$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jgmz
New York, NY
May 21, 2012

Amazing!

The best hotel I've ever stayed in. The location was spot on - 1 block from the White House. The room was very presidential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msague
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great hotel, great location

The hotel is on 16th and K, 2 blocks from the White House and one block from the Farragut North Metro. The rooms have a good size. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very clean. The decor is modern and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks across the street and a Cosi a block away if you dont want to have breakfast at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fletch
Business
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Oct 7, 2011

Our stay at Capital Hilton

Easy check in, staff very helpful especially at the Concierge desk, good location, close to transport. Good internet access. Rooms very comfortable however found the walls a bit thin, could hear most conversations from adjoining rooms. Otherwise an enjoyable time at the Capital. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a leisurely stroll from Capitol Hill to the Lincoln Memorial and all the sights along the way ,including the Air and Space Museum. a visit to Arlington Cemetery is a must (a short trip by train from Union Station.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, Il
Aug 10, 2011

Great location - great price for DC

The bellman and concierge were so helpful with where to get deals and things to see. We were there just long enough to walk around for a couple of hours before dark. The war memorials are a must see for any age. There are National Park employees around all the monuments to answer questions and relate stories. We wandered onto George Washington Universities campus to grab dinner. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonic Restaurant in Foggy Bottom is great. My teens loved it and the price wasn't bad for DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 9, 2011

Spacious rooms. Great customer service.

Valet parking went smooth. There was no wait to drop off my car. Registration was very quick and the employee was friendly and knowledable. The room was VERY spacious. This hotel is 3 blocks from the White House. Check out was also quick. I was allowed to check my bags and site see a little more. I was able to leave my car parked until 2:30p.m without extra charges. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lockjawal
Business
Connecticut
Jul 20, 2011

Nice Hotel. Great Location.

Pros: Hotel was centrally located in D.C. about 2 blocks from the White House. Two Metro stops are nearby (McPherson & North Farragut), servicing all the popular tourist areas. Hotel is well kept and the beds were verrry comfortable (wanted to take one home with me). The staff was attentive and the upkeep of the hotel was impeccable although the quality of the A/C varies between rooms. Cons: No free in-room Wifi. Costs $14 per day for in-room access. There are two terminals in the lobby offering free wifi but they are often busy. There is free wifi available in the lobby for your own devices, but there is a daily two hour limit per room account. Go beyond that and you'll incur the in-room fee. The rooms do not have mini-fridges. One can be requested if needed for insulin or other medication storage. The restaurant, bar and gift shop are quite expensive (ie: a single roll of Ritz crackers was selling for $3.99)! Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of deli's, sandwich shops, and pizza joints nearby for a quick snack. Tons of Starbucks throughout the city. A CVS is also located across the street up the block from the hotel for incidentals. D.C. law: the markets/convenience stores charge a nickel per shopping bag. Use your own to save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 10, 2011

Excellent service; Friendly staff

From the bell captain to the front desk staff, concierge and the wait staff, everyone at the Capital Hilton was there to be sure that my stay exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apex, NC
Apr 25, 2011

Excellent Location

We were here to tour and site see. The hotel was in an excellent location, two blocks from the white house, one block from National Geographic Society, one to two blocks from all metro lines. Rooms were clean beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chinatown - Eat First Wonderful food, a huge menu with a wide variety of choices. Everything was fresh and delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison, NJ
Apr 24, 2011

Good location

We stayed here 3 nights. This hotel is a few blocks from the White House. First night the room was horrible because the heat didn't work properly. They sent the engineer up promptly and he fixed it but by then it was past midnight, so it kind of ruined our day next day. The bed also was not of good quality. Bathroom was 2 feet from the the bed - imagine the rest. They changed us to a better room next day but the bed quality was the same - I guess the entire hotel has the same kind of beds. Luckily we had a sofa bed in the 2nd room which got us through the next couple of nights. The staff was very helpful. Hotel parking is valet parking and expensive - there is public parking within couple of blocks. Also if you ask for your car while check out time - then forget about it - give or take a half hour. Restaurant is okay but expensive - 20 bucks for breakfast buffet. The hotel is not too far from other attractions so the 2 good things are location and great staff. Room tariff was reasonable. Anything in DC is usually very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House is a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Plains, NY
Apr 4, 2011

good hotel

The location is good, withing walking distance to white house. After we arrived, we walked to see the cherry blossom. But there's no self parking. You have to pay $42 for night parking. And there's no fridge there. I think it's better to have a fridge, free tv channels and free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swarmy
Business
Iowa
Mar 26, 2011

Week in DC

Clean rooms, friendly helpful staff and good location. Also relatively affordable for downtown DC. I'd recommend the Jr. Suite if you're with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitt Grill was just a 10 minute walk by the White House. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top