$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 6, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Ethan Allen Hotel

3 stars
21 Lake Ave Extension, Danbury, CT 06811
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
30 reviews
Never Disapointed!

I found myself needing to stay in town overnight because of construction in my home. The project... See full review

  • Mom Likes Me Best
  • Nov 23, 2014
Quick Wedding Trip

I was attending a wedding in Ridgefield and by the time I was sure I could get the time off from... See full review

  • CCJill
  • Aug 25, 2014
Elegant Danbury hotel with individually decorated rooms
The elegant Danbury Ethan Allen Hotel has been refurbished with finely crafted Ethan Allen furnishings. Surrounded by picturesque Connecticut scenery with hiking and wine trails, it is close to Danbury antique stores and the Danbury Fair Mall. The natural light solarium restaurant offers an elegant breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch, with limited hour room service. There is a fitness center, outdoor pool and business facilities. Individually decorated guest rooms at the Ethan Allen Hotel overlook the manicured gardens or courtyard.
Highlights
  • Refurbished with fine crafted Ethan Allen furniture
  • Outdoor pool
  • Solarium dining room
Rooms
The refurbished Ethan Allen Hotel features 193 spacious guest rooms and suites on six floors with pool or courtyard views. They are individually decorated with finely crafted Ethan Allen furniture and decor, and most offer comfortable living areas with a second television. Microwaves and refrigerators are available (fees apply). There is complimentary Wi-Fi.
Features
The full-service, 3 -star Ethan Allen Hotel in offers elegant, classical New England accommodation close to corporate offices and historic Danbury attractions. The hotel has been refurbished with fine crafted Ethan Allen furniture, and is surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens. Guests are welcomed in an opulent lobby, work out at the fitness center or relax at the sparkling outdoor pool. The brightly lit solarium restaurant offers breakfast, lunch dinner and brunch, or there is a wide range of nearby restaurants. The Ethan Allen Hotel is surrounded by hiking trails, antique dealers, while the Connecticut Wine Trail and famous Connecticut fall foliage are easily accessible. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the nearby golf, kayaking, skiing, boating, horse riding and other activities, while shoppers head for the Danbury Fair Mall. There is an on-site gift shop/newsstand, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and a fireplace in the lobby. On-site parking is complimentary.
Transportation
  • Danbury Municipal Airport (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Danbury Metro North (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Tweed New Haven Airport (40 mi/65 km)
  • New York LaGuardia Airport (47 mi/76 km)
Attractions
  • Danbury Fair Mall (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Candlewood Lake (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
  • Danbury Railroad Museum (2 mi/3.3 km/)
  • Richter Park Golf Course (3.4 mi/5.5 km/)
Business
  • A 24-hour business center
  • Offers 21 flexible meeting spaces that hold 10-680
  • Banquet facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ethan Allen Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Ethan Allen Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Some 1 King bed with double pull-out sofa.
Standard
Standard - Each room includes two double beds with an Ethan Allen Supreme Comfort mattress. High-speed Internet connections that will help you stay in touch and be productive while traveling.
Standard
2 Double Beds or 1 King Bed some 2 dble beds with double pull out sofa.
Suite
Deluxe King Suite - King size bed with separate sitting area with queen size pull out sofa bed and desk. Both bedroom and sitting area have televisions. Room has refrigerator upscale amenities including robe and slippers.
Suite
Double Suite - Two double beds with separate sitting area featuring a twin size pull out sofa bed chair second television and phone work desk and Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities. All rooms feature legendary Ethan Allen furnishings and decor.
Suite
King Suite - King bed. Full sofa bed. TV. The sitting area is perfect for small business get-togethers or for relaxing with family and friends.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Video checkout
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Projector
White board
Conference suite
Easel
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Trouser press

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Ethan Allen Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington, VA
Jun 9, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Very comfortable, clean, pleasant hotel. Enjoyed the food and the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

food was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Likes Me Best
Business
Danbury Ct
Nov 23, 2014

Never Disapointed!

I found myself needing to stay in town overnight because of construction in my home. The project wasn't going well and staying at the Ethan Allen made everything better. The bed was truly heavenly and the facility itself is just beautiful. I was very tired, frustrated and hungry. My room and room service was absolutely fantastic. Thank you for making my a bad day better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ethan Allen has its own restaurant, Fairfields. The meal was wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fearlessbleater
Business
New York, NY
Nov 17, 2014

Incredible Comfort!

We were only in town for one night (unfortunately for a funeral). However, the accommodations at the Ethan Allen Hotel were a great value for the price - especially on a Saturday night when hotels have a tendency to over-inflate their prices! The room and bathroom were very clean and the toiletries offered are lovely. We had a king suite which had two TVs, a pull-out couch and a Keurig coffee maker. The hotel bar was pretty lively but still pretty chill. Overall a really lovely hotel experience. I will note the absolute BEST thing about the hotel was that it has THE MOST COMFORTABLE PILLOWS EVER! We actually inquired at the front desk about purchasing them. The bed was also incredibly comfortable. Way to go on that front, Ethan Allen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the hotel brunch. The buffet-style spread is a little pricey for the overall quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juleschill
Business
New York
Oct 3, 2014

Great Stay

We were really impressed with the hotel's high standards and quality of room's. The reception were really friendly and overly helpful with advice on locations to visit in the area. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel food is awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimTheGuy
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 1, 2014

OK for a one night stay for business

Hotel was average but clean. Reasonably quiet and close to I 84.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CCJill
Business
Cape Cod
Aug 25, 2014

Quick Wedding Trip

I was attending a wedding in Ridgefield and by the time I was sure I could get the time off from work, the hotel the rest of the wedding guests were The location was great and the price very reasonable. I hit traffic on my way and was running very late. The front desk clerk, a young man in his early 20's, was cheerful and friendly when I checked in, instantly knocking the stress down a bit. I got to my room and ordered a sandwich from room service-(the person who answered the phone was also extremely cheerful and helpful)----which was delicious----and delivered quickly by another friendly, smiling employee. The same young man from the front desk, along with an equally nice young lady---called a cab for me. Upon returning from the wedding, I was greeted by the young woman who asked how the wedding was....The personal attention was incredible! Comfy bed and a good nights sleep! It has a charming outdoor pool that I saw but didn't get the chance to use. Great job all around to the staff! I will definitely stay here again if I'm in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe in NYC
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 12, 2014

action-packed & relaxing getaway

My wife and I stayed two nights for a 3-day weekend. The room was nicely furnished, clean, and comfortable. The bed was wonderful and neither of us had problems sleeping. We didn't get to explore the hotel much as we had a full itinerary outside. Had I had more time and energy, I would probably have taken a dip in the pool. A car is a must in the area. We rented one. The area is pretty much countryside. There are beautiful views. We checked out a couple of wineries. Liked the town of New Milford and checked out a couple of organic places. Kent Falls State Park was a worthwhile stop, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A rental car company is just a 3-minute drive from the hotel, and about 10 minutes to the Metro North station at Danbury. However, if we return, we would rent the car at South Norwalk, which is much closer to the train station at Darien, then drive to Danbury (about 30 minutes). Darien is closer to NYC and will probably not be affected by Metro North track work.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexasLacrosseDad
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 10, 2014

Ethan Allen Hotel

I just returned from a great stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel. This is an older hotel but has had enough "lipstick" put on it that you forget it's actual age. The rooms and lobby are tastefully decorated. Everything in the room functioned properly. The location was perfect for me. The lounge was great with half price drinks and apps 5-7. I did not eat there so can't comment. Tried the workout room which was adequate but the treadmill belt slipped a lot and needs attention to prevent injury. Overall a very good experience. I left with no big complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm Janet
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 17, 2014

Family

Staff great Restaurant staff were very helpful Bar drinks great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mhs515
Business
Boston, MA
May 26, 2014

Weekend night away

Everything was perfect, room was clean, quiet. It was perfect getaway. Will be returning as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EELL
Business
Miami, FL
May 13, 2014

Good experience

The hotel is very good only the room a little too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Goulash Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top