$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
polisci man
Business
Boone, NC
Jan 17, 2011

not impressive

I was not impressed with this hotel. I was in a non-smoking room and while my room did not smell like smoke, the hallway smelt like an ashtray. Also, parking was outrageous ($45 per day). Finally, there was no free internet even in the lobby. I had to find a starbucks to simply check my e-mail. I will not be going back to the Capital Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try the Banana Cafe near Eastern Market. Great Cuban Food and relatively cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby "Hot Cups"
Business
Manassas, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Highly Recommending the Hilton

My girlfriend and I were celebrating an anniversary. The Capital Hilton was a perfect fit for us. The room appeared to be brand new and was in pristine condition. Before leaving the next day we were pleasantly surprised by a five star breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We chose to take a taxi to our dinner, it provided minimal hassle and was very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachelD4
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Jan 16, 2011

Overnight in Downtown DC

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, newly renovated. Our room was extremely spacious--two doubles and a large sitting area with couch. Plenty of room for the kids to spread out. Location was excellent in the heart of downtown, easy to find. Parking is expensive, but a necessity in the area. It was $42 to valet park our car for the night. Service was impeccable, breakfast was good. Our room was very comfortable--but my one complaint is that it was VERY noisy along that street all night (and I mean ALL night). Traffic noise, horns honking, people coming out of clubs at 2:00 a.m. It was very loud. I couldn't find any way to keep the HVAC fan running to make white noise--the fan kept turning off with the heating cycle. Lovely hotel--we will stay again, but I will be bringing earplugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to The Mall, The Smithsonian. It would be doable as a long walk, but we drove and parked closer, due to colder weather and small children.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 8, 2011

Great hotel for business on the Hill

While the room is arranged a bit oddly, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Executive Lounge breakfast left a little to be desired, unless you like getting your morning protein from a hard-boiled egg. Super location near Metro, decent restaurants, a CVS, and the White House. Would stay here again in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend the McPherson Square Metro stop if you're coming from Reagan National - blue line and you don't have to switch lines. And, you pass a CVS on the way in case you need a snack or sundry!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Jan 6, 2011

Good value, but lacking in details

Chose this hotel because of the price--was a great value (due to construction outside and health club/spa closed for renovation). Location is good (2 blocks to metro) and area is safe. Room was sizeable and comfortable, but I was put off by the fact that it didn't appear to have been well cleaned. Pillows on couch were askew and there was an empty bottle on the window sill. That day, housekeeping didn't remove my bottle or glass or replace handtowels or other towels. Nor did they fix the couch. For the reduced price, this was a great hotel, but I didn't feel it was 4-star service. No coffee maker in the room was also a negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Union Station has a luggage storage facility. Great help if you need to go to the Capitol after checking out of your hotel and before flying out from BWI or via Union Station. You can also leave a bag there if you do a White House tour (security rules limit what you can bring in).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 2, 2011

Perfectly relaxing

Checking in was fast and efficient. My room was a good size and the renovations made the room lovely. I ate at the bar and ordered room service. I received great service and food/beverage from both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewes, DE
Jan 1, 2011

Great Family Getaway

Great location. Could see the White House from our window. Walked to dinner and went and saw the National Tree. Kids enjoyed it a great deal. Room was quite spacious for the four of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walked to Old Ebbit Grill. Good for kids and walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Dec 20, 2010

A Great Night!

From the time we pulled up to the entrance, to when we departed, my wife, and I were treated with wonderful service, and the staff were very helpful. We needed additional items, and they brought us what we needed with kindness, and went the extra mile to make sure we had all we needed. The location was great. Will go back again without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, NY
Nov 29, 2010

great location

The location of the hotel is really great,just behind the white house about 5 minutes walking distance. The disadvantage of the hotel is their parking is not free and the fee is too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, Ohio
Nov 28, 2010

Very pleasant

Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. It is convenient to several metro lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the McPherson metro stop from Reagan Airport. Use won't have to change to the redline.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top