$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Capital Hilton

4 stars
1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
244 reviews
Great for the price

Good location for sight seeing. Very nice for the price. 2nd time staying at this hotel. See full review

  • Habum Tatum
  • Jul 7, 2014
Wonderfull experience and perfect location

Hotel location is perfect just 3 blocks walk from White House and staff was very helpful and friendly. See full review

  • Super travellor
  • Jul 7, 2014
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

38.9032 -77.0361
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 30.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (244)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 16, 2011

Decent Downtown Hotel

I stayed here as the conference was being held here. At $380 per night, I expected more. I was surprised at the lack of restaurant options, especially when their only restaurant was closed. Ate from a limited menu in the lobby bar. Room was nice, but hallway noise far more prominent than others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Feb 16, 2011

Decent Downtown Hotel

I stayed here as the conference was being held here. At $380 per night, I expected more. I was surprised at the lack of restaurant options, especially when their only restaurant was closed. Ate from a limited menu in the lobby bar. Room was nice, but hallway noise far more prominent than others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
polareicht
silver spring ,md
Jan 23, 2011

NO PARKING GARAGE

No parking garage,only $48 valet parking.Is a very important issue do not get a parking garage in downtown DC because is impossible to find a place saturday night. No toilet paper at room.(solved) Bathroom door did not close.(we did ask for that because we were short of time). Blankets got staples Usually TV's are located in front of bed but in my room was on the side (uncomfortable). Not a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheechi
Business
Houston
Jan 17, 2011

Close to the White Houst

The Hotel was just a few blocks from the White House and in a very safe area. Hotel exceeded my expectations after reading previous comments in reviews. i would stay here again. Beware of the $42 overnight hotel parking fee for vehicles. also bring your air card as the signing on to wireless was another hefty $16 a day. Ha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Do the White House, US Capital, The Archives, and the Smithsonian of at least one subject.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrDDM
Alexandria, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Great Service, Big Room!

Got together in DC for a girls weekend. Actually had reservations in another hotel, but wanted a bigger room, more centrally located. Our room was HUGE and the service was great. When our neighbors were up late partying, the front desk gave us a new room AND access to the executive club. We did not eat in the hotel, and the lobby was not terribly inviting, but the room was fantastic and we walked or took metro to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the Hay Adams overlooking Lafayette Park was quite a treat if you want to splurge a little.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
polisci man
Business
Boone, NC
Jan 17, 2011

not impressive

I was not impressed with this hotel. I was in a non-smoking room and while my room did not smell like smoke, the hallway smelt like an ashtray. Also, parking was outrageous ($45 per day). Finally, there was no free internet even in the lobby. I had to find a starbucks to simply check my e-mail. I will not be going back to the Capital Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try the Banana Cafe near Eastern Market. Great Cuban Food and relatively cheap.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrDDM
Alexandria, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Great Service, Big Room!

Got together in DC for a girls weekend. Actually had reservations in another hotel, but wanted a bigger room, more centrally located. Our room was HUGE and the service was great. When our neighbors were up late partying, the front desk gave us a new room AND access to the executive club. We did not eat in the hotel, and the lobby was not terribly inviting, but the room was fantastic and we walked or took metro to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the Hay Adams overlooking Lafayette Park was quite a treat if you want to splurge a little.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby "Hot Cups"
Manassas, VA
Jan 17, 2011

Highly Recommending the Hilton

My girlfriend and I were celebrating an anniversary. The Capital Hilton was a perfect fit for us. The room appeared to be brand new and was in pristine condition. Before leaving the next day we were pleasantly surprised by a five star breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We chose to take a taxi to our dinner, it provided minimal hassle and was very inexpensive.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheechi
Business
Houston
Jan 17, 2011

Close to the White Houst

The Hotel was just a few blocks from the White House and in a very safe area. Hotel exceeded my expectations after reading previous comments in reviews. i would stay here again. Beware of the $42 overnight hotel parking fee for vehicles. also bring your air card as the signing on to wireless was another hefty $16 a day. Ha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Do the White House, US Capital, The Archives, and the Smithsonian of at least one subject.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
polisci man
Business
Boone, NC
Jan 17, 2011

not impressive

I was not impressed with this hotel. I was in a non-smoking room and while my room did not smell like smoke, the hallway smelt like an ashtray. Also, parking was outrageous ($45 per day). Finally, there was no free internet even in the lobby. I had to find a starbucks to simply check my e-mail. I will not be going back to the Capital Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try the Banana Cafe near Eastern Market. Great Cuban Food and relatively cheap.

Back to menu Return to top