$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

The Stanley Hotel

3 stars
View map of 333 E Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
New Years getaway

Great Hotel, perfect neighborhood, close to Denver See full review

  • Dylan L.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Great Exprience

Wonderful Experience, Great views and location. Great Staff. Tip, no air-conditioning... not an... See full review

  • SWB in VA
  • Aug 13, 2014
Famous for its old world charm, The Stanley Hotel boasts spectacular views in every direction and is less than 6 miles away from Rocky Mountain National Park. Multi-million dollar renovations have restored this 138-guestroom hotel to its original grandeur. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stanley offers over 16,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space equipped with modern day amenities. Only an hour away from Denver, it is the ideal destination for your Colorado getaway. The property also offers banquet facilities, beauty salon/ hairdresser, business centre, conference facilities, gift shop, gym/ fitness facilities, Internet access-wireless, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, restaurant, room service, spa services, swimming pool-outdoor- seasonal. Pets are allowed with fee. It's a smoke-free hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stanley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Stanley Hotel Rooms

Historic Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.
Classic Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.
Manor Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Steamers Cafe
Offers Starbucks coffee, gourmet espresso drinks and fresh baked pastries.
Cascades Restaurant
Cascades Restaurant offers a relaxed and luxurious dining experience. Offering seasonal daily specials the restaurant features fine continental and regional Colorado fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Stanley Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ghlatta3
Business
Salt Lake City
Jul 26, 2011

Overpriced Tourist Trap

My wife and I booked a reservation for The Stanley and looked forward to staying in what promised to be a splendid location, but instead found that we were being charged the equivalent of the Ritz for a room that did not have AC and had an inside temperature of over 90 degrees! The bed was so soft our hands sunk in 6 inches, and the furniture was old and in bad shape. The hotel is overrun by tourist groups at every corner - loud, and has only a few young inexperienced staff running around and of little help. Truly a nightmare - we checked out less than an hour after checking in it was so bad!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MT parents
Business
MT
May 4, 2009

Great old hotel but...

Room wasn't cleaned well, curtains falling down, very loud room. We felt we were imposing on the staff to check in/out, interrupting their conversation with friends. Anyone over 16 work here? Restaurant was good, but small portions for the price. Try Mary's Lake Lodge for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Egg and I for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bovingdon
Aug 7, 2012

Beautiful Hotel and Setting

This is a beautiful hotel in a spectacular setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but one of the things I was most looking forward to about this was swiming in the pool enjoying the wonderful mountain views. Sadly, the pool was stone cold and I was unable to get into it. During my stay, nobody braved the pool except a couple of children who didn't even stay in it long. The heat in the showers were also hit and miss. Sometimes the water was nice and hot and other times we had to have tepid showers. There are constant ghost tours which is a little disruptive but I had been forewarned about this from reading reviews before our stay. I would recommend this hotel as it is beautiful with gorgeous views of the Rockies and is a very interesting tourist attraction but I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bondelev
Business
Denver
Nov 28, 2010

Needs upgrades

We have stayed at the hotel three years in a row, and as far as I can see there have been no upgrades in that time. Granted, the hotel is over 100 years old, but the bedspreads and curtains look 30 years old. That would be an easy upgrade. The carpet is old as well. We stayed in the Manor House in a standard room. (The manor house allows pets.) This is the first year that we were not upgraded to a better room. The standard rooms are very, very small, and the walls are very thin. We had families with children on both sides of us. It was our worst experience at the hotel. If you do stay here, I would recommend upgrading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the hotel food. It is OK, but WAY overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFFFam
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2010

Disappointed

Hotel staff was indifferent, and after check-in, when I asked were to find the room, I was told "it's on the 3rd floor". I lugged my baggage and family only to find that the room didn't exist...went back down to the desk where I was told the room was in a building the was adjacent to the main hotel! Don't get me wrong, this hotel and it's location were amazing and beautiful, but for the cost of the room, one expects a little better personalized service. Also, the food and the service in the grossly expensive restaurant were just average at best. My $35 rack of elk was as tough and flavorless as shoe leather. The guest next to us at the restaurant also sent his entree back to the kitchen. We were very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KTrue
Business
Denver Colorado
May 11, 2014

Great historic hotel

For such an old hotel the building and rooms are modernized just enough, clean and in great shape. The location is perfect. There is nothing nicer than waking up in a nice hotel in the mountains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Twin Owls steakhouse is a very short drive from the Stanley and was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenwood Village, CO
Jun 17, 2012

Great Old Hotel

In a perfect setting. Also enjoyed a very nice dinner in the Cascade Dining Room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandad Paul
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 12, 2013

Great getaway

This is a grand old hotel filled with memories of a more graceful bygone time. I give the restaurant food high marks for flavor and presentation. The overall experience staying in this hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GloV
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 8, 2014

Piece of mountain paradise.

This historic property offers comfort and an amazing restaurant and whiskey bar. The history is fascinating and the views are spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan D
Business
Boulder, CO
Jun 8, 2009

The best place to stay in Estes Park

This historic hotel is a very comfortable place to stay. Great views. Nice people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in Hotel dining room is relatively expensive, compared to other places in Estes Park and does not have any vegetarian selection at Dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top