$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 14, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

3 stars
View map of 400 Sargent Dr, 400 Sargent Dr, New Haven, CT 06511

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
120 reviews
excellent

Everyone was the best people i ever met. Also room was perfect and beautiful. A great experience. See full review

  • DIANA C.
  • Dec 29, 2014
excellent

Everyone was the best people i ever met. Also room was perfect and beautiful. A great experience. See full review

  • DIANA C.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Renovated New Haven hotel close to Yale University
The renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven is located near Yale University and the University of New Haven. Major companies, IKEA, the downtown shops and Long Wharf are minutes away. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle within a five-minute radius, free Wi-Fi and a complimentary breakfast. There is an adjoining Greek Olive Restaurant and a wide selection of nearby restaurants ranging from convenience to fine dining. La Quinta guests enjoy views of Long Island Sound, relax at the sparkling outdoor pool and work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Close to Yale University and University of New Haven
  • Views of the Long Island Sound
  • Outdoor pool
Rooms
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven offers 158 renovated guest rooms and suites, comfortably furnished with sofa beds and well-lit desks. Complimentary Wi-Fi, daily newspapers, toiletries and hair-dryers are provided. The 25-inch televisions have cable and premium movies. Cribs (infant beds) and rollaway beds are available upon request.
Features
The renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven offers spacious accommodation convenient to Yale University and the University of New Haven. The hotel shuttle offers complimentary airport and local transportation within a five-mile radius. This includes the universities, Long Wharf, Maritime Center and Shubert Theatre. The La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven offers stunning views of Long Island Sound, a fitness center and sparkling outdoor pool. There is a complimentary BriteSide breakfast, and a wide selection of nearby restaurants ranging from the adjoining Greek Olive to convenience and fine dining options. There is an IKEA minutes away, and a great range of downtown shopping near by. Major companies including Assa Abloy, Sargent, Bayer and Subway are easily accessible.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bradley International Airport (45.6 mi/73.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle
  • Local shuttle
Attractions
  • IKEA (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Long Wharf Theater (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • The Green (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Shubert Theater (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Yale-New Haven Hospital (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sterling Memorial Library at Yale University (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Yale University (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Rooms

Deluxe
One Queen Bed w/Sofa, Non-Smoking Features one Queen bed and a sleeper sofa, plus coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, and voice mail.
Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
Two Queen-Bedded Room w/Sofa Bed, Features two Queen-size beds, one full-size sofa, microwave, refrigerator, cofee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, and voice mail.
Standard
One Full Bed, Features a TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, voice mail, and dataport telephone.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Bedded Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
One Queen Bed, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with one queen bed, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Night club
Children's activities
Jogging track
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Yale University: 1.2 mi
  • Payne Whitney Gym: 1.5 mi
  • Yale Bowl: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Apr 9, 2011

Avoid this place if possible

I was in this place for almost 3 weeks. During this time, I encountered far too many problems, that included: room keys not working, my car was damaged, housekeeper would never refill full set of towels, poor front desk service, and computer (available in lobby) did not work. While there appears to be lots of renovations in the building itself, without the appropriate professional staff this place fails to meet any type of expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ikea is next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Lovering
Business
Palo Alto California
Mar 24, 2011

La Quinta

Very good -- great room, convenient shuttle both to airport and to Yale and courteous and efficient front desk!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

use shuttle not only to airport but also to Yale since hotel is conveniently located near campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Mar 15, 2011

poor service

I stopped by desk two mornings in a row to get defective shower head resloved. After returning that evening to check repair, none had been made. I departed reservation early to find a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Mar 4, 2011

Over rated hotel

This should not be a 3 star hotel. This place is pretty much a dump and nasty. It's old and falling apart. I only paid $60/night and feel I overpaid. I'm not sure a 2 or 1 star hotel could possibly exist if the local department of health exists. If you stay here, be sure you know the rooms are very run down and gross. Entry lobby is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tuzbone
Business
west haven, ct
Feb 22, 2011

4 day stay

Greek Olive has good selection for room and dining. Small lounge for night. Doing house construction so i had to find a place to stay. Tried different hotels, like this one for location to work and price. I like the waffles you can make in the morning. Too cold right now to use the pool outside. Easy access to the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

close accomodation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
istanbul, Turkiye
Feb 14, 2011

Budget Hotel serving the purpose

Hotel is a budget hotel compared to nearby hotels. It is in the city, with a shuttle service to anywhere in New Haven, provides reasonable breakfast, with a good italian restaurant nearby, clean, non smoking facility. AC/heating works a little bit noisy. for the ones who is not familiar (like us) it may be preblem to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
craig2557
Business
IL
Feb 13, 2011

Good Value

Nice clean room and good breackfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Drama student
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 24, 2011

Decent hotel; unacceptable maintenance

This is my second time staying at this hotel. The first visit in November,'10 was fine but this latest stay in January,'11 was problematic. The hotel was completely booked with a number of rowdy high school kids and the staff was clearly overwhelmed. I had the misfortune of getting a room with a malfunctioning toilet and bathroom fan, but the hotel was unable to offer me another room. What was irritating were the repeated reassurances from the front desk that a maintenance worker was promptly on his way to my room to repair the bath. No one ever showed after several calls over two days and the issue was never resolved. No one from the front desk followed up with the issue and I'm not sure whether I was being deceived or whether there were massive communication problems between the front desk and maintenance. The hotel has a lot to recommend it, particularly the free shuttle service around New Haven, but this visit was disappointing nevertheless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 23, 2011

Not too great

I came in with low expectations and they sure were met. The staff at the front desk was great and got me signed in very quickly. I then proceeded to the elevator to go to my room and right away noticed the lack of care taken in keeping the elevator looking presentable. I then got to my floor and noticed an odd, smoky smell and loud neighbors down the hall. When I got into my room the heat was off, when I turned it on I had to raise the level of the tv to drown out the loud unit. The bathroom was not very pleasant, it lacked cleanliness and needed some updates and repairs. I will say that I was happy with the restaurant and bar attached to the hotel, the drinks helped me sleep on that rock they call a bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington dc area
Jan 5, 2011

suited our needs well

the room was much larger than we expected, clean and quiet - no complaints and will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top