$254 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Stanley Hotel

3 stars
View map of 333 E Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
33 reviews
Great Surprise for my Wife

This was a great experience for my wife. She has been wanting to go to the hotel for quite some... See full review

  • Eric R.
  • Jul 13, 2015
New Years getaway

Great Hotel, perfect neighborhood, close to Denver See full review

  • Dylan L.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Famous for its old world charm, The Stanley Hotel boasts spectacular views in every direction and is less than 6 miles away from Rocky Mountain National Park. Multi-million dollar renovations have restored this 138-guestroom hotel to its original grandeur. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stanley offers over 16,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space equipped with modern day amenities. Only an hour away from Denver, it is the ideal destination for your Colorado getaway. The property also offers banquet facilities, beauty salon/ hairdresser, business centre, conference facilities, gift shop, gym/ fitness facilities, Internet access-wireless, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, restaurant, room service, spa services, swimming pool-outdoor- seasonal. Pets are allowed with fee. It's a smoke-free hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stanley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Stanley Hotel Rooms

Historic Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.
Classic Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.
Manor Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Steamers Cafe
Offers Starbucks coffee, gourmet espresso drinks and fresh baked pastries.
Cascades Restaurant
Cascades Restaurant offers a relaxed and luxurious dining experience. Offering seasonal daily specials the restaurant features fine continental and regional Colorado fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Stanley Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.7

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric R.
Business
N/A
Jul 13, 2015

Great Surprise for my Wife

This was a great experience for my wife. She has been wanting to go to the hotel for quite some time. We did not plan to stay at the hotel, but while she was going on the hotel's tour I decided to surprise her with a one night stay at the hotel. The hotel front desk said that they full so I checked your site and was able to book a room for a decent price. I then waited for my wife to get done with her tour and walked her to our car, but instead of getting into our car to depart I started getting our luggage. Needless to say she was quite ecstatic. Thank you for the wonderful experience. There was one issue that we had. The Hotel did charge me separately along with your website. So I had to argue with the Hotel that your website had already charged me and that they should not be charging me separately. I am currently waiting for them to refund me for the night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brianbaler
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Aug 19, 2014

Nice Condo

1 bedroom condo was very nice and spacious. Full kitchen was convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neri C.
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 7, 2014

4th of July Weekend in the Mountains

Stayed at the Condos on the Stanley Hotel grounds. Roomy and comfortable. Condos are privately owned but managed by the Stanley. The owner of condo that we were placed in by the hotel did not want to service the outside jacuzzi, so we could not use it; sad really, it would have been a perfect day and review. The hotel has no control over things like that. Also, a surround sound speaker system was installed, but it looks as though it has never been hooked up to any entertainment appliance, so it was not operational. There were DVD movies in the condo but no DVD player. Overall, the condo was good, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking through town to get to the AirTram at Estes Park makes for a great excursion and scenic walk.

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
munchkin family
Business
Denver colorado
Mar 27, 2014

night out!

The Stanley hotel is the most incredible place to stay in at Estes Part Colorado!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandad Paul
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 12, 2013

Great getaway

This is a grand old hotel filled with memories of a more graceful bygone time. I give the restaurant food high marks for flavor and presentation. The overall experience staying in this hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bovingdon
Aug 7, 2012

Beautiful Hotel and Setting

This is a beautiful hotel in a spectacular setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but one of the things I was most looking forward to about this was swiming in the pool enjoying the wonderful mountain views. Sadly, the pool was stone cold and I was unable to get into it. During my stay, nobody braved the pool except a couple of children who didn't even stay in it long. The heat in the showers were also hit and miss. Sometimes the water was nice and hot and other times we had to have tepid showers. There are constant ghost tours which is a little disruptive but I had been forewarned about this from reading reviews before our stay. I would recommend this hotel as it is beautiful with gorgeous views of the Rockies and is a very interesting tourist attraction but I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFFFam
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2010

Disappointed

Hotel staff was indifferent, and after check-in, when I asked were to find the room, I was told "it's on the 3rd floor". I lugged my baggage and family only to find that the room didn't exist...went back down to the desk where I was told the room was in a building the was adjacent to the main hotel! Don't get me wrong, this hotel and it's location were amazing and beautiful, but for the cost of the room, one expects a little better personalized service. Also, the food and the service in the grossly expensive restaurant were just average at best. My $35 rack of elk was as tough and flavorless as shoe leather. The guest next to us at the restaurant also sent his entree back to the kitchen. We were very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan D
Business
Boulder, CO
Jun 8, 2009

The best place to stay in Estes Park

This historic hotel is a very comfortable place to stay. Great views. Nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in Hotel dining room is relatively expensive, compared to other places in Estes Park and does not have any vegetarian selection at Dinner.

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Broomfield, CO
Jun 2, 2009

Great historic hotel

Check in was rather slow. We had lunch there and I would not recommend it because of the price and the small portions. The ghost tour was very interesting, however there should have been a discount for residents.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat there.

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, OR
May 27, 2009

Great Historic Hotel

This hotel is a great choice if you like historic hotels. It cannot be compared to modern hotels with sound proofed walls and heavy entry doors with seals. It is an old hotel with quaint squeaking floorboards that need to be tread upon lightly. Guests need to respect the enjoyment of others and keep their voices low and thier children under control. When we stayed at this hotel, the other guests around us were wonderful, and consequently, we had an enjoyable time. However, we can understand how one might have a bad experience at this hotel if during the stay, the guests around them are loud and obnoxious. The bed in our room was not very comfortable, and it sagged a bit in the middle. That is our major negative complaint. We enjoyed dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent. The rooms are not air conditioned. However, we opened our windows and a breeze kept our room very comfortable. It overlooked a lovely courtyard with a waterfall fountain and we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waterfall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top