$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

4 stars
View map of 1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mick booski
Business
New York City
Jun 23, 2014

Nice hotel nice location

My fiance and I went for a weekend in DC we barely stayed in the room. But the staff was nice from what we saw and the room was really nice. I'm from NY so anything other than NY attitude is amazing. I had zero issues the price was great and it was in a prime location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GelbM3
Business
Denver
Jun 21, 2014

Seems like an average place

My best comment is about the location. You'll be able to walk to plenty of restaurants and attractions. The hotel itself was ordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Expect a 5 mile round trip if you walk to the national mall to take in some sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey Travels Light
Business
Columbia SC
Jun 20, 2014

Good location, clean and quiet

Good location for museums and touring, close to good restaurants and very clean. Brunch and bar in hotel and others close by. Will definitely consider going back if we're in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I came to visit Bao Bao
Business
New York
Jun 18, 2014

Pleasant

The check-in experience was fine. I did have to remind the representative about our Champagne deal for the weekend. My hotel room was clean and perfect for just a one-night stay. However, i booked a queen-sized bed and they provided me a double. I could have complained but I knew it was only for the night. The walls are thin so expect to hear your neighbors. I would definitely return to this hotel since the price was a great deal, location was absolutely amazing AND it was a clean hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LRDS
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 16, 2014

June Stay

When researching hotels for our visit to DC we wanted a few things including good location, easy access to good food/restaurants, some nightlife, and decent accommodations. There were a few things that we were unhappy with. First, we were supposed to have a queen bed, we had a full. The blow dryer and several lights in the room were broken. The room was very small but we made it work. This hotel for mostly people going to DC on business. The hotel says they offer free WiFi but they did not offer it to people who booked through third party reservation sites so I had to pay $12 to use wifi for each day. Also, the restaurant and roof top bar which the hotel advertises as excellent and a "go-to" stop in DC close at 10 pm (a bar/club closes at 10pm). This was our biggest concern considering most of the restaurants in the area also close between 9-10. When we were done with our tour we had to go to a different neighborhood by cab to find a late dinner because the hotel did not offer room service at that time either. Overall, none of the problems we had were enough to complain or really be upset about, it was the combination of all of them that made us disappointed. Lastly, the hotel staff was the most disappointing, rude, unhelpful, careless, and poorly represented the city's customer service and the hotel really isn't in DuPont Circle but about 5 blocks away. We will not be staying at this hotel again and I will make sure that any time I make a reservation through a third party reservation site that all of the amenities the hotel offers are available to customers through third party reservation sites as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers Market in DuPont Circle on Sunday Mornings. Has amazing food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Music lovah
Business
Maryland
Jun 11, 2014

Decent room, great location

The staff was courteous, room was clean, location was perfect for wandering DuPont Circle safely. Beautiful neighborhood. Hint: get an extra room key to keep the climate control system on while you are out. It only works when a key is inserted to read 'occupied.'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Daily grill offers great happy hour specials!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arf90
Business
Iowa
Jun 11, 2014

Great, BUT $14 for Wifi...

Remove the paywall from the wifi and this hotel would be perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DCVistor
Business
Michigan
Jun 9, 2014

Business Stay

The hotel met all my needs however, all the light switches didn't work in the room. I was slightly disappointed that the hotel restaurant stops serving food at 10pm and does not offer room service after that hour as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KatyaandCharles
Business
San Francisco
Jun 8, 2014

Not what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel

This did not seem like a 4 star hotel to me. - small room - bathroom door did not lock and was a real door (sliding wood panel without a lock!) - not very sound proof, we heard our neighbors the whole time - TV didn't work half of the time - water was not made available as you'd expect at a four star hotel - restaurant staff were not very accommodating (particularly the manager who yelled at one of the waitresses in from of me because she brought me water in a glass instead of styrofoam as I specifically requested) - did not display sustainability concerns that you'd expect from a 4 star hotel (lots of plastic, cheap packaging) - no mini fridge - no shower gel, only bar of soap - we did not set the alarm clock but it went of at 3am! (please remember to reset these from prior guests) - the welcome package that should list hotel amenities and things to do in the area seemed outdated and very minimal. not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Court's mom
Business
Deerfield, Il
Jun 6, 2014

Be careful who you book with

The reservation experience was great, hotel was well presented. We chose it because our daughter is moving to Washington and we are looking for a hotel to use consistently when we visit. The Beacon will NOT be it. First, the desk person had some difficulty finding our reservation, when we told him we reserved through a site other than the hotel's, his demeanor became offensive; we had our confirmation number and he did find the reservation. However, when we checked in,we mentioned an upgrade we noticed on the Beacon website, that was available for AAA members, which we are. We were told, with a truly offensive tone and attitude that, "well, you didn't book on our site, you can't have that promotion at that price". If you book through any site but ours, the upgrade will be $30/nite instead of $20. We did use the upgrade as it served our needs. When we got to the room and called about signing on to the internet, we were told, by the same desk person, there was a $12. charge per day. However, all over the site, it states that internet is complimentary. We were told, in these words and attitude, "I already told you, you didn't book on our site, and you can't have complimentary wifi." And, he hung up. Eventually, another desk person did remove the charges from our bill. Perhaps the desk person thought his attitude would cause us to use their website in the future rather than any other, but it didn't work. I will continue to use value booking sites, but the BEACON will have to entice me to stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top