$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
440 ASYLUM STREET, HARTFORD, CT 06103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
57 reviews
good enough

centrally located for good highway access. not many restaurants around. everything else was OK... See full review

  • travelermike2013
  • Oct 8, 2013
Great!

The staff was absolutely amazing. They were kind, helpful, and always had a smile on their face.... See full review

  • Kello81
  • Jul 22, 2013
Scenic views of the Capitol and free Wi-Fi from downtown Hartford hotel
Business travelers and visitors arriving in Hartford by bus or train find the clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Hartford – Downtown just steps from Hartford Union Station. Across from Bushnell Park, some of the newly-renovated guest rooms feature views of the park and the capitol building. In addition to the fitness center and free Wi-Fi, the hotel pleases guests with a free breakfast each morning. Enjoy hot food items and signature cinnamon rolls served warm. The central downtown location is an easy walk to restaurants and businesses.

 

Highlights
  • Complimentary expanded hot breakfast buffet
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Fitness center
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)

 

Location
Find fine dining at award-winning restaurants, nightlife-style lounges, and a sports bar and grill within the blocks surrounding the Holiday Inn Express Hartford – Downtown. Easily accessed from interstates 91 and 84, the hotel has a convenient downtown location in the "Insurance Capital."

 

Rooms
Choose from 96 guest rooms with comfortable furnishings and free Wi-Fi at the Holiday Inn Express Hartford – Downtown. The coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator in each room provide convenience. Get some work done at the desk or lie in bed and flip through the cable channels. Request a room on an upper floor with a good view of the Connecticut State Capital Building at the end of Bushnell Park.

 

Features
Self parking is available for guests of the Holiday Inn Express Hartford – Downtown (fees apply). Also on site, read free newspapers, clean some clothes at the guest laundry facility and relax in the second floor lounge. Guests get plenty of exercise walking the city blocks outside the front door, but the fitness center offers treadmills, one Bike, one elliptical machine and a three-station weight machine for those who prefer a more structured workout.

 

Transportation
  • Bradley International Airport (15.6 mi/25.1 km)
  • One block to buses and trains at Hartford Union Station

 

Attractions
  • Bushnell Theater (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Wadsworth Atheneum Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Connecticut Science Center (0.7 mi/1 km)
  • Connecticut Convention Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mark Twain House & Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Historic Wethersfield (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Dinosaur State Park (10.4 mi/16.8 km)
  • Ski Sundown (21.1 mi/33.9 km)
  • Six Flags New England (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
  • Springfield, Mass. (26.7 mi/43 km)

 

Business
  • Free wireless Internet access in guest rooms
  • Business center with fax, printing and copy services (fees apply)
  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 70 people

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.7674 -72.6774
Nearby airports
Bradley International Airport, (BDL), 13.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • XL Center: 0.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stepthrough
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 14, 2013

Clean and functional

This hotel is nothing to write home about. Tiny lobby, small rooms, the furniture has seen better days. However, it was actually cleaner than the luxury hotels I've stayed at recently and there were fewer maintenance or housekeeping issues. Hotel prices in Hartford are insane, but this was moderately affordable. The location was great - restaurants, buses, taxis, trains all within a few blocks. The continental breakfast was edible, although there were no other sources of food on site - don't arrive late without dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelermike2013
portland, oregon
Oct 8, 2013

good enough

centrally located for good highway access. not many restaurants around. everything else was OK except the WiFi. it was so slow as to be useless most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

highway access is close

Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John Gymnast
Boston, MA
Sep 3, 2013

Moldy smelly rooms

I was attending a concert and I stayed for one night, the first room they gave me 603 reeked of mold. The air conditioner was on when I arrived to the room and the smell hit me as soon as I opened the door. I tried to open the windows but they do not ope. I switched rooms to 616 and that one smelled too but wasn't as bad. They said it was probably the air conditioners since it had rained. If that's the case then they need to be cleaned! The hair dryer in the second room had a bunch of hairs coming out of it and hair stuck to the wall around it. If I was staying a second night I would have switched hotels. My room had a room next to it and our doors were off the corner from each other. They had people coming and going all night and their door slammed every time. When will hotels get soft closing doors? The bed sheets felt like sand paper. All in all this felt like low income housing more than a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kello81
Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Jul 22, 2013

Great!

The staff was absolutely amazing. They were kind, helpful, and always had a smile on their face. The complimentary breakfast was well stocked with something for everyone. The hotel is centrally located and it is easy to get walk to many of Hartford's restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Padre II
Business
Duncannon PA
Apr 23, 2013

Friendly and professional

I arrived relatively late and found the "parking attendant" to be extremely helpful and friendly. He told me the way the "system worked" and gave simple clear directions about how to find the lobby. I went into the lobby to register and the woman behind the counter was extremely friendly, helpful, and professional. I asked for directions to a specific location and although she did not immediately know how to direct me, she took the time to find out. The next morning was marvelous. I was there for a funeral of a priest with whom I attended seminary. Not only did Lisa (now behind the counter) give me detailed directions, she offered to take me to the Cathedral at no charge. She was very gracious and offered great hospitality. The room was small be more than adequate. It faced the Capitol and the park on the 7th floor. Marvelous view. And the breakfast was ready to go promptly at 6:30 a.m. and it was delicious. I really enjoyed my stay. Hartford is a beautiful city with great architechure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irpboro
Business
Peterborough, NH
Feb 3, 2013

Easy to find and close by

The hotel was right off the highway. It was so close to the exit, I drove right by it the first time and had to circle around to get back to it. It was close to my work in Hartford. Receptionist was pleasant and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allan CA
Business
Los angeles, Ca
Dec 9, 2012

No fridge

Rooms has no fridge and bathroom has a strong bleach smell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tia Osa
Cary, NC
May 1, 2012

Univ of Hartford Trip

Had a very pleasant experience at the hotel. The staff was very knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Juan08
Hartford, CT, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Just stayed for the weekend

We arrived on a Saturday night and checked out Tuesday morning. No Hassle. No calling at the reception for anything that is not working.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express HARTFORD - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DeltaD
Milton, MA, USA
Feb 12, 2012

sketchy location and very noisy

Location was definitely close to everything but it was very sketchy after hours. Was unable to get sleep from midnight until 2:30 due to street noise, sirens and crowds emptying out of bars. Not a very comforting feeling staying there. Front desk staff excellent. Food staff for breakfast horrible!! Unfriendly and unhelpful when I asked if food would be replenished as there was no more hot food at 8:30am. Would NEVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top