$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Capital Hilton

4 stars
View map of 1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Queen
Business
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Oct 21, 2009

Great location!

My daughter and I went on a self-guided tour of Dan Brown's Washington, inspired by his latest book - "The Lost Symbol." We had a wonderful time and the hotel was very centrally located in a safe, business neighborhood. The downside was that because it was a weekend in a business area, very few places were open late - CVS had no pharmacist on duty and our eating options were limited to the overpriced and limited hotel menu. Despite that, it was a very good trip and I would stay at the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a great Thai restaurant, I think the name was Thai Kingdom, very friendly staff and reasonably priced, delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 20, 2009

Very nice hotel, conveniently located

Convenient location, excellent breakfast buffet, good service--the bathroom was a bit small, but we lived with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Lou
Business
New Jersey
Oct 19, 2009

Good location Great price

Very good experiance, except for the water pressure problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Vernon, NY
Oct 18, 2009

Great location

We really enjoyed the easy walk to the White House, Metro, and other important stops. This would be great if the restaurant had more variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FondaZinn
Business
NY
Oct 16, 2009

An OK kinda place

Staff was the best thing about the place. The rooms were small but clean. The area was kinda dull. Worst thing - they charged a HEFTY FEE for room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you want to shop or go out at night, this hotel won't work for you. On the plus side, it's a short walk to the AFL-CIO.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 12, 2009

Capital Hotel good but not great

Staff at the Hilton was helpful. The doorman was great as we drove down from Philadelphia and didn't want to spend $40 to park at the Hilton. We just left the car on the street all weekend and didn't pay a thing. The rooms are a bit tired and need updating which supposedly is underway. The hotel is in a great location. We walked to the White House and down along the mall. We had previously stayed at this Hilton in the Spring. DC was very crowded and we didn't get to do as much then. This time we went in the fall and we were able to get tix to the Washington Monument although you have have to get there around 8:30 or 9. The museums were busy but not overly crowded like in the Spring. We recommend the Newseum. We spent almost 5 hours there. Very well done and worth the admission price of about $19. We went to the Crime and Punishment Museum last time and that was also fun. The Smithsonian American History Musueum was a little disappointing as a lot of the contemporary Americana was not on display. We tried to go to the Bureau of Engraving in the PM but you have to line up before the 12:30 PM reopening to get in. Didn't make that one. We had a good and reasonably priced lobster dinner 9($18) at Clyde's in Chinatown. We also ate at Jaleo, a tapas restaurant, which was very good. I'd certainly go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park on the streets for free on the weekend and take the Metro or walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 12, 2009

Lovely hotel, excellent location.

The Capitol Hilton is in an excellent location. We were walking distance to the monuments as well as to Dupont Circle. There were a lot of families there, including a "tween" conference which got noisy in the lobby at times but not really a bother. It was fairly affordable for its location. I guess my only gripe is that it's not as nice (read: fancy, modern) as some of the other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Eat dinner at Circa at Dupont...excellent food and a perfect walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeOnABike
Business
New York, NY
Oct 12, 2009

When Can I Go Back!

The location of the Capital Hilton was perfect for sightseeing. Neighborhood was totally safe till 2am. Every employee was spot on nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There should be a law in DC that every visitor must rent a bike!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trudy b
Business
haddon twp, nj
Oct 4, 2009

excellent; first rate

Excellent location and great price was the draw. I did not expect such opulence. Terrific personnel too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

memorials all within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Worth, FL
Sep 26, 2009

OK for one night of business travel

Orbitz-recommended Super Shuttle transport from airport was as expensive as a taxi. Clients should be made aware of this in cities where this is the case. They charge for WiFi, a definite minus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top