$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 13, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

3 stars
View map of 400 Sargent Dr, 400 Sargent Dr, New Haven, CT 06511

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lespaul
Business
NY
May 5, 2014

Average.

Kind of a dated hotel. Had to change rooms because of a leaky roof. Not a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith R
Business
South Carolina
Apr 30, 2014

Very good for the price

I had no specific complaints. I needed a place to stay in this particular area for one night and this hotel cetainly fit the bill. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Without a rental car, there is nothing nearby except for a very nice Italian restaurant and also a fairly good restaurant and bar inside the hotel. I was told I could take the complimentary shuttle downtown but didn't have the time. For my needs, it was fine.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conventioneer on the go
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 14, 2014

Adequate for short business trip

The hotel is better suited for drivers and conveniently located by a major highway about a mile and half from downtown. Several restaurants/eateries are also within walking distance if you don't have a car. The area is not very scenic and located in a warehouse district, but safe and well-patrolled. The facilities/furnishings are a bit outdated, spartan, but clean. The bedding was adequate, but the mattresses were old and sagging. Breakfast was very, very basic, i.e. bagels, muffins, waffles, cereal and boiled eggs-not very inviting or appetizing. Fortunately, there is a donut shop and gas station next door. The front-desk staff is very friendly and eager to help, but the hotel could definitely use a lift, especially when considering the rates are $100+/night, though a cheaper alternative to hotels downtown. I went for a convention at Yale and was pleasantly surprised to find a free shuttle service to downtown and the airport. This service was definitely appreciated and unexpected, but first-come first-serve. To compensate, taxis are abundant and readily available. Given the fact the hotel picks up a fair amount of convention traffic, a better equipped business office with a couple of printers that work would have definitely helped. I also found the bare bones cleaning staff to be overworked and somewhat depressed. So, if you need any service in the room, don't expect a fast response from anyone. If you find the halls unvacuumed or the bathroom tiles unmopped, I wouldn't blame the abused immigrants on the cleaning staff either, as I see this more as a reflection of the business practices of the hotel (chain's) management and corporate greed. Shame on them! Nonetheless, my experience was positive and the room was adequate for a 1-2 day business trip for someone on the go. If you find all the better hotels downtown booked and need an alternative, this hotel should work out for you too. On the other hand, it may not be the best pick for a family stay of longer duration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AJ85
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 26, 2014

Average hotel

Hotel was conveniently located, close to the freeway and not far from downtown New Haven. Rooms were average. Bathrooms could use upgrading. Helpful front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NMRobn
Business
new Haven Conn.
Feb 23, 2014

Good for money stop overnight bad weather

Place was clean . Resturants on premises Food was good . Staff very helpful ,the only downfall was not to many station on the TV ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1 UNC mom
Business
North Carolina
Jan 21, 2014

Good room for the price

The hotel and rooms are aging, but generally in good condition. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast offered a nice variety of items and was kept stocked. Easy to get to and to move about New Haven, especially easy access to downtown New Have. Overall, a good value. I will stay there again when I'm in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marley1121
Business
New haven, CT
Dec 20, 2013

Ok

Good if your just staying one night. I stayed on a cold day an the heater was blowing cool air an it was 10 degrees outside but they had a working crew that was very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMDoctor
Business
New York, NY
Nov 18, 2013

Just the right stuff.

Hotel met my needs perfectly and at a reasonable price. Free shuttle van and taxis bridge the gap between the hotel and downtown New Haven/Yale University, effectively making those places only minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Literally dozens of good places to eat within a three block radius of the corner of Chapel and High streets.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JMD33
Business
Armonk, NY
Nov 16, 2013

Just Awful

My husband and son went to the area for a Lacrosse game and arrived at 10:30 pm the evening before There were kids partying in the room down the hall. We called security three times before they came. Room was fair at best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loves Boston
Business
Virginia
Nov 10, 2013

Worst hotel stay in a long time...

The first room I was given had not been cleaned. I got a new room (no apology). The next room's dead bolt did not work. The hairdryer did not work. The stairway smelled like smoke. The bed was seriously hard. The desk chair was a director's chair style -- not at all comfortable for getting any work done. And there were two serious knock-down-drag-out fights on two different nights in neighboring rooms, lasting until well after midnight. I almost called police (which I've never done before). You could hear people screaming at each other, then (probably drunk) throwing up, then throwing punches and banging into the walls. The shuttle is extremely convenient. Frankly, that is the only redeeming quality about this hotel. (It is not walkable to downtown unless you want to walk through the projects neighborhood -- the area where the Yale nursing school puts a fence around the parking lot!) I had stayed here for business and will not make that mistake again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top