$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

New Haven Hotel

3 stars
View map of 229 George Street, New Haven, CT 06510

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
86 reviews
this is a wonderful place

i always feel comfortable when i stay here keep up the good work See full review

  • Matt mnice
  • Jul 25, 2015
Birthday weekend getaway

Hotel was great very clean and modern. Only negative was our view opened up to a brick wall, we... See full review

  • Katie
  • Jun 8, 2015
The New Haven Hotel offers refined, contemporary style in the heart of New Haven, a couple of blocks from Yale University and the historic New Haven Green. Corporate offices, the Yale New Haven Hospital, golf and beaches are close by. It is surrounded by a host of cultural attractions, and an eclectic array of shops and restaurants. The New Haven Hotel welcomes guests in a grand lobby with soaring ceilings, and starts the day with a full breakfast menu. There is a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and small meeting rooms.
Rooms
The New Haven Hotel boasts a variety of renovated rooms and suites. Spacious and comfortable, they offer the highest quality bedding and contemporary furnishings in sophisticated earth tones. Modern Roman blinds black out oversized windows that offer stunning city views. Marble and granite bathrooms offer distinctive bath amenities and hair-dryers. The rooms are equipped with comfortable work stations, the latest technology, microwaves and refrigerators/freezers. This family-friendly hotel offers handicap facilities.
Property features
The fully renovated New Haven Hotel is located in the heart of downtown New Haven. The Shubert Performing Arts Center, Palace Theatre, Yale University Art Gallery, Yale Repertory Theatre and the New Haven Symphony Orchestra are within a three block radius.  The area is bustling with restaurants and nightlife, attractions, shopping, outdoor recreation, and arts and culture. Guests are welcomed to the New Haven Hotel in the extensive lobby and adjacent Living Room that features soaring ceilings and a fireplace with a 40-foot-tall accent wall. A full breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant. Additional facilities include a convenience market, 24-hour fitness center, guest laundry facility and on-site ATM. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.
Highlights
  • Renovated, modern facilities
  • High-quality bedding
  • Convenient central New Haven location
Nearby attractions
  • New Haven Green (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yale University (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Shubert Theatre (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yale New Haven Hospital (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Long Wharf Harbor (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Golf Course (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting space holds 100
  • Banquet facilities
Transportation
  • Metro North (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Tweed Regional Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Bradley International Airport (52 mi/84 km)
  • Shuttle service

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New Haven Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$105
3.0 / 5 110 reviews
★★★
$118
3.8 / 5 70 reviews
★★
$51
2.8 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 44 reviews
★★★
$65
4.1 / 5 35 reviews
★★★
$98
4.8 / 5 48 reviews
★★★
$87
4.1 / 5 20 reviews
★★
$59
2.9 / 5 41 reviews
★★★
$87
4.0 / 5 21 reviews

New Haven Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Guestroom
The New Haven Hotel's guest rooms and hotel suites have been 100% renovated and feature a refined contemporary dcor of rich tans and browns, accented with soothing blue tones. Brand new 300 square foot guest room features two queen size beds and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.
King Guestroom
Brand new 300 square foot guest room features one king size bed and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.
Executive King with Sleeper Sofa
Brand new 350 square foot guest room features one king size bed with full sleeper sofa and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Yale University: 0.3 mi
  • Payne Whitney Gym: 0.6 mi
  • Yale Bowl: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The New Haven Hotel is the perfect host for off site meetings, banquets or private parties. Centrally located in the heart of downtown, the New Haven Hotel can accommodate groups up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for New Haven Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 86
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie
Couples
atglen
Jun 8, 2015

Birthday weekend getaway

Hotel was great very clean and modern. Only negative was our view opened up to a brick wall, we couldn't see a thing outside. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hiro K
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 8, 2014

Perfect for short New Haven stays

We love staying the New Haven Hotel every time we go there. The location is perfect (close to campus, close to the medical center, close to our favorite bar and restaurant). The rooms are always clean, and the King suite is actually a very decent size room for the price. There are not too many frills, but if you are looking for a great room at half the price of other hotels, you should stay here. The only thing that I have to complain about is the $20 I have to pay for parking at the garage across the street. When it's bad weather, it's a pain in the butt, since it isn't connected to the building. I've used the gym a few times as well, and it is a decent hotel gym. I think the quality of the rooms as well as the location of the hotel to New Haven attractions make the New Haven Hotel a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like tapas, make sure to get a reservation at the Barcelona. Great wine. If you like cocktails, you must go to 116 Crown. My wife loves their Belmont.

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matt B L
Couples
Newport, ri
Nov 30, 2014

Good hotel

Good hotel. Parking was $23 across the street which was $7 more than if you just paid for the parking directly. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt B L
Couples
Newport, ri
Nov 30, 2014

Good Hotel

Good hotel and location. Nice room. Expensive parking across the street. This hotel charges $7 per more than the garage itself does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SG129
Couples
Trumbull, CT
Nov 3, 2014

Nice Room - Great Location

We stayed one night at the New Haven Hotel on a Saturday. The room looked recently renovated/upgraded. Very clean. Comfortable. Affordable. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee K
Couples
Boston, MA
Sep 27, 2014

Heart of New Haven

This hotel is in downtown New Haven, close to Yale and the theater district. Even so, it seems barren at night around there. The room was neat and fairly spacious. The lighting in the bathroom could have been better, but it was a reasonably good value for the location. You have to pay extra for parking, and breakfast options are limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salawicious
Couples
Us
Sep 16, 2014

Classy hotel

Very nice hotel.. Very clean, modern, nice furniture. Shower is outdated a little, but still a great place. Very accommodating. We accidentally reserved a handicap accessible room and they quickly changed our room. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turtlechloe
Couples
Bethlehem, PA
Aug 4, 2014

Clean! Pleasant Staff!

Check in to check out the Front Desk Staff were fantastic!!! This is our second time staying at the New Haven Hotel because it is centrally located to the places we visit in New Haven. This trip they allowed us to stay in the parking garage after check-out so that we could attend our grand-daughters baptism two blocks away & we didn't have to move our car - very helpful. The room is clean and comfortable and very sound proof - could not hear a thing... Will definitely stay here next time we go to New Haven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many places to dine and all within walking distance. After dinner, walk up to the Greens - you never know what they have going on.

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mairemom
Couples
Ledyard, CT
Mar 21, 2014

Classy and lovely for a couple

Perfect location near the Shubert Theater. Comfortable, luxurious room. A great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Choose any of the wonderful restaurants and then have a short walk to the Shubert. We chose Prime (a gourmet burger establishment.) Classy and delicious.

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barb612
Couples
coventry,ct
Feb 6, 2014

Convenient downtown location

Comfortable room , cozy lobby. Great location near a lot of restaurants makes up for the lack of a restaurant on the premises. Covered parking across the street but pricey, $23/ night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top