$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

Capital Hilton

4 stars
1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
243 reviews
Great for the price

Good location for sight seeing. Very nice for the price. 2nd time staying at this hotel. See full review

  • Habum Tatum
  • Jul 7, 2014
Wonderfull experience and perfect location

Hotel location is perfect just 3 blocks walk from White House and staff was very helpful and friendly. See full review

  • Super travellor
  • Jul 7, 2014
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9032 -77.0361
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 30.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jgmz
New York, NY
May 21, 2012

Amazing!

The best hotel I've ever stayed in. The location was spot on - 1 block from the White House. The room was very presidential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby "Hot Cups"
Manassas, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Highly Recommending the Hilton

My girlfriend and I were celebrating an anniversary. The Capital Hilton was a perfect fit for us. The room appeared to be brand new and was in pristine condition. Before leaving the next day we were pleasantly surprised by a five star breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We chose to take a taxi to our dinner, it provided minimal hassle and was very inexpensive.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachelD4
Chesapeake, VA
Jan 16, 2011

Overnight in Downtown DC

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, newly renovated. Our room was extremely spacious--two doubles and a large sitting area with couch. Plenty of room for the kids to spread out. Location was excellent in the heart of downtown, easy to find. Parking is expensive, but a necessity in the area. It was $42 to valet park our car for the night. Service was impeccable, breakfast was good. Our room was very comfortable--but my one complaint is that it was VERY noisy along that street all night (and I mean ALL night). Traffic noise, horns honking, people coming out of clubs at 2:00 a.m. It was very loud. I couldn't find any way to keep the HVAC fan running to make white noise--the fan kept turning off with the heating cycle. Lovely hotel--we will stay again, but I will be bringing earplugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to The Mall, The Smithsonian. It would be doable as a long walk, but we drove and parked closer, due to colder weather and small children.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachelD4
Chesapeake, VA
Jan 16, 2011

Overnight in Downtown DC

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, newly renovated. Our room was extremely spacious--two doubles and a large sitting area with couch. Plenty of room for the kids to spread out. Location was excellent in the heart of downtown, easy to find. Parking is expensive, but a necessity in the area. It was $42 to valet park our car for the night. Service was impeccable, breakfast was good. Our room was very comfortable--but my one complaint is that it was VERY noisy along that street all night (and I mean ALL night). Traffic noise, horns honking, people coming out of clubs at 2:00 a.m. It was very loud. I couldn't find any way to keep the HVAC fan running to make white noise--the fan kept turning off with the heating cycle. Lovely hotel--we will stay again, but I will be bringing earplugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to The Mall, The Smithsonian. It would be doable as a long walk, but we drove and parked closer, due to colder weather and small children.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 8, 2011

Great hotel for business on the Hill

While the room is arranged a bit oddly, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Executive Lounge breakfast left a little to be desired, unless you like getting your morning protein from a hard-boiled egg. Super location near Metro, decent restaurants, a CVS, and the White House. Would stay here again in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the McPherson Square Metro stop if you're coming from Reagan National - blue line and you don't have to switch lines. And, you pass a CVS on the way in case you need a snack or sundry!

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 8, 2011

Great hotel for business on the Hill

While the room is arranged a bit oddly, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Executive Lounge breakfast left a little to be desired, unless you like getting your morning protein from a hard-boiled egg. Super location near Metro, decent restaurants, a CVS, and the White House. Would stay here again in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the McPherson Square Metro stop if you're coming from Reagan National - blue line and you don't have to switch lines. And, you pass a CVS on the way in case you need a snack or sundry!

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Jan 6, 2011

Good value, but lacking in details

Chose this hotel because of the price--was a great value (due to construction outside and health club/spa closed for renovation). Location is good (2 blocks to metro) and area is safe. Room was sizeable and comfortable, but I was put off by the fact that it didn't appear to have been well cleaned. Pillows on couch were askew and there was an empty bottle on the window sill. That day, housekeeping didn't remove my bottle or glass or replace handtowels or other towels. Nor did they fix the couch. For the reduced price, this was a great hotel, but I didn't feel it was 4-star service. No coffee maker in the room was also a negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Union Station has a luggage storage facility. Great help if you need to go to the Capitol after checking out of your hotel and before flying out from BWI or via Union Station. You can also leave a bag there if you do a White House tour (security rules limit what you can bring in).

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Jan 6, 2011

Good value, but lacking in details

Chose this hotel because of the price--was a great value (due to construction outside and health club/spa closed for renovation). Location is good (2 blocks to metro) and area is safe. Room was sizeable and comfortable, but I was put off by the fact that it didn't appear to have been well cleaned. Pillows on couch were askew and there was an empty bottle on the window sill. That day, housekeeping didn't remove my bottle or glass or replace handtowels or other towels. Nor did they fix the couch. For the reduced price, this was a great hotel, but I didn't feel it was 4-star service. No coffee maker in the room was also a negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Union Station has a luggage storage facility. Great help if you need to go to the Capitol after checking out of your hotel and before flying out from BWI or via Union Station. You can also leave a bag there if you do a White House tour (security rules limit what you can bring in).

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 2, 2011

Perfectly relaxing

Checking in was fast and efficient. My room was a good size and the renovations made the room lovely. I ate at the bar and ordered room service. I received great service and food/beverage from both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 2, 2011

Perfectly relaxing

Checking in was fast and efficient. My room was a good size and the renovations made the room lovely. I ate at the bar and ordered room service. I received great service and food/beverage from both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lewes, DE
Jan 1, 2011

Great Family Getaway

Great location. Could see the White House from our window. Walked to dinner and went and saw the National Tree. Kids enjoyed it a great deal. Room was quite spacious for the four of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walked to Old Ebbit Grill. Good for kids and walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top