$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlottesville, virginia
Mar 26, 2012

fantastic location, great people..

I arrived about 4 hours earlier than my check in as I was there for a large event in DC. I was able to check in early because the rooms were done, cleaned, and ready earlier than normal. The woman at the front desk smiled the whole time and said I could check in early so I didn't have to leave my bags in their locker room. We got in the room and it was a corner view... literally, three blocks from a bunch of decent night clubs, bars. One block from the metro. Awesome location, awesome price, awesome people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amysusqu
Business
State College, PA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Garage Door

I had a wonderful experience until check out. valet parking was 42 an evening and the garage door was broken and we were waiting 30 mins for our car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beth R
Business
Frederick, MD, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Getaway with the Girls

Although it took three tries, we got the room we saw on the website which gave us plenty of room to spread out and relax. Room renovations were recently completed and they said they didn't have the computer updated quite yet. Wonderful service and every amenity we could ask for was provided. Even Lavazza Italian coffee for the coffee maker and it was the kind of coffeemaker that made one or two individual cups at a time. Even real cream! While it was a holiday weekend, we had a hard time finding a place for a light dinner close to the hotel. We did find a pizza shop but other than that it was nice restaurants and a couple chain coffee shops. The restaurant at the hotel was still under renovations at the time but they said they would be finished soon. There was valet parking at the hotel but it was expensive. The doorman did direct us to a garage close by and we paid $8 for two days so that was great although I understand that was because it was a weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking garages vs. hotel parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey D
Business
Philly burbs
Oct 31, 2011

Pleasantly surprised

We found this place because of the price, and it was well worth the value. It's not a new place and you have to appreciate the 60+ year-old design of the place. The front desk people were very friendly and courteous, and the people manning the doors were great, because we needed a cab every time we left the building, but the other employees we encountered could have improved on their customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Paying $42.00 to park your car there seemed excessive. We took the train from Philly and the commute was much more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeM
Business
Washington DC
Oct 12, 2011

Short Stay

I hotel was clean and spacious. It is in an ideal location to anything DC. Its decorated in simple yet elegant way. Few things I wasn't a big fan of the $42 parking fee which is extremely expensive. The hotel itself is quite expensive so I would figure they would provide some parking incentive. Also check in process took more time than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msague
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great hotel, great location

The hotel is on 16th and K, 2 blocks from the White House and one block from the Farragut North Metro. The rooms have a good size. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very clean. The decor is modern and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks across the street and a Cosi a block away if you dont want to have breakfast at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fletch
Business
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Oct 7, 2011

Our stay at Capital Hilton

Easy check in, staff very helpful especially at the Concierge desk, good location, close to transport. Good internet access. Rooms very comfortable however found the walls a bit thin, could hear most conversations from adjoining rooms. Otherwise an enjoyable time at the Capital. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a leisurely stroll from Capitol Hill to the Lincoln Memorial and all the sights along the way ,including the Air and Space Museum. a visit to Arlington Cemetery is a must (a short trip by train from Union Station.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, Il
Aug 10, 2011

Great location - great price for DC

The bellman and concierge were so helpful with where to get deals and things to see. We were there just long enough to walk around for a couple of hours before dark. The war memorials are a must see for any age. There are National Park employees around all the monuments to answer questions and relate stories. We wandered onto George Washington Universities campus to grab dinner. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonic Restaurant in Foggy Bottom is great. My teens loved it and the price wasn't bad for DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 9, 2011

Spacious rooms. Great customer service.

Valet parking went smooth. There was no wait to drop off my car. Registration was very quick and the employee was friendly and knowledable. The room was VERY spacious. This hotel is 3 blocks from the White House. Check out was also quick. I was allowed to check my bags and site see a little more. I was able to leave my car parked until 2:30p.m without extra charges. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lockjawal
Business
Connecticut
Jul 20, 2011

Nice Hotel. Great Location.

Pros: Hotel was centrally located in D.C. about 2 blocks from the White House. Two Metro stops are nearby (McPherson & North Farragut), servicing all the popular tourist areas. Hotel is well kept and the beds were verrry comfortable (wanted to take one home with me). The staff was attentive and the upkeep of the hotel was impeccable although the quality of the A/C varies between rooms. Cons: No free in-room Wifi. Costs $14 per day for in-room access. There are two terminals in the lobby offering free wifi but they are often busy. There is free wifi available in the lobby for your own devices, but there is a daily two hour limit per room account. Go beyond that and you'll incur the in-room fee. The rooms do not have mini-fridges. One can be requested if needed for insulin or other medication storage. The restaurant, bar and gift shop are quite expensive (ie: a single roll of Ritz crackers was selling for $3.99)! Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of deli's, sandwich shops, and pizza joints nearby for a quick snack. Tons of Starbucks throughout the city. A CVS is also located across the street up the block from the hotel for incidentals. D.C. law: the markets/convenience stores charge a nickel per shopping bag. Use your own to save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 10, 2011

Excellent service; Friendly staff

From the bell captain to the front desk staff, concierge and the wait staff, everyone at the Capital Hilton was there to be sure that my stay exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top