Roost Lodge

1 star
1783 North Frontage Rd. West, Vail, CO 81657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
30 reviews
Simple hotel, great location, great value

There's nothing fancy about the Roost, but it's a great place if your looking for an inexpensive,... See full review

  • Traveling MHO
  • Aug 19, 2013
Great Night's Sleep

My wife and I had to make a last minute trip to Vail. First we mistakenly double booked rooms to... See full review

  • SuprSport427
  • Jun 26, 2013
Cockadoodledoo for this budget-friendly West Vail lodge

Guests can hardly miss the red-barn exterior of Roost Lodge. The hotel's location on I-70 and on Vail's free shuttle line makes it an economical, convenient lodging option near Vail. Slopes, shopping and restaurants are minutes away, as are the area's outdoor attractions. At Roost Lodge, complimentary amenities meet travelers' most basic needs: Continental breakfast, wireless Internet access and parking are all free. Roost Lodge is pet-friendly (fees apply). The rooms do not have air conditioning.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Outdoor heated swimming pool, plus sauna and hot tub
  • Located on Vail's free bus route
  • Complimentary on-site parking
  • Outdoor patio and barbecue grill area
Rooms

Roost Lodge's 72 guest rooms are comfortably furnished. Find a country feeling with crisp white walls, plaid bedspreads, two-post beds and maple furnishings. Windows open to let in fresh mountain breezes. All rooms have televisions with expanded cable channels, direct-dial phones and private bathrooms with a combination shower and tub. Larger rooms sport a refrigerator, microwave and small dining table. All rooms offer complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeepers visit rooms daily, and guests can request wake-up calls and cribs. The rooms do not have air conditioning.

Features

Roost Lodge offers basic amenities for travelers. The hotel's complimentary breakfast, served daily, includes pastries, coffee, cold cereal and juice. A lobby microwave comes in handy for quick snacks. In pleasant weather, guests can enjoy a picnic, thanks to an outdoor patio and gas barbecue grill. A spa tub, sauna and outdoor swimming pool also provide outdoor entertainment in pleasant weather. For more excitement, guests can catch Vail's free shuttle, which stops outside Roost Lodge, for quick access to ski lifts, shopping and restaurants. Roost Lodge offers free parking, including space for trucks and RVs.

Transportation
  • Eagle County Airport (42.8 mi/68.5 km)
  • Denver International Airport (122 mi/195.2 km)
  • Complimentary Vail town shuttle stop (Outside)
  • Colorado Mountain Express shuttle service (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Vail Ski Resort (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Betty Ford Alpine Gardens (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • Gerald Ford Amphitheatre (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
  • White River National Forest (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Beaver Creek Ski Resort (9.5 mi/15.2 km)
  • Vilar Performing Arts Center (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
Policies and fees

For arrivals checking in after 10 p.m., please call (970) 476-5451.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.6349 -106.4114
Area served
Vail, CO
Nearby airports
Denver International Airport Eagle Regional Airport
Area description
The Roost Lodge is located in West Vail approximately 5 minutes from the slopes , 2 blocks from restaurants and shopping. The hotel is on the free city bus route.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Roost Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Roost Lodge Rooms

Double Room
Standard guest room with two double beds, dresser, mirror, TV and private bath. TO RESERVE A PET-FRIENDLY ROOM OR FOR ARRIVALS CHECKING IN AFTER 10PM, PLEASE CONTACT 970-476-5451. Our rooms do not have air conditioning.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Roost Lodge

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
1.8
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
good deal seeker
los angeles, ca
Feb 18, 2014

great location!

average. Great location, rooms are basic, but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling MHO
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 19, 2013

Simple hotel, great location, great value

There's nothing fancy about the Roost, but it's a great place if your looking for an inexpensive, clean, simple room. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and have all the necessities. The heated pool, sauna, and hot tub are nice bonuses for the price. If there's one thing that could improve it is the continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve Flowers Photography
Arizona
Aug 18, 2013

Roost serves it's purpose.

I was returning to Phoenix from a backpacking trip near Granby Colorado. I use to live in Vail and knew the Roost would be a great place for us to clean up, sleep in a bed, and be able to show my friends a little bit of Vail. The Roost pulls this off. I wish there were a few more budget minded lodging options in the town of Vail. A couple of things to keep in mind. In the summer you will most likely sleep with the window open (no air just heat for the winter). This makes the freeway facing rooms a bit loud. The rooms have small fans that pull in that amazing mountain air and provide some good white noise. Our room faced the freeway and I slept just fine. Ask for rooms facing away from the freeway for a bit more peace in the summer however. The Roost is not luxury lodging by any stretch. But if your traveling I-70 or want to explore the Vail Valley without throwing a ton of money down on the other lodging options in town....check in at the Roost. Severing a purpose in Vail for decades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SuprSport427
Business
Grand Junctin, CO
Jun 26, 2013

Great Night's Sleep

My wife and I had to make a last minute trip to Vail. First we mistakenly double booked rooms to the hotel. One call to the lodge and they happily corrected my mistake. The rooms were dated and simple. The hotel was located next to the interstate. I expected these to maybe affect my nights stay. I was happy to discover that the room we had , had very little noise from traffic, and the beds, though old, were absolutely comfortable. We had a very good nights sleep. Since that was the purpose of the hotel in the first place, I feel for the price, especially in Vail, it was a super value. Thank you again to the staff for making our stay simple and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
j.pbod
denver co
Jun 22, 2013

Worth the Money

Under $100 a night in Vail? Not a bad room after all. Great staff, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Conference Rotarian
Business
Golden, Colorado
Apr 29, 2013

Close but dated.

It is a convenient place with lower cost, but dated, and limited amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bathroom, bath and shower worked and were hygienic, but small. for the savings compared to other local hotels, it was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wildernessdoc
baltimore, md
Nov 8, 2012

SO gross

Hair everywhere and paper thin walls and bacteria in the hot tub

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sand
Colorado Springs CO
Aug 21, 2011

What A Dump!

When we checked in with our Service Dog(Yes It Registered) we were placed in a Dog Only Room. What that apparently means is filthy carpet, no hot water and a really dingy no light environment. We were also required to place a security deposit for our service dog which is against Federal Government Regulations. Like I said,,,,,What A Dump! Do Not Stay Here...Your Car is Better. Sandy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sand
Colorado Springs CO
Aug 17, 2011

This hotel is a dump

When we checked in for our Orbitz recommended stay, they REFUSED to give us a standard room for our service dog(yes it's taged) and instead put us in a filthy DOG room. Tge carppet was so bad it marked my White Socks. We couldn't wait to get out.NO THANKS TO YOU ORBITZ..... Also...it was Dark, Dingy and didn't have hot water, when we complained the manager told us they were shuting down soon so he didn't care. GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Roost Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Jul 9, 2011

Roost Lodge in Vail, CO

Reception was very friendly and made every effort to assist us with any need. Room was not ready - lacking toilet paper and drinking cups. Pillows were thin, hard foam and most uncomfortable. Just not a hotel I would recommend. You get what you pay for and it was cheap for a hotel in Vail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top