$58 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Econo Lodge Conference Center

2 stars
100 Pond Lily Ave., New Haven, CT 06525
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.8
out of 5
17 reviews
Great location for travel to airport

Great location for airport. The staff were excellent. And the breakfast was great. The room was... See full review

  • TD Boat
  • Sep 4, 2011
yale football fan

clean comfortable room at a good price.good location for a visit to yale. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 1, 2007
The Econo Lodge Conference Center hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95, four miles from Yale University and two miles from Southern Connecticut State University. This New Haven hotel is close to the University of New Haven, Quinnipiac University and the Peabody Museum of Natural History. The Tweed-New Haven Airport is 10 miles away. Hotel amenities and features include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free 24-hour coffee service, wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby, pet friendly hotel. The Executive section has upgraded amenities and speakerphones. Pet charge of 10.00/night per pet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies

Nearby points of interest

  • Yale Bowl: 2 mi
  • Payne Whitney Gym: 3 mi
  • Yale University: 3.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Conference Center

Overall score

1.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 17
Amenities:
1.4
Room cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2.3
Value:
2.1

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed 45
Business
Ma
Sep 26, 2012

Econo Conference center

Check-in staff was rude(short/abrupt). Breakfast offered only carbs cheerios ,toast. Coffee was good. Morning staff was pleasant. Appears that the facility is being re-habbed. Probably should be avoided until repairs are complete. Bathroom was very old with layers of caulk and paint splattered around. Door did not close enough for dead bolt to be locked Not a safe feeling place,Highway noise was loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jun 9, 2011

Good for a business trip

If you're a business traveler to the New Haven area or only there for a quick stay this hotel is great. It's affordable and conveniently located along the Wilbur Cross Pkwy which gives you easy access to the northern suburbs and I-91/95. It's also a short drive to downtown New Haven. It's no frills for sure but it gets the job done. Pool is nothing special, but it's cleaned and maintained well. If you're looking for lots of amenities, this is not the place to stay but otherwise it's quiet and serviceable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ct
Sep 25, 2009

Bug Central

As someone who has traveled around the world and been exposed to many elements and varieties of lodging THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE WORST EVER!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aggrivated
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 17, 2009

ABSOLUTELY horrendous !! DONT STAY HERE

This experience was horrible. When i walked into my room, the carpets were disgusting. I had to walk around with my shoes on the whole time. The tiles were green, the toilet was red, when i pulled down my bed cover it looked as though there was blood on the sheets. I stripped the bed and continued to the front desk for a NEW CLEAN pair of sheets. The clerk replied he wouldnt give me clean sheets because the desk was closed. Rest assured, I will never stay here again!! And neither should you. I only gave one star for each category beause i was required..If left up to me i would put negative. Talk about a roach motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashua
Jun 22, 2008

Avoid Like the Plague

The Econo Lodge has been good for me in other places throughout the country. The New Haven Econo Lodge though should be avoided at ALL costs. It is in a very sketchy neighborhood where the local police like to camp out nearby. When I came in, I noticed that the grounds were covered in litter. Not only in the parking lot but at the DOOR! I came in and you could tell you made a mistake. The hotel staff could barely speak English. I could hardly understand what I was getting for a room. When I got to the hallway of my room I could smell nothing but paint. It had to have been painted by the staff because there was paint all over the place and well done. I entered the room and the room was the JFK suite. It was not a suite... it was in fact the smallest hotel room ever seen! The air conditioner could not keep the room cold so it was sweltering. The light in the bathroom was flickering, the toilet was running while I walked into the room. The pool...had no water and given the track record of the hotel would probably not have been swimable. Long story short...after two nights, I was GLAD to be leaving this disaster and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Avoid it at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Jun 11, 2008

Disappointed

This was the cheapest hotel in the New Haven area, so I didn't expect luxury by any means. But it was closest to my destination outside of New Haven (in Bethany), so I took it. When I arrived, the room key card to my room didn't work--which meant the room was totally locked. They asked me if I would switch to an upstairs room (meaning I'd have to carry, as a pregnant woman, my heavy suitcase up a floor of stairs). I of course said no and finally I got something else, but it took a while. (Most of the rooms are for smoking, and I wanted a non-smoking room.) The room I did get was not unclean, but a lot of the furniture, carpet, and upholstery looked and felt as though it hadn't been changed or properly cleaned since 1980. The air conditioner was rigged into the window with plywood boards surrounding it. The bathroom was clean, but it seemed it hadn't been painted or updated with new fixtures and tiles for nearly 30 years. The one good thing was that the sheets seemed clean. The 2 nights I spent in the hotel were just a little disconcerting--I joked with my associates that I was staying at the Bates Motel. The hotel is not meant for business travelers nor for tourists. All in all I felt I actually paid TOO MUCH for the room. In fact, I'm guessing that most of the hotel clients, who seemed to live there, were not paying nearly that much... The staff was nice enough, though I didn't interact with them really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There's a Right Aid pharmacy nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

The Econ Lodge Conference ...

The Econ Lodge Conference Center, New Haven Ct, was not at all what I expected. The Hotel was in disrepair and in bad need of painting. When it was last painted they did not bother to scrape off the old paint build up. I was thankful that it was not the winter in Ct., because the gaps around the room door would not have kept out the wind. If my stay would have been for more than one night I would have canceled my reservation and slept in my car. They say you get what you pay for, I didn't pay very much so I suppose I should not have expected very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 1, 2007

yale football fan

clean comfortable room at a good price.good location for a visit to yale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

a nice spopping area about a mile away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top