$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

3 stars
400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
157 reviews
Great stay

Awesome! Just slept there but it was comfortable and clean. Thank you! See full review

  • JenB Tegan
  • Jun 27, 2014
accomodated

My time at the LaQuinta was amazing. The staff did all they could to make my stay there a great... See full review

  • La Quinta Helena
  • Jun 5, 2014
Renovated New Haven hotel close to Yale University
The renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven is located near Yale University and the University of New Haven. Major companies, IKEA, the downtown shops and Long Wharf are minutes away. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle within a five-minute radius, free Wi-Fi and a complimentary breakfast. There is an adjoining Greek Olive Restaurant and a wide selection of nearby restaurants ranging from convenience to fine dining. La Quinta guests enjoy views of Long Island Sound, relax at the sparkling outdoor pool and work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Close to Yale University and University of New Haven
  • Views of the Long Island Sound
  • Outdoor pool
Rooms
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven offers 158 renovated guest rooms and suites, comfortably furnished with sofa beds and well-lit desks. Complimentary Wi-Fi, daily newspapers, toiletries and hair-dryers are provided. The 25-inch televisions have cable and premium movies. Cribs (infant beds) and rollaway beds are available upon request.
Features
The renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven offers spacious accommodation convenient to Yale University and the University of New Haven. The hotel shuttle offers complimentary airport and local transportation within a five-mile radius. This includes the universities, Long Wharf, Maritime Center and Shubert Theatre. The La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven offers stunning views of Long Island Sound, a fitness center and sparkling outdoor pool. There is a complimentary BriteSide breakfast, and a wide selection of nearby restaurants ranging from the adjoining Greek Olive to convenience and fine dining options. There is an IKEA minutes away, and a great range of downtown shopping near by. Major companies including Assa Abloy, Sargent, Bayer and Subway are easily accessible.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bradley International Airport (45.6 mi/73.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle
  • Local shuttle
Attractions
  • IKEA (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Long Wharf Theater (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • The Green (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Shubert Theater (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Yale-New Haven Hospital (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sterling Memorial Library at Yale University (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Yale University (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Business center

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Rooms

Deluxe
Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
Features one Queen bed and a sleeper sofa, plus coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, and voice mail.
Standard
Relaxing and comfortable room with one queen bed, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.2941 -72.9199
Nearby airports
Tweed-New Haven Airport, (HVN), 4.00, MI; Bradley Intl Airport, (BDL), 60.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Yale University: 1.2 mi
  • Payne Whitney Gym: 1.5 mi
  • Yale Bowl: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 157
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
donkey kong 1234
virginia
Jul 14, 2014

Decent

It was a decent hotel, really close to downtown but not the best hotel in the area. The price is cheaper compared to the rest though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
barb612
coventry,ct
May 22, 2014

Convenient location, adequate hotel.

The service was fine, with friendly front desk staff. Nonsmoking room had a faint smell of cigarettes. The room was nothing fancy, but seemed clean and wasps adequate. Traffic noise from nearby I 95 could be heard faintly. Very centrally located with the convenience of free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jim from California
Foster City, California
Jun 18, 2013

Worn Out Property

The lobbie and halls were dirty. A dorm room has better furniture. Sink hole in middle of bed. Long overdue to be replaced. A real dump

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Sage Restaurant for sea food. On the Sound, a mile south of the hotel. Nice neighborhood.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jones' Journey
Pennsylvania
May 13, 2013

Overnight stay

It was a good place to stay when just visiting overnight. The staff was helpful and the shuttle service was great. We used it to go for dinner and get back to the trains station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stl chick
St Louis, mo
Oct 15, 2012

Jj cool

Wow. That one word sums it up. Mlooking for an inexpensive stop between Boston and Cape Cod? Well this is it but gotta warn you... While the staff seemed nice, there sure seemed like some shady dealings going on in those $95/night rooms. It appeared to be pimps/prostitution or something at wee early hours. Not a good showing and not a feeling of a safe environment for out of town guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
May 22, 2011

absolutely horrible!!!

Terrible customer service, very very rude from the start, unable to understand my name so unable to find my reservation, the host made it my mistake!!! Room smelled so bad, tobacco and chemicals, when asked if something could be done the answer was: no sorry. Bed was uncomfortable and kept making noise each time we would try to get comfortable! Don't even think about using their shuttle!!! 1hour wait and the driver screems at you. The evening staff was so rude I can't even explain... Don't go! Ever! And to finish... What they call breakfast... Barf! A room without windows, and make your own waffle... No choice, syrup fruits... Best to go next door to ikea! Worst experience ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
May 22, 2011

absolutely horrible!!!

Terrible customer service, very very rude from the start, unable to understand my name so unable to find my reservation, the host made it my mistake!!! Room smelled so bad, tobacco and chemicals, when asked if something could be done the answer was: no sorry. Bed was uncomfortable and kept making noise each time we would try to get comfortable! Don't even think about using their shuttle!!! 1hour wait and the driver screems at you. The evening staff was so rude I can't even explain... Don't go! Ever! And to finish... What they call breakfast... Barf! A room without windows, and make your own waffle... No choice, syrup fruits... Best to go next door to ikea! Worst experience ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A designated Yale Lover
Houston, TX
Nov 21, 2010

a descent stay

I went there for a Yale open house event and a romantic getaway as well. The room was nicely furnitured and equiped. The hotel staff were friendly enough. However, the couch and some small pieces of furnitures were really dusty. I had to clean them myself uppon arrival. It was the loudest hotel that I've ever stayed at. I could hear my neighbor's snore really clearly and the music they play in the bar next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It was nice of them to offer the free bus services daily. Where ever you are going in New Haven, they'll send a bus to take you there and they are just a phone call away to pick you up anywhere you are and take you back to the hotel for free.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall Traveler
Michigan
Aug 12, 2010

Nice Place to Stay

First room assigned smelled of smoke even though we requested a non-smoking room. When we advised the front desk they were quick to assign another room that had no smoke smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tall Traveler
Michigan
Aug 12, 2010

Nice Place to Stay

First room assigned smelled of smoke even though we requested a non-smoking room. When we advised the front desk they were quick to assign another room that had no smoke smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top