Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
145 reviews
vacay

Great time over all. I would recommend this hotel to friends and famiky. I would visit the hotel... See full review

  • Maryann C.
  • Apr 16, 2015
weekend getaway

The hotel was very beautiful,and clean.I would recommend this hotel to ALL of my friend's and... See full review

  • Sharon M.
  • Apr 6, 2015

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Property features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Nearby attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space
Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

38.9032 -77.0361
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 5.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, E; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 30.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey D
Business
Philly burbs
Oct 31, 2011

Pleasantly surprised

We found this place because of the price, and it was well worth the value. It's not a new place and you have to appreciate the 60+ year-old design of the place. The front desk people were very friendly and courteous, and the people manning the doors were great, because we needed a cab every time we left the building, but the other employees we encountered could have improved on their customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Paying $42.00 to park your car there seemed excessive. We took the train from Philly and the commute was much more enjoyable.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msague
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Great hotel, great location

The hotel is on 16th and K, 2 blocks from the White House and one block from the Farragut North Metro. The rooms have a good size. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very clean. The decor is modern and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks across the street and a Cosi a block away if you dont want to have breakfast at the hotel.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fletch
Business
Melbourne VIC, Australia
Oct 7, 2011

Our stay at Capital Hilton

Easy check in, staff very helpful especially at the Concierge desk, good location, close to transport. Good internet access. Rooms very comfortable however found the walls a bit thin, could hear most conversations from adjoining rooms. Otherwise an enjoyable time at the Capital. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a leisurely stroll from Capitol Hill to the Lincoln Memorial and all the sights along the way ,including the Air and Space Museum. a visit to Arlington Cemetery is a must (a short trip by train from Union Station.)

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oswego, Il
Aug 10, 2011

Great location - great price for DC

The bellman and concierge were so helpful with where to get deals and things to see. We were there just long enough to walk around for a couple of hours before dark. The war memorials are a must see for any age. There are National Park employees around all the monuments to answer questions and relate stories. We wandered onto George Washington Universities campus to grab dinner. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonic Restaurant in Foggy Bottom is great. My teens loved it and the price wasn't bad for DC

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 9, 2011

Spacious rooms. Great customer service.

Valet parking went smooth. There was no wait to drop off my car. Registration was very quick and the employee was friendly and knowledable. The room was VERY spacious. This hotel is 3 blocks from the White House. Check out was also quick. I was allowed to check my bags and site see a little more. I was able to leave my car parked until 2:30p.m without extra charges. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lockjawal
Business
Connecticut
Jul 20, 2011

Nice Hotel. Great Location.

Pros: Hotel was centrally located in D.C. about 2 blocks from the White House. Two Metro stops are nearby (McPherson & North Farragut), servicing all the popular tourist areas. Hotel is well kept and the beds were verrry comfortable (wanted to take one home with me). The staff was attentive and the upkeep of the hotel was impeccable although the quality of the A/C varies between rooms. Cons: No free in-room Wifi. Costs $14 per day for in-room access. There are two terminals in the lobby offering free wifi but they are often busy. There is free wifi available in the lobby for your own devices, but there is a daily two hour limit per room account. Go beyond that and you'll incur the in-room fee. The rooms do not have mini-fridges. One can be requested if needed for insulin or other medication storage. The restaurant, bar and gift shop are quite expensive (ie: a single roll of Ritz crackers was selling for $3.99)! Overall, we were pleased with the hotel and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of deli's, sandwich shops, and pizza joints nearby for a quick snack. Tons of Starbucks throughout the city. A CVS is also located across the street up the block from the hotel for incidentals. D.C. law: the markets/convenience stores charge a nickel per shopping bag. Use your own to save.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 10, 2011

Excellent service; Friendly staff

From the bell captain to the front desk staff, concierge and the wait staff, everyone at the Capital Hilton was there to be sure that my stay exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apex, NC
Apr 25, 2011

Excellent Location

We were here to tour and site see. The hotel was in an excellent location, two blocks from the white house, one block from National Geographic Society, one to two blocks from all metro lines. Rooms were clean beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Chinatown - Eat First Wonderful food, a huge menu with a wide variety of choices. Everything was fresh and delicious.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison, NJ
Apr 24, 2011

Good location

We stayed here 3 nights. This hotel is a few blocks from the White House. First night the room was horrible because the heat didn't work properly. They sent the engineer up promptly and he fixed it but by then it was past midnight, so it kind of ruined our day next day. The bed also was not of good quality. Bathroom was 2 feet from the the bed - imagine the rest. They changed us to a better room next day but the bed quality was the same - I guess the entire hotel has the same kind of beds. Luckily we had a sofa bed in the 2nd room which got us through the next couple of nights. The staff was very helpful. Hotel parking is valet parking and expensive - there is public parking within couple of blocks. Also if you ask for your car while check out time - then forget about it - give or take a half hour. Restaurant is okay but expensive - 20 bucks for breakfast buffet. The hotel is not too far from other attractions so the 2 good things are location and great staff. Room tariff was reasonable. Anything in DC is usually very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House is a few blocks away.

Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Plains, NY
Apr 4, 2011

good hotel

The location is good, withing walking distance to white house. After we arrived, we walked to see the cherry blossom. But there's no self parking. You have to pay $42 for night parking. And there's no fridge there. I think it's better to have a fridge, free tv channels and free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top