$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Sebastian - Vail

4 stars
View map of 16 Vail Road, Vail, CO 81657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Sebastian - Vail

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ray Dorfus
Couples
Denver, CO
May 7, 2012

Great Couple Getaway

The hotel is beautiful, newer, cozy and well located to central Vail and area amenities. The staff was courteous and more than helpful in making recommendations. I would stay here again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Feb 16, 2010

Great hotel in Vail Vilage

Very courtous staff with free and very efficient valet parking and in house ski valet. Spa was very inviting. On bus line of the Village bus line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Texas
Feb 13, 2010

Vail Plaza

Dirty rooms, inconsistent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Austin, TX
Feb 10, 2010

Excellent choice in Vail

Easy walk to bars and restaurants; fairly quick walk to Vista Bahn lift. New hotel, very nice. Verandah with multiple hot tubs. We got an awesome deal [...] for this hotel so liked it even more -- regular price is a bit high. But hey, it's Vail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ore House for apres ski and Samana nearby for dancing and late-night crowd.

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 9, 2010

Good Hotel in the Village

This is a very good hotel with a great location in Vail Village. I wanted a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of everything - and it met those criteria. It does have a slightly corporate feel to it, but still charming enough to remind you that you are in a ski town. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
ny
Jan 31, 2010

Nice Spa

For a ski hotel the ski concierge was poor and not helpful. Hotel was clean but there was no makeup mirror and the lighting was poor. Spa was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Texas
Jan 28, 2010

Ski vacation

The hotel was nice and clean. Ski lifts are about a 5-10 min walk away. The restaurant in the hotel was just average for the price. For $18 the VERY small breakfast buffet was not worth it. There are 3 small hot tubs and one small heated pool that are nice after a long day on the slopes. We had an upgraded (deluxe) room that was supposed to have a view of the mountain, but only had a view of the building in front of us. There is also contruction next to the hotel that got quite noisy in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
madskilz
Couples
chicago
Jan 12, 2010

hotel is a dorm room

This hotel was a rip-off. Let me start by saying that I like paying for nice things but this place price gauges. They charged $400 a night for a tiny tiny hotel room, smaller than that offered by motels. In addition they charge 20-30/day for valet parking which is the only parking option. I would not recommend staying at this place if your looking for a hotel spot - this may be better if you can rent a condo there from an owner. The outdoor pool is very nice and the location is in vail village and is walking distance to the vail slopes but it is not exactly slopeside but more of a central location between vail village and lionshead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Arrive early and you can use your boarding pass as a voucher for a free lift ticket on the day you arrive. The slopes are a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
mexico city
Dec 23, 2009

very nice.

the only thing i could complain about is that breakfast was not included, as per the advertisement. other than that everything was very nice. the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the location is excellent. highly recommended - would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

'saffire' and 'up the creek' are both excellent. didn't particularly care for the 'swiss chalet' which is right across the street from the plaza.

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ohio Skier
Couples
Columbus, OH
Dec 14, 2009

Great Hotel w/some minor issues

The Plaza is a very nice hotel in a great location. Vail Village is a very short walk and the bus stop is right out the back door (and just steps from the ski valet). You can easily walk to the Vista Bahn, but we opted to take the bus to the Eagle Bahn Gondola in Lionshead, which was just 2 stops and about 5 minutes. The rooms were very well appointed with oversized showerheads, plenty of sink space, comfortable bed and linens, LCD TV, etc. It was also extremely quiet. We did not hear a single noise the entire time we were in the room. Additionally, the staff was friendly and helpful, especially the ski valet, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. We also got massages at the spa, both of which were enjoyable. The two drawbacks to our stay were the quality of the room-service food and the problems we experienced with the hot tubs. We ordered an "asiago cheese dip" which I expected would be a creamy, bubbly dip but ended up being a cup of artichokes with some cheese mixed in. The description was a little misleading. We also got the hummus trio and all three of the spreads were subpar, and one was virtually inedible. Very disappointing. Finally, our last night we decided to use the hot tubs on the outdoor deck. One of the three tubs was closed, and the other two were full, so we had to wait. When we finally got in one of the tubs (mind you it was 30 degrees out), it wasn't very hot. Mid-way through our soak, the jets started shooting icy cold water into the tub until it was no more than a heated pool. The jets then got hot again, but then cold a second time. In all, the hot tub never got to hot-tub-temperature. They needed to be much hotter. We finally called maintenance from the poolside phone, but they didn't show up quickly as promised, so we left after 10 minutes of waiting in the lukewarm hot tub. Getting out was not a pleasant experience, which was only made worse by the fact that they ran out of towels. That said, the atmosphere would have been great had the hot tubs worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

$2 kabobs @ bar

Review of The Sebastian - Vail

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bonita Ca.
Dec 13, 2009

Great vacation.!!

A very nice place. excellent location. great prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swiss Chalet...excellent. Sweet Basil....good

Back to menu Return to top