.
May 13, 2013

Washington DC vacation

This is the perfect location, three blocks from white house and national mall. Always wanted to see DC and this hotel's location made is possible not to rent a car. Room was very nice and staff friendly. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Jan 6, 2011

Good value, but lacking in details

Chose this hotel because of the price--was a great value (due to construction outside and health club/spa closed for renovation). Location is good (2 blocks to metro) and area is safe. Room was sizeable and comfortable, but I was put off by the fact that it didn't appear to have been well cleaned. Pillows on couch were askew and there was an empty bottle on the window sill. That day, housekeeping didn't remove my bottle or glass or replace handtowels or other towels. Nor did they fix the couch. For the reduced price, this was a great hotel, but I didn't feel it was 4-star service. No coffee maker in the room was also a negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Union Station has a luggage storage facility. Great help if you need to go to the Capitol after checking out of your hotel and before flying out from BWI or via Union Station. You can also leave a bag there if you do a White House tour (security rules limit what you can bring in).

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 2, 2011

Perfectly relaxing

Checking in was fast and efficient. My room was a good size and the renovations made the room lovely. I ate at the bar and ordered room service. I received great service and food/beverage from both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Lewes, DE
Jan 1, 2011

Great Family Getaway

Great location. Could see the White House from our window. Walked to dinner and went and saw the National Tree. Kids enjoyed it a great deal. Room was quite spacious for the four of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walked to Old Ebbit Grill. Good for kids and walking distance.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, D.C.
Dec 20, 2010

A Great Night!

From the time we pulled up to the entrance, to when we departed, my wife, and I were treated with wonderful service, and the staff were very helpful. We needed additional items, and they brought us what we needed with kindness, and went the extra mile to make sure we had all we needed. The location was great. Will go back again without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Ithaca, NY
Nov 29, 2010

great location

The location of the hotel is really great,just behind the white house about 5 minutes walking distance. The disadvantage of the hotel is their parking is not free and the fee is too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Akron, Ohio
Nov 28, 2010

Very pleasant

Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. It is convenient to several metro lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the McPherson metro stop from Reagan Airport. Use won't have to change to the redline.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Detroit, MI
Nov 21, 2010

Capital Hilton, DC

The hotel was top-notch! Clean, very comfortable, with a professional, friendly staff. It was well-located, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner is a neat southern restaurant, Sweet Georgia Brown's. Worth the trip!

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 1, 2010

Outstanding Hotel and location

The hotel rooms have recently been renovated and are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location is central to everything, for both tourist and the business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tully, New York
Oct 31, 2010

[...]

We asked for a non smoking room and at first were given a room which smelled so much of smoke that it made me dizzy. However, after asking, we were changed to a magnificent corner room. Our bellman hellped us immensely and stayed with us until we were satisfied. However, the assitant manager, when we had trouble with a reservation the day before, was very snippy.The rest of the staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Summy
Friends
Salem, MA
Oct 3, 2010

"The best D.C. has to offer"

I stayed at the Capital Hilton for the first time in August of 2009. I have been thinking of their hamburgers ever since. Their burgers are a bit on the pricey side but worth ever penny! On my next trip to D.C. I just knew I had to stay their again. The hotel is only two blocks from the White House and 5 from Dupont Circle, so its proximity to all the city has to offer is ideal. I have stayed at a lot of nice hotels and have found the staff stuffy and pretentious; the staff at the Capital Hilton treats you like family. Whenever I have to travel to D.C. you know where I'll be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House, the National Mall, The Lincoln Memorial, The Smithsonian, The Vietnam and Korean War Memorials are only blocks away...Almost every attraction our Nations Capital has to offer is within a 20 minute walk. More importantly it is only a $15 cab ride from DCA.

Back to menu Return to top