$56 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Econo Lodge Conference Center

2 stars
100 Pond Lily Ave., New Haven, CT 06525
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.8
out of 5
16 reviews
Great location for travel to airport

Great location for airport. The staff were excellent. And the breakfast was great. The room was... See full review

  • TD Boat
  • Sep 4, 2011
yale football fan

clean comfortable room at a good price.good location for a visit to yale. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 1, 2007
The Econo Lodge Conference Center hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95, four miles from Yale University and two miles from Southern Connecticut State University. This New Haven hotel is close to the University of New Haven, Quinnipiac University and the Peabody Museum of Natural History. The Tweed-New Haven Airport is 10 miles away. Hotel amenities and features include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free 24-hour coffee service, wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby, pet friendly hotel. The Executive section has upgraded amenities and speakerphones. Pet charge of 10.00/night per pet.

Hotel Map

41.3409 -72.9746
Nearby airports
New Haven Arpt., (HVN), 10.00, MI, W; Bradley Int'l. Airport, (BDL), 40.00, MI, N; La Guardia Int'l Airport, (LGA), 50.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, 3 M. Yale Univ.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
In room movies

Nearby points of interest

  • Yale Bowl: 2 mi
  • Payne Whitney Gym: 3 mi
  • Yale University: 3.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Conference Center

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
1.8
Room cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.4

19% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chica chica
some were
Oct 17, 2011

disapointing

not good at all -tub in the bathroom not clean ni-the smell in the room nasty fly in the room the outlets no good was terrible in the breakfast area toast not working,not milk how they can call continental breakfast to that ? very bad experience i won't come back n was $70 a night n was a almost $70.00 a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
odinsbeard
Rio Vista, CA
Nov 28, 2011

cheap does not equal good value

This hotel should get zero stars. It really is awful. It might be inexpensive (cheap), but in this case, you still don't get what you pay for. The baseboards were coming off the walls, the tub and other bathroom fixtures were worn and dirty, the heat would either stay on and cook you or stay off and freeze you. There was no shampoo, soap or tissue. The door looked like it had been broken into. It was so bad that even though we had pre-paid for a week, we left after one night. Just awful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashua
Jun 22, 2008

Avoid Like the Plague

The Econo Lodge has been good for me in other places throughout the country. The New Haven Econo Lodge though should be avoided at ALL costs. It is in a very sketchy neighborhood where the local police like to camp out nearby. When I came in, I noticed that the grounds were covered in litter. Not only in the parking lot but at the DOOR! I came in and you could tell you made a mistake. The hotel staff could barely speak English. I could hardly understand what I was getting for a room. When I got to the hallway of my room I could smell nothing but paint. It had to have been painted by the staff because there was paint all over the place and well done. I entered the room and the room was the JFK suite. It was not a suite... it was in fact the smallest hotel room ever seen! The air conditioner could not keep the room cold so it was sweltering. The light in the bathroom was flickering, the toilet was running while I walked into the room. The pool...had no water and given the track record of the hotel would probably not have been swimable. Long story short...after two nights, I was GLAD to be leaving this disaster and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Avoid it at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ct
Sep 25, 2009

Bug Central

As someone who has traveled around the world and been exposed to many elements and varieties of lodging THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE WORST EVER!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aggrivated
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 17, 2009

ABSOLUTELY horrendous !! DONT STAY HERE

This experience was horrible. When i walked into my room, the carpets were disgusting. I had to walk around with my shoes on the whole time. The tiles were green, the toilet was red, when i pulled down my bed cover it looked as though there was blood on the sheets. I stripped the bed and continued to the front desk for a NEW CLEAN pair of sheets. The clerk replied he wouldnt give me clean sheets because the desk was closed. Rest assured, I will never stay here again!! And neither should you. I only gave one star for each category beause i was required..If left up to me i would put negative. Talk about a roach motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Haven, CT
Jan 11, 2011

No Bueno

Dark, cold room. Stained sheets, no clock, no phone. Key card didn't work. Only one way in or out, and you must be buzzed out and in. This was the better room. The first room looked like it had bullet holes in the wall, the lights were ripped out and the heater sounded like a barge.I slept less than 2 hours that night, and I had been up all night the night before. Abandon all hope ye who stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

BAR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2008

The Econ Lodge Conference ...

The Econ Lodge Conference Center, New Haven Ct, was not at all what I expected. The Hotel was in disrepair and in bad need of painting. When it was last painted they did not bother to scrape off the old paint build up. I was thankful that it was not the winter in Ct., because the gaps around the room door would not have kept out the wind. If my stay would have been for more than one night I would have canceled my reservation and slept in my car. They say you get what you pay for, I didn't pay very much so I suppose I should not have expected very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed 45
Business
Ma
Sep 26, 2012

Econo Conference center

Check-in staff was rude(short/abrupt). Breakfast offered only carbs cheerios ,toast. Coffee was good. Morning staff was pleasant. Appears that the facility is being re-habbed. Probably should be avoided until repairs are complete. Bathroom was very old with layers of caulk and paint splattered around. Door did not close enough for dead bolt to be locked Not a safe feeling place,Highway noise was loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
easy1
warwick ri
Apr 17, 2013

overnight to visit yale art museum

no pool like advertised. rooms had an odor. had to be buzzed into front desk. continental breakfast was coffee and english muffin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Conference Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Jun 11, 2008

Disappointed

This was the cheapest hotel in the New Haven area, so I didn't expect luxury by any means. But it was closest to my destination outside of New Haven (in Bethany), so I took it. When I arrived, the room key card to my room didn't work--which meant the room was totally locked. They asked me if I would switch to an upstairs room (meaning I'd have to carry, as a pregnant woman, my heavy suitcase up a floor of stairs). I of course said no and finally I got something else, but it took a while. (Most of the rooms are for smoking, and I wanted a non-smoking room.) The room I did get was not unclean, but a lot of the furniture, carpet, and upholstery looked and felt as though it hadn't been changed or properly cleaned since 1980. The air conditioner was rigged into the window with plywood boards surrounding it. The bathroom was clean, but it seemed it hadn't been painted or updated with new fixtures and tiles for nearly 30 years. The one good thing was that the sheets seemed clean. The 2 nights I spent in the hotel were just a little disconcerting--I joked with my associates that I was staying at the Bates Motel. The hotel is not meant for business travelers nor for tourists. All in all I felt I actually paid TOO MUCH for the room. In fact, I'm guessing that most of the hotel clients, who seemed to live there, were not paying nearly that much... The staff was nice enough, though I didn't interact with them really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

There's a Right Aid pharmacy nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top