$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

New Haven Hotel

3 stars
229 George Street, New Haven, CT 06510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
64 reviews
Excellent place for discovering the city

Had a nice welcome. Very clean room and lots of space. Also no problem for storing luggage once... See full review

  • Yale visitor 37
  • Jun 12, 2014
FIVE STAR HOTEL-

A wonderful weekend. Booked through hotel. Hotel near everything Yale--museums, restaurants,... See full review

  • The path taken
  • Apr 24, 2014
Sophisticated, renovated hotel in the heart of New Haven
The New Haven Hotel offers refined, contemporary style in the heart of New Haven, a couple of blocks from Yale University and the historic New Haven Green. Corporate offices, the Yale New Haven Hospital, golf and beaches are close by. It is surrounded by a host of cultural attractions, and an eclectic array of shops and restaurants. The New Haven Hotel welcomes guests in a grand lobby with soaring ceilings, and starts the day with a full breakfast menu. There is a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary Wi-Fi, a business center and small meeting rooms.
Highlights
  • Renovated, modern facilities
  • High-quality bedding
  • Convenient central New Haven location
Rooms
The New Haven Hotel boasts a variety of renovated rooms and suites. Spacious and comfortable, they offer the highest quality bedding and contemporary furnishings in sophisticated earth tones. Modern Roman blinds black out oversized windows that offer stunning city views. Marble and granite bathrooms offer distinctive bath amenities and hair-dryers. The rooms are equipped with comfortable work stations, the latest technology, microwaves and refrigerators/freezers. This family-friendly hotel offers handicap facilities.
Features
The fully renovated New Haven Hotel is located in the heart of downtown New Haven. The Shubert Performing Arts Center, Palace Theatre, Yale University Art Gallery, Yale Repertory Theatre and the New Haven Symphony Orchestra are within a three block radius.  The area is bustling with restaurants and nightlife, attractions, shopping, outdoor recreation, and arts and culture. Guests are welcomed to the New Haven Hotel in the extensive lobby and adjacent Living Room that features soaring ceilings and a fireplace with a 40-foot-tall accent wall. A full breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant. Additional facilities include a convenience market, 24-hour fitness center, guest laundry facility and on-site ATM. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.
Transportation
  • Metro North (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Tweed Regional Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Bradley International Airport (52 mi/84 km)
  • Shuttle service
Attractions
  • New Haven Green (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yale University (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Shubert Theatre (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yale New Haven Hospital (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Long Wharf Harbor (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Golf Course (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting space holds 100
  • Banquet facilities

Hotel Map

41.3048 -72.9294
Area served
Greater New Haven
Nearby airports
Tweed New Haven Airport Bradley International Airport Hartford-Brainard Airport
Area description
Located in the heart of New Haven, the New Haven Hotel is steps away from the Yale University Campus, Shubert Theater, and numerous shops and restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed New Haven Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

New Haven Hotel Rooms

2 Queen Guestroom
The New Haven Hotel's guest rooms and hotel suites have been 100% renovated and feature a refined contemporary dcor of rich tans and browns, accented with soothing blue tones. Brand new 300 square foot guest room features two queen size beds and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.
King Guestroom
Brand new 300 square foot guest room features one king size bed and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.
Executive King with Sleeper Sofa
Brand new 350 square foot guest room features one king size bed with full sleeper sofa and offers New Haven's most luxurious, well appointed and technologically advanced guest rooms. Luxury appointments include top-of-the-line Sealy mattresses, duvets with high thread count sheets, and your choice of down or fiberfill pillows.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Yale University: 0.3 mi
  • Payne Whitney Gym: 0.6 mi
  • Yale Bowl: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The New Haven Hotel is the perfect host for off site meetings, banquets or private parties. Centrally located in the heart of downtown, the New Haven Hotel can accommodate groups up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for New Haven Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BJBNewHaven
Bridgeport
Jan 2, 2014

Great Location - Very nice hotel

This was a very comfortable modern hotel. The staff was friendly. The lobby is Beautiful and the rooms are clean and well appointed. The restaurant only serves breakfast, but there are so many restaurants near by I can understand why that is. Parking was $20 and it is right across the street. There is the odd thing that you actually need your room key to get out of the parking lot, so you must grab your car first before checking out, but there is a lobby pick up and drop off area so you can grab your car and drive over to there and then go in and check out - a small odd thing, that did not detract from my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MFracasso
Alexandria, VA
Dec 25, 2013

Excellent accommodations in New Haven

Recently remodeled in 2010 - modern elegant with a wonderful and comfortable reception area. Rooms with granite and marble bathrooms and Kohler BR fixtures. Ample outlets for all your electronic devices and complimentary wirerless internet. New good quality gym equipment. The only two minor issues include parking while available a little pricy at $20/night across a street and a breakfast also available but not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr BreeRupe
Business
Washington DC
Nov 23, 2013

Pretty nice

Very well decorated lobby, very friendly staff. I had no qualms. The rooms were not super modern but definitely not out-dated. Very clean. Workout room was so-so. Enjoyed my time there, great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BoiledChampagne
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 11, 2013

Great place, great staff

Great hotel--very modern, stylish, and clean. Our room was lovely and spacious, the bed/linens were extremely comfortable, and I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. They even had a free "wine social" in their lobby on Friday, with cheese and other snacks. There's no room service and no hotel bar, otherwise I'd give it 5 stars--but those are minor quibbles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
graciehart1
Partlow, VA
Sep 30, 2013

Okay hotel, may not be in the best area

My husband and I spent a night in the New Haven Hotel on our way to Maine. The hotel itself was nice--clean, comfortable and secure. The hotel's main lobby and the parking garage both require key card access, with the hotel locking after a certain hour and the parking garage remaining locked 24/7. Please note the parking garage does share space with other facilities and only certain floors are used for the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants, shops and also the Yale campus. However, it seems like they've had some violence in the area lately and a shooting had actually occurred days before on the street just one block up from the hotel. Several others had occurred in the nearby area. The hotel was fine for one night, as we did go out during the day and explored the nearby shops, restaurants and campus. We also walked to dinner that evening at a steakhouse two blocks from the hotel. However, I probably wouldn't walk around too much after dark due to the recent violence in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lrpjak
Princeton, New Jersey
Sep 13, 2013

Great hotel.

Lovely hotel. We stayed here while visiting Yale. Really beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner is a cool Mexican restaurant. Good margaritas too!

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Team Barbieri
Woodbury CT
Aug 12, 2013

Impromptu Getaway

My husband and I live about an hour away from New Haven and we enjoy visiting, but sometimes the ride back can be exhausting after dining and enjoying some of the nightlife. We would usually stay at the Omni buy decided to try the New Haven Hotel, we were pleasantly surprised. Room was spacious, decor was beautiful and modern, location was ideal! We walked to our Restaraunt and bar, and the next day walked to shopping area. We'll definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Barcelona. Great wine selection. Delicious menu choices.

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danny Jorge Perez
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 8, 2013

Hotel Stay

My hotel stay was great. The location was very centralized, and close to many good spots to dine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mirbrook
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 23, 2013

Nice stay in New Haven

Stayed at New Haven Hotel for one night (Thurs to Fri). King bed room was great. Being from NYC, room was more spacious than expected. Bed was comfortable as was the shower. Liked the environmentally friendly shower/bath products that were provided. We arrived before check-in, but we were able to park our car in the garage across the street and leave luggage with the front desk. Several restaurants were in easy walking distance. Yale campus and other restaruant/bar options were a quick walk. Did not partake of the on-site gym or buffet, so cannot comment on them. Disappointed in the price of parking in the garage. It was convenient, but I should have asked the price before agreeing to it. Staff were all pleasant and helpful, but both front desk staff seemed to be juggling a lot at once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louis Lunch is a must stop for inexpensive burger in a unique setting. Place is tiny, so go outside the lunch rush hours. Cash only. On the same street is Pacifico where we had a disappointing meal. Despite fresh ingredients the combinations were odd. All of the dishes we ordered were very sweet and overpriced. Also, the staff seemed overwhelmed on a night that was not very busy.

Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BiMa
Australia
Jul 17, 2013

Exceptional Staff and Great Room/Location

Loved staying at this hotel. Room was beautiful and comfortable bedding. Excellent location and within an easy walk to all major attractions. It's the little things that count -- and they have them covered. Staff were exceptional in their service, information provided and friendliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Yale Walking Tour. Go to the Yale Visitors Centre near the Green. Do yourself a favour and go 15mins earlier than the start time so you can see the introductory video.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search