$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

4 stars
View map of 1615 Rhode Island Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
478 out of 478
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Court's mom
Business
Deerfield, Il
Jun 6, 2014

Be careful who you book with

The reservation experience was great, hotel was well presented. We chose it because our daughter is moving to Washington and we are looking for a hotel to use consistently when we visit. The Beacon will NOT be it. First, the desk person had some difficulty finding our reservation, when we told him we reserved through a site other than the hotel's, his demeanor became offensive; we had our confirmation number and he did find the reservation. However, when we checked in,we mentioned an upgrade we noticed on the Beacon website, that was available for AAA members, which we are. We were told, with a truly offensive tone and attitude that, "well, you didn't book on our site, you can't have that promotion at that price". If you book through any site but ours, the upgrade will be $30/nite instead of $20. We did use the upgrade as it served our needs. When we got to the room and called about signing on to the internet, we were told, by the same desk person, there was a $12. charge per day. However, all over the site, it states that internet is complimentary. We were told, in these words and attitude, "I already told you, you didn't book on our site, and you can't have complimentary wifi." And, he hung up. Eventually, another desk person did remove the charges from our bill. Perhaps the desk person thought his attitude would cause us to use their website in the future rather than any other, but it didn't work. I will continue to use value booking sites, but the BEACON will have to entice me to stay there in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Weary
Business
North York
Jun 4, 2014

Stay at the Beacon

A number of things actually concern me: 1. a hotel which advertises as a business centre. promotes itself as a business centre charges for Wifi. This is ridiculous, unwelcome and it would seem to me bad for business. In 2014 there is free wifi everywhere. 2. We had to leave early- my husband's brother had surgery on Sunday. To date I have received no help in recovering 2 days costs 3. My husband is a lawyer dealing with children in distress. An important phone call came through on Friday morning from his assistant. The person at reception was abrupt and would not put the call through. Would not even phone the room to check to see if he was expecting a call. This would have taken one minute. I am outraged that this could happen. The hotel business is a service industry. Some need to be reminded of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LovelyLauren
Business
Bowie, MD
Jun 3, 2014

Just Ok

The in room telephone was not working. I did not get the room I booked. The valet was way to expensive at $44 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roxsan
Business
Washington DC
May 27, 2014

Okay!

Check in took 30min and although the room was very clean and nice it wasn't the room I reserved. You had to use your hotel key for the elevators and the air condition. Also this was the first hotel that I've stayed in to not have complimentary breakfast. It was kind of a bummer other than that it was cool but will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey Travels Light
Business
Columbia SC
May 27, 2014

Nice stay close to attractions and restaurants

We stayed over Memorial Day weekend, and were able to get to interesting places to eat and attractions in minutes walking. The room was comfortable and quiet. We didn't try the attached restaurant, but it looked nice, with a patio and Sunday brunch. The only problems we encountered were the single towel in the room the first morning and some surliness from a few of the staff (while others were very friendly and helpful). Great value too, will definitely consider it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See the monuments at night, by rented bicycle (available at every monument stop and just outside the hotel). It takes much less time and it's beautiful to ride through.

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
johnsc
Business
Philadelphia
May 26, 2014

Unimpressive

I expected the hotel to be nicer considering its location. It's very noisy at night with nightclub it has upstairs playing until midnight. We called down and the manager didn't care. It's a worse than average hotel with bad staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sfz gramz
Business
st.pete fl
May 22, 2014

great location close to everything

i loved being close to good resturants and the metro very pleasent. bus rides were great . the hotel was in a execellant location. and I felt very safe in this part of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LBW and FDW
Business
Wilmington, DE
May 19, 2014

Gem of a Hotel by Farragut Station

We spent a night at this hotel celebrating our anniversary. It was closely located to Farragut Metro stop and was a close walk to many cute restaurants around DuPont Circle. About a 10 minute train ride (including transfers) to the National Mall, etc. Room was a nice size, clean, nicely decorated, very comfortable bed. Sky Bar was a little too "techno" for us but was cute. Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kate Road Warrior
Business
Dallas, TX
May 17, 2014

Beware of Hidden Costs

The Room Was average, no special wow effects. The problem I had with this location is No Where did they say there was a $35 plus tax Charge for Parking = $43 Dollars a night. Not worth the stay due to that surprise increase in price. They would Not Budge on the price for parking. Since I arrived late and too tired to go somewhere else I stayed the night. For breakfast I had oatmeal and Coffee for the Luxury price of $11.00. Needless to say. I found another Place for the rest of the week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food in the Hotel was Good but expensive. $11.00 For coffee and Oatmeal

Review of Beacon Hotel and Corporate Quarters

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelermctravelton
Business
chicago
May 14, 2014

great location

The staff here is very friendly and we were within walking distance of lots of sights! DC in the spring is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

14th and S st northwest has a bunch of great restaraunts.

Back to menu Return to top