$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

4 stars
View map of 174 East Gore Creek Dr., Vail, CO 81657

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
42 reviews
unbeatable location, great service, and cozy hotel

They have done a great job updating the rooms. Had the deluxe king room which had two closets... See full review

  • Love2Travel109
  • Mar 16, 2015
Best Hotel Staff

I have traveled around the world for work and pleasure, and the staff at The Lodge in Vail is... See full review

  • BearsQB
  • Sep 2, 2014
The Lodge at Vail, a RockResort presents guests with luxury lodging option at the base of Vail Mountain. A full-service concierge can arrange outdoor excursions, no matter the season. A full-service spa, spacious fitness center and gourmet restaurants help guests enjoy down time. In keeping with its natural surroundings, The Lodge at Vail employs a green initiative, including recycling, serving sustainable cuisine, and resource conservation.
Dining

The Lodge at Vail, a RockResort offers guests two restaurants and a piano bar. Elway's, located in the heart of Vail Village, serves USDA steaks, fish, and delicious side dishes for dinner. A more casual option is Cucina Rustica, which serves a breakfast buffet daily, an Italian lunch and dinner menu, and complimentary apres-ski drinks each afternoon. Mickey's Bar, open evenings, offers guests a chance to relax with a drink and live piano music.

Rooms

Each of the 165 guest rooms at The Lodge at Vail sports its own decor, but all have antique armoires, personal humidifiers and premium bedding. Most rooms also boast a balcony with views and a fireplace. In-room amenities include robes and slippers, heated marble bathroom floors, wireless Internet access (fees apply) and TVs with premium cable channels. Condominiums and chalets are also available. Pet-friendly rooms are available based on availability (fees apply).

Property features

The Lodge at Vail flaunts a new spa which offers wellness and beauty treatments, all done with locally made, organic products. The spa adjoins a 24-hour fitness complex, outfitted with Life Fitness equipment and a movement studio for Pilates or yoga (fees may apply). Outdoor recreational options include a heated swimming pool, sauna and hot tubs.

Highlights
  • Outdoor heated swimming pool, four hot tubs, sauna
  • Complimentary apres-ski cocoa and cider at Cucina Rustica
  • On-mountain ski storage and rental
  • Suites offer wood-burning fireplaces and private walk-out balconies
Nearby attractions
  • Gerald R Ford Amphitheater (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Vilar Performing Arts Center (12.9 mi/20.7 km)
  • Colorado Ski Museum (13 mi/20.8 km)
Business
  • Wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • 6,000 square feet of event space
  • Event planners and gourmet catering available
Transportation
  • Eagle County Airport (35.4 mi/56.9 km)
  • Denver International Airport (121 mi/195 km)
  • Vail shuttle service available (fees apply)
Policies
  • Guest rooms and corridors of the property will undergo renovation from 13 Aug until 1 Dec. The hotel lobby will also be under renovation from 13 Aug until 21 Nov. The RockResorts Spa, fitness center, pool, restaurants and other public areas will remain open and will not be affected by the renovation.
  • All guests are responsible for paying the property's daily resort fee of $20 USD per room upon checkout. This taxable daily resort fee includes Internet access and other services and amenities to enhance your visit
  • Pet-friendly rooms are available based on availability (fees apply)
  • Parking fee is $25/day during winter and $20/day during summer

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort Rooms

Studio
Studio Rooms are individually decorated and feature a fully equipped kitchen, and a wood-burning fireplace. Studio Rooms features a Queen-Sized Murphy bed. Most Studio Rooms have a balcony; views vary.
Deluxe 3BR/2BA Condo Suite
Deluxe Three Bedroom Residence Suites are individually decorated and feature two bedrooms (bedding varies) and two bathrooms on the second level. The entry level features a third bedroom, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, living room with vaulted ceilings and floor-to-ceiling windows, wood-burning fireplace and balcony. Views vary.
2BR Condo
Two Bedroom Residences are individually decorated and feature two bedrooms (bedding varies), up to three bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, separate living area with wood-burning fireplace and balcony. Some units are multi-level and include vaulted ceilings and floor-to-ceiling windows. Views vary.
Luxury Room
Luxury Rooms, located in the Lodge's International Wing, have either a king or two queen beds and views of either Vail Mountain or The Cucina Rustica courtyard. Each features an oversized bathroom with separate tub and shower, a double vanity and marble floors.
Deluxe Room
Treat yourself to our newly renovated Deluxe guest room. Designed to inspire rest and relaxation, our sleek, modern guest rooms create a feeling of home with peaceful color tones and mountain chic decor. Each room features air conditioning and full-size bathroom with granite counter tops and marble floors. Deluxe rooms come fully equipped with state-of-the-art amenities including a Samsung smart TV, iHome docking station, USB ports, Keurig Coffee Brewer, mini-fridge, humidifier, in-room safe, plush robes and slippers and Wi-Fi. All rooms are non-smoking and views vary from beautiful mountain scenery to the iconic Vail Village and our own Pool One.
Lodge Room
Lodge Rooms are individually decorated and have either a king or two double beds. Views vary.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Cucina Rustica
Cucina Rustica offers a traditional skiers breakfast menu and apres cocktails/appetizer menu by their new outdoor fire pit. Open daily from 7:00am to 10:00am and 2:30pm to 5:30pm.
Elway's at The Lodge at Vail
The perfect place to celebrate a special milestone or simply savor a great dinner, glass of wine or cocktail, Elway's Vail is the ideal setting for any occasion. Enjoy an outstanding meal served with genuine hospitality in an environment that is uniquely Colorado.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Closing wkend dissapoint
Business
Vail Colorado
Apr 21, 2014

Not what I was expecting

Everything about this hotel was great until 1am in the middle of the night. The location was great. Amenities were exactly what we wanted. The issue though was we got the first hotel room next to the lobby. At 1am in the morning a group of old women decided to shout, scream, yell and carry on at the top of there lungs like they were in college. I was awoken out of a dead sleep. I tried calling the front desk and no one answered. Figures since there was a old lady party going on in the lobby. All I wanted was a nice relaxing wkend away with my fiancé and turns out all I got was an old lady college reunion party at 1am in the morning. For the amount of money I spent on this hotel I would have been better off at a holiday in not motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Los Angeles World Travele
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 18, 2012

Average - Could be GREAT

This location is fantastic, and the hotel needs an interior face lift. I dont mean make it "modern", but take it out of 1960. The service was not up to speed, well, for what I expected. The website, location, city, and price would have you think the service would match, but it was sub par. I hope they respond to this feedback and step it up, it should be the best hotel in Vail! Problems: I reserved a King bed and got two doubles. My remote control was broken. There is no mini bar or mini fridge. The HVAC is ancient/non existant. I only had a plug in space heater in my room. The manager was VERY NICE. The staff left something to be desired. Breakfast was good, but could me improved--the atmosphere should be warmer and maybe some light music? it's almost awkward in there. they did a great job trying to correct the problems with my reservation, I commend them for that, but it's not pleasant to have to move rooms mid trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pazzo's
Business
CO
Nov 6, 2012

Vail Lodge

It was nice but not awesome for the room. The Customer service was great all the way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 24, 2007

Friendly but needs updating

The room had low ceilings and was rather small. The bathroom was especially small and required a sliding door. The hotel in general needs total renovation. (I believe they are in the process of doing so). On the otherhand, it was a good location and the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. We had a false fire alarm which kept us in the lobby for a period of time but everyone was very nice. Until they redo the hotel, we wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining, and other attractions are all very close by.

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love2Travel109
Business
North Carolina
Jan 6, 2014

Unbeatable location in Vail Village for skiing

My boyfriend and I booked the Lodge at Vail for Jan 1-5 and were considering The Sebastian or this. While the Sebastian is beautiful and modern, the location of the Lodge at Vail makes it superior in my opinion. Lugging your ski gear around can be stressful, so staying right off the mountain makes is so much better (plus they have free ski valet at the base). They upgraded us to the luxury suite for an extra $200/ night which was well worth it. It included a living room with fireplace, large balcony with heated floors, and a nice sized bathroom. The spa was phenomenal and you are able to use the spa facilities for free as a hotel guest, including the steam and spa. My only drawbacks were the a la carte breakfast (buffet was good though) because service is slow. Also, checkin took some time but I was early. Overall, will definitely stay there again during ski season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Haptic
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 25, 2014

Very Nice Place

We stayed here on a Sunday night after a day of skiing. The hotel is very nice. You can valet your car for the night for $25 and then pick it up the next day very quickly. We dropped off our bags at the front desk. They have large bathrooms for changing off of the lobby. The room we had was smallish but very nice and clean. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The hotel had a nice area outside with live music to enjoy after skiing. The location is great right off from the main gondola. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Campo de Fiori had great Italian food. It was quite busy and a touch loud so it's not good for intimate dining.

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enrique LS
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Apr 29, 2014

Incrredible location great hotel over all

I stayed just by myself and the location is unbeatable, nice room a little cramped but nice, nice bathroom, service ok, as it has a back door you can go straight to the village or gondola 1 in one minute. Needs ski valet, like other luxury hotels. Room service should go later than 22:00 hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frost Bar

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mclaud
Business
mexico city
Apr 9, 2012

excellent location

this hotel is very well located in Vail village and walking distance to the slopes, great option for skiers who want a comfortable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Elway restaurant within The Lodge at Vail provides a magnificent dining experience.

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LecyLee
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 25, 2012

Great Location

We went to The Lodge at Vail for my husband’s Birthday and we had a great time. It is a perfect location and the pool was really nice. The only thing we thought that was weird is that we got a room with a hideaway bed, with a full kitchen. It would have been great if that is something we where planning on utilizing but we would have rather had a nice bed and no kitchen. But other than that, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is right in the middle of great shopping and food locations.

Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I am going back
Business
Mexico City
Dec 18, 2012

Loved it!

The location is absolutely perfect! The only thing we didn´t like much was that there was no late room service and that the housekeeping staff didn´t re-supply the toiletries, so the last day we had ran out of shampoo, soap and bath gel. The staff was the most helpful and nice. We are definitely returning to The Lodge at Vail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take your ID with you! otherwhise you won´t be able to order any wine o beer! The Suisse Chalet was very nice.

Back to menu Return to top