$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Sebastian - Vail

4 stars
View map of 16 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sebastian - Vail

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jan 28, 2010

Ski vacation

The hotel was nice and clean. Ski lifts are about a 5-10 min walk away. The restaurant in the hotel was just average for the price. For $18 the VERY small breakfast buffet was not worth it. There are 3 small hot tubs and one small heated pool that are nice after a long day on the slopes. We had an upgraded (deluxe) room that was supposed to have a view of the mountain, but only had a view of the building in front of us. There is also contruction next to the hotel that got quite noisy in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
madskilz
Business
chicago
Jan 12, 2010

hotel is a dorm room

This hotel was a rip-off. Let me start by saying that I like paying for nice things but this place price gauges. They charged $400 a night for a tiny tiny hotel room, smaller than that offered by motels. In addition they charge 20-30/day for valet parking which is the only parking option. I would not recommend staying at this place if your looking for a hotel spot - this may be better if you can rent a condo there from an owner. The outdoor pool is very nice and the location is in vail village and is walking distance to the vail slopes but it is not exactly slopeside but more of a central location between vail village and lionshead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Arrive early and you can use your boarding pass as a voucher for a free lift ticket on the day you arrive. The slopes are a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mexico city
Dec 23, 2009

very nice.

the only thing i could complain about is that breakfast was not included, as per the advertisement. other than that everything was very nice. the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the location is excellent. highly recommended - would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

'saffire' and 'up the creek' are both excellent. didn't particularly care for the 'swiss chalet' which is right across the street from the plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Skier
Business
Columbus, OH
Dec 14, 2009

Great Hotel w/some minor issues

The Plaza is a very nice hotel in a great location. Vail Village is a very short walk and the bus stop is right out the back door (and just steps from the ski valet). You can easily walk to the Vista Bahn, but we opted to take the bus to the Eagle Bahn Gondola in Lionshead, which was just 2 stops and about 5 minutes. The rooms were very well appointed with oversized showerheads, plenty of sink space, comfortable bed and linens, LCD TV, etc. It was also extremely quiet. We did not hear a single noise the entire time we were in the room. Additionally, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially the ski valet, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. We also got massages at the spa, both of which were enjoyable. The two drawbacks to our stay were the quality of the room-service food and the problems we experienced with the hot tubs. We ordered an "asiago cheese dip" which I expected would be a creamy, bubbly dip but ended up being a cup of artichokes with some cheese mixed in. The description was a little misleading. We also got the hummus trio and all three of the spreads were subpar, and one was virtually inedible. Very disappointing. Finally, our last night we decided to use the hot tubs on the outdoor deck. One of the three tubs was closed, and the other two were full, so we had to wait. When we finally got in one of the tubs (mind you it was 30 degrees out), it wasn't very hot. Mid-way through our soak, the jets started shooting icy cold water into the tub until it was no more than a heated pool. The jets then got hot again, but then cold a second time. In all, the hot tub never got to hot-tub-temperature. They needed to be much hotter. We finally called maintenance from the poolside phone, but they didn't show up quickly as promised, so we left after 10 minutes of waiting in the lukewarm hot tub. Getting out was not a pleasant experience, which was only made worse by the fact that they ran out of towels. That said, the atmosphere would have been great had the hot tubs worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

$2 kabobs @ bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bonita Ca.
Dec 13, 2009

Great vacation.!!

A very nice place. excellent location. great prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swiss Chalet...excellent. Sweet Basil....good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 10, 2009

Nice location, but service was terrible

When we checked in, we asked if we could upgrade our room. The receptionist told us that we had the most upgraded room available. Once we arrived at the room, it was small and dark so we asked to be moved. It took awhie and some convincing, and finally we were moved to a better room with light and a balcony. It was quite dusty and it was obvious from our stay that the hotel had very few other guests. It was like a ghost town. I would recommend staying somewhere else for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Nov 19, 2009

Vail Getaway

The hotel was beautiful, friendly staff, and we really enjoyed the heated pool/ hot tub! The only thing that I disliked was that all the resturants/bars in the hotel were closed because it was off season so we were disappointed we didn't get to experience them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Been around the block
Business
Madison, WI
Oct 30, 2009

So-So

Uneven experience. Staff didn't really seem to care. It's the off season so the staff acted like they were off too. Charged for the morning paper one day and then the next day said they are always supposed to be free. Charged me for an upgrade to a noisy room due to construction. Later split the bill after I complained. Nice beds and shower and heated floors in bathroom was nice. Good location for restaurants, etc. Their spa and restaurants were closed but at other nice hotels they were open and full service. I think they want to be 5 star but as a seasoned traveler they are not. Better 5 star options in Vail and Beaver Creek.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 21, 2009

Great Value in the Heart of Vail

If you want to stay in a high-priced room for a great value, and be in the heart of downtown Vail, CO, this is the place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for a great steak restaurant within walking distance, don't miss Russel's in downtown Vail, CO.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merebear22
Business
Erie, CO
Oct 19, 2009

Beautiful property

Can tell that hotel is new. Have some kinks to work out. A lot of amenities not available during the off-season (e.g., free breakfast). In addition, should put drapes in the real estate office and in the bike, etc., storage room - they're eye sores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Montauk's - their seafood is fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top