$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

3 stars
400 Sargent Drive, New Haven, CT 06511
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
115 reviews
Enjoyed our stay

Easy access to I-95. Nice sized rooms. Great breakfast. See full review

  • Ferm
  • Oct 21, 2014
Busy location

Road construction on I-95 made getting to the hotel a challenge. Not much in the way of amenities.... See full review

  • Grandpa Ken with Cindy
  • Sep 28, 2014
Renovated New Haven hotel close to Yale University
The renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven is located near Yale University and the University of New Haven. Major companies, IKEA, the downtown shops and Long Wharf are minutes away. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle within a five-minute radius, free Wi-Fi and a complimentary breakfast. There is an adjoining Greek Olive Restaurant and a wide selection of nearby restaurants ranging from convenience to fine dining. La Quinta guests enjoy views of Long Island Sound, relax at the sparkling outdoor pool and work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Close to Yale University and University of New Haven
  • Views of the Long Island Sound
  • Outdoor pool
Rooms
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven offers 158 renovated guest rooms and suites, comfortably furnished with sofa beds and well-lit desks. Complimentary Wi-Fi, daily newspapers, toiletries and hair-dryers are provided. The 25-inch televisions have cable and premium movies. Cribs (infant beds) and rollaway beds are available upon request.
Features
The renovated La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven offers spacious accommodation convenient to Yale University and the University of New Haven. The hotel shuttle offers complimentary airport and local transportation within a five-mile radius. This includes the universities, Long Wharf, Maritime Center and Shubert Theatre. The La Quinta Inn and Suites New Haven offers stunning views of Long Island Sound, a fitness center and sparkling outdoor pool. There is a complimentary BriteSide breakfast, and a wide selection of nearby restaurants ranging from the adjoining Greek Olive to convenience and fine dining options. There is an IKEA minutes away, and a great range of downtown shopping near by. Major companies including Assa Abloy, Sargent, Bayer and Subway are easily accessible.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bradley International Airport (45.6 mi/73.4 km)
  • Airport shuttle
  • Local shuttle
Attractions
  • IKEA (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Long Wharf Theater (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • The Green (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Shubert Theater (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Yale-New Haven Hospital (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Sterling Memorial Library at Yale University (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Yale University (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven Rooms

Deluxe
Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
Features one Queen bed and a sleeper sofa, plus coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, and voice mail.
Standard
Relaxing and comfortable room with one queen bed, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Golf
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Yale University: 1.2 mi
  • Payne Whitney Gym: 1.5 mi
  • Yale Bowl: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HockeyNut
Business
Littleton, CO, USA
Mar 21, 2012

It's good if you're on the road a lot.

I didn't mind this hotel, just because I usually just need a place to sleep when I'm on vacation. Downtown is a couple miles away, with Yale not too far off. It's right next to the highway, which is good to hop onto if you want to go to far off places. Other than that, there's nothing really special about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Louis' Lunch is claimed to be the first burger joint in the US, opening in 1895. Just a piece of meat, tomato, onion, between two pieces of bread. The burger was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yale parent
Business
Istanbul Province/Istanbul, Turkey
Mar 4, 2012

Reasonable stay in New Haven

The hotel is located very close to downtown New Haven, right next to IKEA, it had reasonable prices and offers complimentary wifi access and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yale parent
Business
Istanbul Province/Istanbul, Turkey
Mar 4, 2012

Reasonable stay in New Haven

The hotel is located close to downtown New Haven, right next to IKEA, is reasonably priced and offers complimentary wifi access and breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dstny
Business
new haven, CT
Dec 27, 2011

Good hotel

It's a simple and comfortable hotel. Only that there is not toothbrush and toothpaste in the standard room, so remember to take your own with you. Generally, the price is reasonable(order on the website can be cheaper) and the room cozy. I definitely will order it again if needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
May 22, 2011

absolutely horrible!!!

Terrible customer service, very very rude from the start, unable to understand my name so unable to find my reservation, the host made it my mistake!!! Room smelled so bad, tobacco and chemicals, when asked if something could be done the answer was: no sorry. Bed was uncomfortable and kept making noise each time we would try to get comfortable! Don't even think about using their shuttle!!! 1hour wait and the driver screems at you. The evening staff was so rude I can't even explain... Don't go! Ever! And to finish... What they call breakfast... Barf! A room without windows, and make your own waffle... No choice, syrup fruits... Best to go next door to ikea! Worst experience ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Apr 15, 2011

I wouldn't recommend it

I was here to visit Yale. I purposely picked one of the cheapest hotels I could find because I wasn't going to be in my room much. But, while the staff seemed nice and I knew what I was getting into, I was still really unimpressed with the hotel. First -my room key didn't work. When I went down to the front desk, another man was there with a similar problem - his worked, except there was already someone in the room! They fixed my key, and I went up to my room, and same thing -- already someone in there! Made me feel unsafe leaving my belongings in my room when I went out for dinner. And when I was in the room, I double bolted the door. When I went out for dinner, I got in my rental car, locked the doors, and was typing into my gps. A random guy started knocking on my window, asking for the money I owed him, trying to et me to open my window. I refused and started pulling out. He motioned to the hotel and asked if I was staying there - and I think he was actually the shuttle driver for the hotel and confused me with someone else he had given a ride to and was demanding payment. But hello -- if I'm in a car, is it likely that i got a ride from you? And repeatedly knocking on my window demanding money makes it seem like you're trying to mug me. It made me feel very unsafe returning to the parking lot, knowing I might encounter this guy again. Everything was also pretty run-down, but you expect that when you're paying like $80/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Apr 9, 2011

Avoid this place if possible

I was in this place for almost 3 weeks. During this time, I encountered far too many problems, that included: room keys not working, my car was damaged, housekeeper would never refill full set of towels, poor front desk service, and computer (available in lobby) did not work. While there appears to be lots of renovations in the building itself, without the appropriate professional staff this place fails to meet any type of expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ikea is next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Lovering
Business
Palo Alto California
Mar 24, 2011

La Quinta

Very good -- great room, convenient shuttle both to airport and to Yale and courteous and efficient front desk!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

use shuttle not only to airport but also to Yale since hotel is conveniently located near campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Mar 15, 2011

poor service

I stopped by desk two mornings in a row to get defective shower head resloved. After returning that evening to check repair, none had been made. I departed reservation early to find a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Mar 4, 2011

Over rated hotel

This should not be a 3 star hotel. This place is pretty much a dump and nasty. It's old and falling apart. I only paid $60/night and feel I overpaid. I'm not sure a 2 or 1 star hotel could possibly exist if the local department of health exists. If you stay here, be sure you know the rooms are very run down and gross. Entry lobby is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top