$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

New Haven Hotel

3 stars
View map of 229 George Street, New Haven, CT 06510

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for New Haven Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jake from statefarm
Business
new london, CT
Nov 28, 2014

New Haven Visit

Great experience, great downtown location, and the room was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheap Graduate Student
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 17, 2014

Stay Here for Yale

I had to be at Yale for a conference, and after sifting through a lot of terrible reviews for hotels, I settled on this one. It's quite nice and the staff is friendly. The price was a little high but a bargain compared to other places in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SG129
Business
Trumbull, CT
Nov 3, 2014

Nice Room - Great Location

We stayed one night at the New Haven Hotel on a Saturday. The room looked recently renovated/upgraded. Very clean. Comfortable. Affordable. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David David
Business
US
Oct 23, 2014

Good hotel

Newly renovated. Very clean. Staff was very responsive to questions or concerns. My room was on the top floor. Some machines from the roof (A/C or heating?) made huge noises. The buffet breakfast was just so so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert of New London
Business
New London, CT
Oct 22, 2014

Adequate Urban Respite

The hotel is deceiving at first glance. All the appointments, one would expect from a downtown hotel are awaiting; Right? Wrong. I soon discovered that there was no service beyond the Front Desk. I parked my car across the street in a garage; however, the walk bridge adjoining the two buildings was "under repair"' I got lost while findinding the way out until I realized the overhead auto-door would activate with my E-guest card. No baggage attendant or porter, no room service, no laundry service, no beverages or food at all to satisfy my late check-in, no mini-bar; no news papers at my door or coffee when I woke. The bathroom amenities were simply non-existent. I had asked for a late check-out when I arrived to help me with my early morning meeting. I was granted a half- hour (12:30 PM). Not the customary 3:00 PM late check-out, I had enjoyed at NYC 4-Star Hotels. On the bright side, the bed was extremely comfortable; once again demonstrating a faux visual quality (at the bttom of the bed was a piece of blue cloth, which mimicked a shall or throw - not). Having a professional interest in "Prefer Hotels International", until my early retirement, I feel like I was dubbed for the price. It was a good show. I slept well. The George Street location is perfect for business district, walking distance appointments. Thank you, The New Have "Hootel". Sincerely, Robert, a frequent traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bbob E
Business
New Haven
Oct 20, 2014

New Haven

Great overall experience. Great value, location and staff. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prime 16 Great burgers and they poor a great beer and glass of wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee K
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 27, 2014

Heart of New Haven

This hotel is in downtown New Haven, close to Yale and the theater district. Even so, it seems barren at night around there. The room was neat and fairly spacious. The lighting in the bathroom could have been better, but it was a reasonably good value for the location. You have to pay extra for parking, and breakfast options are limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salawicious
Business
Us
Sep 16, 2014

Classy hotel

Very nice hotel.. Very clean, modern, nice furniture. Shower is outdated a little, but still a great place. Very accommodating. We accidentally reserved a handicap accessible room and they quickly changed our room. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
turtlechloe
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Aug 4, 2014

Clean! Pleasant Staff!

Check in to check out the Front Desk Staff were fantastic!!! This is our second time staying at the New Haven Hotel because it is centrally located to the places we visit in New Haven. This trip they allowed us to stay in the parking garage after check-out so that we could attend our grand-daughters baptism two blocks away & we didn't have to move our car - very helpful. The room is clean and comfortable and very sound proof - could not hear a thing... Will definitely stay here next time we go to New Haven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many places to dine and all within walking distance. After dinner, walk up to the Greens - you never know what they have going on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of New Haven Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horseblue
Business
Seattle
Jul 22, 2014

good stay

a nice hotel within walking distance to the Union Station & Yale University. We enjoyed our stay. It will be even better if the room has a view and has a bathtub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Atticus Bookstore/Cafe distributed fresh bread for free at 8pm. I never got it when I was at Yale but luckily got it on our way back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top