$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Capital Hilton

4 stars
1001 16th Street NW, Washington, DC 20036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
148 reviews
DC Nov 2014

This hotel was recommended by a contact through work as a good business hotel with a good location... See full review

  • JD1964
  • Dec 6, 2014
Business Man's Friend

Capital Hilton received me kindly and served me promptly. The room was very nice & an excellent... See full review

  • Chris of Small Business
  • Oct 20, 2014
Casual, classy hotel in downtown D.C. with health club, spa, restaurant

The Capital Hilton caters to a variety of travelers. Business travelers love the location in downtown D.C., upscale restaurants nearby, and ample meeting space. Families appreciate the two-bedroom suites, children's menu at the restaurant and casual atmosphere. The hotel is close to D.C. museums and attractions. Amenities go overboard at the on-site spa and health club with personal trainers. Whiskey lovers should take note of the Glenmorangie tasting at the on-site Statler Lounge.

Highlights
  • The on-site spa with a full menu of luxurious services
  • The health club has an aerobics studio and personal trainers, as well as up-to-date cardio equipment and weights
  • On-site restaurant and lounge
Location

The Capital Hilton is two blocks from the White House in downtown D.C. The hotel is convenient to D.C. tourist attractions, area businesses and restaurants.

Rooms

The comfortable, neo-classical style rooms at the Capital Hilton contain cherry wood furniture and rich colors. Custom designed luxury bedding, Crabtree and Evelyn amenities, and a large work desk and ergonomic chair make guests feel at home. Junior suites have a large sitting area. Two-bedroom suites have a central parlor room with separate bedrooms on either side.

Features

Twigs Restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast and lunch in a casual atmosphere. Families will be happy to see a children's menu. Guests at Capital Hilton indulge at the health club and spa with inventive treatments such as the Capital Preservation Facial and the Foggy Bottom Mud Wrap (fees apply). The health club has an aerobic studio and personal trainers in addition to cardio equipment and weights.  Valet parking is available (fees apply) at Capital Hilton.

Transportation
  • Farragut North Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Regan National Airport (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (23 mi/37 km)
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (27 mi/34 km)
Attractions
  • The White House (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dupont Circle (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Washington Convention Center (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The National Mall (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Gallery Place/Chinatown (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • International Spy Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Georgetown (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Union Station shops, restaurants, and Metro (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Office rental
  • Fax/photocopying services
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)
  • 30,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.2 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.3 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.5 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.8 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.8 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.9 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.9 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Department of State: 1 mi
  • Washington Monument: 1 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 1 mi
  • National Archives: 1 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 1 mi
  • U Street Corridor: 1 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 1 mi
  • National Building Museum: 1 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 1.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hilton

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JD1964
Business
Washington DC
Dec 6, 2014

DC Nov 2014

This hotel was recommended by a contact through work as a good business hotel with a good location close to sights and the metro and we had read some mixed reviews before arriving for our 4 night stay to celebrate my 50th birthday, all we can say is we had an absolute brilliant time in Washington and from check in to check out the hotel was fab. As it was a celebration we booked a suite which was excellent value for money compared to prices in NYC & Boston and although our room wasn't ready after arriving from our 4hrs train journey from New York it gave us a couple of hours to have a look around DC and Isobella on reception was extremely helpful and friendly as were all the staff on reception and at the hotel from the doorman, porters, room service and cleaners to the bar staff and when we did get to our room we had the surprise of a bottle of fizz to celebrate my birthday with, a lovely gesture. The room was huge with a separate sitting room and two TV's and two queen beds and nice bathroom and bonus of in room tea/coffee making facility and room service breakfast although a little pricey worth treating yourself to at least once. Very comfortable feel in the reception area and staff always friendly and helpful and the bar food was very nice and a nice place to relax after a days sightseeing. Location two blocks from The Whitehouse and 15 min walk to quite a few other fantastic sights, memorials and museums and if you want only 5/10 mins walk to get the metro. We had a 10.30pm flight back to the UK so a late check out sorted with reception on our last day just finished off our stay brilliantly. Overall we loved Washington and our experience was greatly enhanced by the great time and relaxing feel we had at the hotel, we can't wait to go back again and stay at The Capital Hilton Washington, not as I initially thought a good business hotel but a great place to stay for a holiday/vacation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick&Schmicks, seafodd, steak & pasta nice relaxing atmosphere to eat drink and watch sport in the bar or if you an equally nice restaurant with good friendly service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris of Small Business
Business
Lewisville, Texas
Oct 20, 2014

Business Man's Friend

Capital Hilton received me kindly and served me promptly. The room was very nice & an excellent place to work & sleep. This was the second leg of a tiring journey & the helpful porters & bellmen were ready when I got there. The coffee shop across the street was great and the nearby restaurants were great. The Hotel chefs made great food and the view of the White House was directly down the street. It was a short walk to the Metro Transit system. Great trip- can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant & coffee opposite corner were great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrommyD
Business
new york, ny
Oct 18, 2014

Great hotel in a great location

Stayed at the Capital Hilton for one night on a business trip to DC and it met all my needs. A great hotel for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tbird128
Business
southside Va.
Oct 6, 2014

2 day get away

location was great, parking was way to high, plenty of places close by to eat, sirens throughout the night, otherwise a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks to white house, can walk to all mall areas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aziz 1
Business
Millersville MD
Oct 5, 2014

Disappointed

The staff was not professional in reaching back to you and locate my entitlement to Internet service. This unprofessional attitude costed me the missing of a really important meeting. No body was able to help me with this issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve C from MA
Business
Norwood MA
Sep 12, 2014

Quick Visit to DC

Front desk ..Service was good quick and efficient. Valet was friendly and attentive. However to get our car took too long.. Great location, clean and was fairly priced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to Ash
Business
Athens, GA
Jul 27, 2014

Good location

We were able to drop the car off and the bell staff held our luggage until our room was ready. We were within walking distance to everything we wanted to see; Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument, White House, Museums, etc. This was our first time to DC, and it did not disappoint! On our check out day, we were able to check out and leave the car in valet until 5pm without additional charges; we really appreciated that and will remember the service the next time we visit as parking is expensive and at a premium in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending on what you consider a long or short walk, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go....monuments, restaurants, etc. Our goal was to leave the car parked and walk everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Itsmeandrea
Business
Erie, Pa
Jul 8, 2014

I want to give this hotel 5 stars!!! But...

This hotel gives you the biggest bang for your buck. Great location! clean, friendly staff, no musty smell. The only con i have to say is that they DO NOT have WI-FI for regular guests. Overall, great experience and highly recommended!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There's a lot of great restaurants that deliver, so if you're tired from the day tours.. Have a food delivery!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Habum Tatum
Business
New York
Jul 7, 2014

Great for the price

Good location for sight seeing. Very nice for the price. 2nd time staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super travellor
Business
Chicago,illinois
Jul 7, 2014

Wonderfull experience and perfect location

Hotel location is perfect just 3 blocks walk from White House and staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top