$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Super 8 Groton

2 stars
173 Rt 12, Groton, CT 06340-3432
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
83 reviews
Great location for both casinos.

Pretty good and I had a good time. Thanks. Frank . See full review

  • Fnico
  • Dec 30, 2013
Great!

Great prices for a place to crash after the casino See full review

  • KevinW
  • Mar 10, 2014
Great rates and a free breakfast near the Groton Submarine Base
The Super 8 Motel Groton/Foxwoods/Mohegan Sun is only three miles from the Groton Submarine base. Foxwoods Resort and Casino and Mohegan Sun are each only about 20 minutes from the hotel and offer endless entertainment with shopping, dining and gaming. Guests enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast each morning and free high-speed Internet access from all guest rooms and suites. Ask at the front desk about complimentary passes to close-by Power House Gym. Nearby restaurants include Russell's House of Ribs, the Spot Cafe, and the Gridlock Grille.
Highlights
  • Large vehicle parking available
  • Close to Groton Submarine Base
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Rooms
All guest rooms and suites at Super 8 Motel Groton/Foxwoods/Mohegan Sun include standard amenities such as a television with movie channels. Nice extras include complimentary high-speed Internet access, a free SuperStart breakfast each morning, and a microwave and a refrigerator in all rooms. Reserve a suite for additional space and a larger bed.
Features

Convenient to the Groton Submarine Base and not far from two of the largest casinos in the world, the Super 8 Motel Groton/Foxwoods/Mohegan Sun is a great choice for budget travelers visiting the area. Enjoy a SuperStart breakfast on the house each morning or venture out to the nearby restaurants for a variety of culinary options. Guests are invited to work out at the nearby Power House Gym, so they should ask for complimentary passes at the hotel reception desk. There is plenty of free parking with reserved spaces for recreational vehicles, buses and trucks.

 

After settling in at the Super 8 Motel Groton/Foxwoods/Mohegan Sun, check out the action at Foxwoods Resort and Casino or Mohegan Sun. Both offer an impressive display of modern entertainment options, from shopping and dining to gaming and theater. If the history of New England is more appealing, visit Olde Mistick Village where visitors are transported to life in the early 1700s, with dozens of shops and stores to browse. The Essex steam train and riverboat is another fun option for learning about the history of New England.
Transportation
  • Bradley International Airport (50 mi/80 km)
  • LaGuardia International Airport (102 mi/164 km)
Attractions
  • Mystic Aquarium (8 mi/13 km)
  • Olde Mistick Village (8 mi/ 13 km)
  • Foxwoods Resort and Casino (9 mi/14 km)
  • Mohegan Sun (10 mi/16 km)
  • Essex Steam Train and Riverboat Ride (17 mi/27 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

41.3672 -72.0704
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Groton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Groton

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacationer 8282012
Tampa, FL
Sep 6, 2014

Beware, should have read the reviews

From the start, this hotel was hard to get to. Off the interstate, it was not easy to navigate to the location. When we arrived, there were taxis dropping off what appeared to be undesirables at this location, the type that needs the room for an hour or less. Then, when we did get into the room, pulled down the sheets, they were filled with someone's hair. It looked like the housekeeper just made the bed. When we went to the desk, we were first told "what would you like me to do about it" was told there was no other rooms available. The registration person offered new sheets which we took and had to clean our own room. Security lacked, the lock on the room window could be opened from the outside, or did not lock. There was a piece of wood that was the window "lock". In the morning, the cleaning staff was smoking in the hallway near the "non-smoking" rooms, which added to the terrible experience. This was the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel, and will be contacting management about the stay. All I can say, is that this is a terrible hotel/motel and unless they changed, no one should stay here unless there is no choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go somewhere else!

Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AAPP
Boston
Aug 18, 2014

weekend getaway

hallway had a bad smell. People being loud in the hallway at 2am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Holiday1
1 Same City
Jul 21, 2014

Great for Casino overnite

This was a perfect place to stay over nite . It is very close to Mohegan. I will say that it is very dated, but clean. Beds are good for sleeping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
birkebabe
Highland Mills, NY
Jul 15, 2014

Family trip to Groton

Receptionist was friendly and helpful with directions to our final destination. Beds for two grown adults were small. No shower cap available. Continental breakfast selections were lacking...included raisin bran cereal and fruit loops, (could have been plain cornflakes or cheerios), no rolls or bagels/cream cheese, would have liked yogurt or fruit. Utensils, napkins and other assorted amenities were not maintained for the number of people coming into the room at the same time. No instructions were available on how to use the waffle machine. Compared to other hotels stayed at, this one needs a little attention/modification.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Picky Lee
Queens, New York.
Jul 8, 2014

Average level motel

Room is clean. Stairway is not maintained, the corners are filled with junks, dust, and dirt. There is no security door at each side entrance. Breakfast is lousy, just waffles and coffee, nothing else. I do not recommend this motel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Super Kmart

Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJ TRAVEL LOCATOR
rhode island
Jun 28, 2014

great location close to all the attractions

the desk staff was great very helpful. The location gave us easy access to restaurants from fast foods to sit down full service restaurants. And seconds away from major route to go anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

alot of places really close and good variety

Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BOBMERCU
Mass.
May 18, 2014

Not bad for the money

Was only looking for a place to crash after going to a concert and the heading to the casino next morning. Room was clean,backside of bed spread was stained. Exhaust fan in bath was loud and lights didnt work quite right in there, but overall if you just need a place to sleep it cant be beat. Had continental breakfast for free which was good. Place was clean, had juice, cofee, cereal, waffles, danish and toast. So for under 50 bucks I had a room and breakfast for 2.....not the best, but still pretty decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ray Ray S.
N.Y. N.Y.
Apr 19, 2014

What a horror!

I doubt this sight has negative star ratings. Started off with waiting 15 minutes before anyone came to the front desk, even with me calling 12 times. The bed comforter had cigarette burns on them. The room had a weird smell,and so i wanted to check for bedbugs...none...I think. The only plus was, there's food in the morning, not really a breakfast, but some food. I would not recommend this place to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KevinW
New Milford, Ct
Mar 10, 2014

Great!

Great prices for a place to crash after the casino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 Groton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CupcakerCat
Springfield
Feb 10, 2014

Mediocre

This entire hotel and its property need a makeover. Here is a short version of our stay.... There was trash strewn about the sidewalk leading to the main door. The door was covered with smears and fingerprints. The check-in was easy and the man behind the counter was pleasant. When we stepped into the elevator we saw cigarette burn marks on the carpeting. The inside of the door had "METH" across it. The hallway to our room was clean. Our room was basically clean other than the clump of hair (wiry and probably not from someone's head) on the floor next to the trash can. The continental breakfast is better than other hotels we've stayed in. All-in-all the hotel isn't terrible - it just needs a good amount of updating . You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search