$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

New Haven Hotel

3 stars
View map of 229 George Street, New Haven, CT 06510

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
78 reviews
Friends

Didn't stay in hotel in person, booked for a friend and she said it's pretty good. See full review

  • SJ.447
  • Jan 26, 2015
Family

Not sure about the hotel, used the points for a friend and she said it's good enough. See full review

  • SJ.447
  • Jan 26, 2015
Sophisticated, renovated hotel in the heart of New Haven
The New Haven Hotel offers refined, contemporary style in the heart of New Haven, a couple of blocks from Yale University and the historic New Haven Green. Corporate offices, the Yale New Haven Hospital, golf and beaches are close by. It is surrounded by a host of cultural attractions, and an eclectic array of shops and restaurants. The New Haven Hotel welcomes guests in a grand lobby with soaring ceilings, and starts the day with a full breakfast menu. There is a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and small meeting rooms.
Highlights
  • Renovated, modern facilities
  • High-quality bedding
  • Convenient central New Haven location
Rooms
The New Haven Hotel boasts a variety of renovated rooms and suites. Spacious and comfortable, they offer the highest quality bedding and contemporary furnishings in sophisticated earth tones. Modern Roman blinds black out oversized windows that offer stunning city views. Marble and granite bathrooms offer distinctive bath amenities and hair-dryers. The rooms are equipped with comfortable work stations, the latest technology, microwaves and refrigerators/freezers. This family-friendly hotel offers handicap facilities.
Features
The fully renovated New Haven Hotel is located in the heart of downtown New Haven. The Shubert Performing Arts Center, Palace Theatre, Yale University Art Gallery, Yale Repertory Theatre and the New Haven Symphony Orchestra are within a three block radius.  The area is bustling with restaurants and nightlife, attractions, shopping, outdoor recreation, and arts and culture. Guests are welcomed to the New Haven Hotel in the extensive lobby and adjacent Living Room that features soaring ceilings and a fireplace with a 40-foot-tall accent wall. A full breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant. Additional facilities include a convenience market, 24-hour fitness center, guest laundry facility and on-site ATM. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • Metro North (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Tweed Regional Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Bradley International Airport (52 mi/84 km)
  • Shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Haven Green (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yale University (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Shubert Theatre (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yale New Haven Hospital (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Long Wharf Harbor (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Golf Course (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting space holds 100
  • Banquet facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New Haven Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

New Haven Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Guestroom
The New Haven Hotel's guest rooms and hotel suites have been 100% renovated and feature a refined contemporary dcor of rich tans and browns, accented with soothing blue tones. Brand new 300 square foot guest room features two queen size beds and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.
King Guestroom
Brand new 300 square foot guest room features one king size bed and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.
Executive King with Sleeper Sofa
Brand new 350 square foot guest room features one king size bed with full sleeper sofa and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Yale University: 0.3 mi
  • Payne Whitney Gym: 0.6 mi
  • Yale Bowl: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The New Haven Hotel is the perfect host for off site meetings, banquets or private parties. Centrally located in the heart of downtown, the New Haven Hotel can accommodate groups up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for New Haven Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RI
Apr 15, 2010

great people great location

I had been reading online reviews of the hotel, and it seemed as though the hotel was rather run-down in earlier reviews, and then later reviews indicated they were upgrading. I decided with such a great location (visiting Yale with my pre-frosh son), and such a reasonable price I would chance it. So glad I did. The room had a comfy king-size bed, with sheets that I could only dream of having at my home!! Huge good-quality TV, even a great clock radio with an IPod dock, free wireless. Beautifully and newly renovated! Lots of great details. The front desk staff was quick to assist me. I left my car in the garage and walked everywhere, 5 minutes to campus. Only item of concern for me: they are now renovating the lobby, and I actually drove by the hotel entrance, since it wasn't clearly indicated where to pull in to check in. (After check-in you go to a garage directly across the street). I made reservations to go back there for Yale move in day.. I gave it a 2 for dining options since the restaurant is being renovated and wasn't open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
msuut
Business
Long Island
Feb 4, 2012

very nice stay

Went to New Haven for a night to hang out with some friends. This hotel seemed to have the best price for the area it was in. Our room was very clean and the beds were nice and comfortable. The area was pretty quiet with a lot of nightlife within a few blocks. If I come back to New Haven I will definitely stay here again. FYI - parking is not included, but is convenient at the parking garage across the street for $18/night added to the room fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Frank Pepes pizza is about a 15-20 minute walk away but well worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SLEET
Business
New Jersey
Aug 15, 2012

Exceeded Expectations

Everyone was friendly. The hotel is completely upgraded, modernized. The bed was comfortable. My only issue was the noisy HVAC system. I had learned to let it hum me to sleep! All in all it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yale campus is within a few blocks. I was able to walk around - the buildings are gorgeous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joe schmalzenberger
Business
Chicago area
Aug 21, 2012

Nice newly renovated place

nice hotel in New Haven that has been newly renovated. The room was first class and staff was personable. The only knock on this place is that it is in a slightly trashy part of town. That wasn't that big a deal but it was noisy on saturday night on the second floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ada kussainova
Business
Chicago, il
Feb 14, 2013

The best

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The rooms are huge and very clean. The hotel is just rennovated, so it looks awesome! From 5-6 they have wine tasting event every day, they serve fruits and cheese. Even though the airport is 15 minutes away I couldn't find a taxi, so I was running late. The reception called every taxi company, was very polite and supportive and found me a taxi. I really loved the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yale Student's Mom
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 3, 2013

Visiting Parent

The staff went out of their way to make my trip enjoyable. I truly appreciated the extra effort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JB Dawglover
Business
VA
Jun 1, 2013

love this hotel

great facilities and staff. Very helpful with getting around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great sushi at "Sushi on Chapel"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Team Barbieri
Business
Woodbury CT
Aug 12, 2013

Impromptu Getaway

My husband and I live about an hour away from New Haven and we enjoy visiting, but sometimes the ride back can be exhausting after dining and enjoying some of the nightlife. We would usually stay at the Omni buy decided to try the New Haven Hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. Room was spacious, decor was beautiful and modern, location was ideal! We walked to our Restaraunt and bar, and the next day walked to shopping area. We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barcelona. Great wine selection. Delicious menu choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lrpjak
Business
Princeton, New Jersey
Sep 13, 2013

Great hotel.

Lovely hotel. We stayed here while visiting Yale. Really beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner is a cool Mexican restaurant. Good margaritas too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MFracasso
Business
Alexandria, VA
Dec 25, 2013

Excellent accommodations in New Haven

Recently remodeled in 2010 - modern elegant with a wonderful and comfortable reception area. Rooms with granite and marble bathrooms and Kohler BR fixtures. Ample outlets for all your electronic devices and complimentary wirerless internet. New good quality gym equipment. The only two minor issues include parking while available a little pricy at $20/night across a street and a breakfast also available but not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top