$237 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Stanley Hotel

3 stars
View map of 333 E Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Stanley Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neri C.
Family
Denver, CO
Jul 7, 2014

4th of July Weekend in the Mountains

Stayed at the Condos on the Stanley Hotel grounds. Roomy and comfortable. Condos are privately owned but managed by the Stanley. The owner of condo that we were placed in by the hotel did not want to service the outside jacuzzi, so we could not use it; sad really, it would have been a perfect day and review. The hotel has no control over things like that. Also, a surround sound speaker system was installed, but it looks as though it has never been hooked up to any entertainment appliance, so it was not operational. There were DVD movies in the condo but no DVD player. Overall, the condo was good, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking through town to get to the AirTram at Estes Park makes for a great excursion and scenic walk.

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim and Susie
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2014

Stanley Lodge

We stayed at the Stanley Lodge rather than the main building. It too was built around 1910 on a smaller scale. It was quieter than the main building making it seem more appropriate for a visit to the outdoors. The views of the Rockies from the front porch were magnificent. It also provided a wonderful breakfast reminiscent of a good bed and breakfast. The Lodge has been recently refurbished and painted making it very attractive. The Lodge is not air conditioned because of the cool mountain air. This is fine with us, however we felt the Lodge could pay more attention to the ventilation in individual rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GloV
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 8, 2014

Piece of mountain paradise.

This historic property offers comfort and an amazing restaurant and whiskey bar. The history is fascinating and the views are spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KTrue
Couples
Denver Colorado
May 11, 2014

Great historic hotel

For such an old hotel the building and rooms are modernized just enough, clean and in great shape. The location is perfect. There is nothing nicer than waking up in a nice hotel in the mountains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Twin Owls steakhouse is a very short drive from the Stanley and was very good.

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
munchkin family
Family
Denver colorado
Mar 27, 2014

night out!

The Stanley hotel is the most incredible place to stay in at Estes Part Colorado!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandad Paul
Family
San Francisco, CA
Nov 12, 2013

Great getaway

This is a grand old hotel filled with memories of a more graceful bygone time. I give the restaurant food high marks for flavor and presentation. The overall experience staying in this hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
khumphrey
Couples
Morrison, CO
Sep 10, 2012

Go for the overall experience

Wonderful historic hotel centrally located with amazing views, exceptional staff, on-site restaurant with tasty menu, relaxing outdoor pool overlooking the mountains. Being a historic hotel, rooms are older but have ben updated beautifully with modern amenities. Staff is attentive and supremely helpful. Beautiful veranda overlooking the mountains where you can have a drink or just relax. Cascades restaurant has a concise but diverse menu. Lovely outdoor seating area in the back. Request The Hotel vs The Lodge for a more unique experience. Such a pleasant stay, we plan to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bovingdon
Aug 7, 2012

Beautiful Hotel and Setting

This is a beautiful hotel in a spectacular setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but one of the things I was most looking forward to about this was swiming in the pool enjoying the wonderful mountain views. Sadly, the pool was stone cold and I was unable to get into it. During my stay, nobody braved the pool except a couple of children who didn't even stay in it long. The heat in the showers were also hit and miss. Sometimes the water was nice and hot and other times we had to have tepid showers. There are constant ghost tours which is a little disruptive but I had been forewarned about this from reading reviews before our stay. I would recommend this hotel as it is beautiful with gorgeous views of the Rockies and is a very interesting tourist attraction but I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Greenwood Village, CO
Jun 17, 2012

Great Old Hotel

In a perfect setting. Also enjoyed a very nice dinner in the Cascade Dining Room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Chocolate Chip
Friends
Florissant, CO.
Aug 5, 2011

The rooms were too hot.

Since the hotel is not air conditioned, the rooms were hot and even hot in the hotel lobby and gift shop. Sitting out on the big front porch is wonderful and it is a beautiful hotel. Just couldn't sleep, since our room was too hot, even with 2 fans and the window open. I called the front desk, but they were not any help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to The Taffy Shop in town that has been opened since 1935--great taffy.

Back to menu Return to top