$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

4 stars
View map of 1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
437 out of 437
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K*
Business
N.C.
Jul 5, 2010

Friendly & helpful

Very friendly staff. They did everything to get us in to our room 2 &1/2 hours early. Upgrated us to Corp suite. Parking is hard to come by. Exciliant chief. Clean hotel. Bad location if your disabled and want to be close to national. Over all I'd stay again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martian
Business
Fairfield County, CT
Jul 4, 2010

Surprising good!

It was a great experience and a good location for a surprising small amount of money. The complimentary breakfast was better then one usually gets. When I dropped my ring down the drain they came up to my room in two minutes and got it fast enough for me to wear it to my meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the White House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 29, 2010

A good place to sleep

It covered the necessities and all I really did there was sleep. The bathroom could have been smaller and the room larger, but after a night or two it was sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 20, 2010

Beacon Not the BEst

we planned a 5 day trip to take in as much as poosible. We wanted to try something a bit different and looked for a unique hotel. THis is not a unique hotel. Rooms are very small. "Green" lighting takes somegetting used to. Parking in/around the White House/monuments limited so our car stayed park most of the time at $29.00 a night ( at least there was in/out when you needed). Walks are not as "easy" as hyped. Cabs worked out best after walking all day. Limited restaurants, until you get to upper Conneticut Street. Shower didn't work half the time, though there was water through the sinks faucets. Even after alerting maintenenace to the problem it wasn't addressed. The brouchure is hype. Though we will go to Washington, we will stay at a more named hotel of wihcih there are many in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take a right out of the hotel to Connecticut, then a right on Connecticut. Go up abot a mile and there is a raft of restaurants from steaks to pizza to international restaurant. Maybe a six dollar cab fare if you prefer that

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericksburg,Va
Jun 15, 2010

Good location for price

Grate staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Jun 2, 2010

Just OK for the price

This hotel is showing it's age, but overall the rooms were clean and comfortable. For the most part, the staff was friendly and willing to help, however, there were times during this 4 day trip that we noticed the manager of the dining area and bar having to prode the employees to clean up when a guest left. For some strange reason the bar was closed during the evening of Memorial Day, we still can't figure that one out as there were plenty of guest still in the hotel. The vending machines are located in the basement, not on each floor as in every hotel I've ever stayed at, so buy your soda,etc. and keep them in your room. Outside of a few trip ups here and there, did I mention people were trapped in the elevator for about an hour, this hotel was ok. Would I stay there again? Depends on the price..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Memorial Day visitor
Business
Salem Mass
Jun 1, 2010

Contributed to a great Memorial Day Trip

This hotel was fine for me. I was in DC for the Memorial Day Weekend. I was only in the room at night. The only complaint I had and it was minor - were the lights - so energy friendly - that it was hard to read the newspaper or even guide book at night because there wasn't enough light. There wasn't a fridge in the room either - for the same reason - but I was told that they would supply one if I requested. Didn't bother. The hotel is RIGHT next door to the YMCA and three doors from a Catholic Church. There is a five or eight minute walk to the closest subway - Farragot North( red line) and Farrogot West ( blue and orange line). The subway system is wonderful and can take you almost anywhere in the Washington or Alexandria, Virginia area. Depending on where I wanted to go I would go to Farragot North or West. For example Farragot West Blue line takes you directly to Reagan National Airport (DCA) and you don't have to transfer. The Hotel is also about 5 blocks north of the White House - to orient yourself - and borders the Dupont area with the row of embassies. The easiest address location is the intersection of Massachusetts and Connecticut Avenues. Certainly anyone can stay here, but it is absolutely ideal for people who want to use the YMCA and don't mind doing some walking to get to the subway. I did have breakfast at the hotel and it was fine - fair prices. I had other meals elsewhere because I was in another part of the city. I didn't have any problems but when I was checking in - someone did have a problem and wanted to change their room. The staff was very accomodating. I also realized that DC is a Mon thru Friday city. A lot of small stores close on Sat and definately on Sundays. Even the subway didn't open til 7am on Sat and Sun. I was shocked. However, knowing these small things can help you plan your trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy Traveler
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 22, 2010

Great Location

The Hotel has a great location - near Dupont Circle, close to great restaurants, excellent for walking to numerous locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joed.
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Apr 18, 2010

BEACON in D.C. area

The staff in the lobby were excellent. Each peronson attended to my needs. When I was unable to get access to the internet, the staff person let me log in for one day free. The hotel lady that checked me in, who is awesome, did an excellent job. One problem I had was the smallness of the showers. I felt really cramped--and I was in an executive suite. When I may stay there again I will try and get the best room they offer and will report the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a taxi. The Macy's had some great sells, you may be able to stock up on it. It's at 10th and G. Also, to get to the Historical site, take a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meandaddy
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Apr 7, 2010

Not The Brightest Shining Beacon

Great location, only a few blocks from my daughter. The room was on the small side and noisy. The counter space was very limited. The overall service was good and the continental breakfast was good and the service was excellent in the restaurant. The price was reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ford Theater, great experience. Not a bad seat and a lot of history. White House only about 6 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top