$220 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

The Stanley Hotel

3 stars
333 E Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Great Exprience

Wonderful Experience, Great views and location. Great Staff. Tip, no air-conditioning... not an... See full review

  • SWB in VA
  • Aug 13, 2014
night out!

The Stanley hotel is the most incredible place to stay in at Estes Part Colorado! See full review

  • munchkin family
  • Mar 27, 2014
Famous for its old world charm, The Stanley Hotel boasts spectacular views in every direction and is less than 6 miles away from Rocky Mountain National Park. Multi-million dollar renovations have restored this 138-guestroom hotel to its original grandeur. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stanley offers over 16,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space equipped with modern day amenities. Only an hour away from Denver, it is the ideal destination for your Colorado getaway. The property also offers banquet facilities, beauty salon/ hairdresser, business centre, conference facilities, gift shop, gym/ fitness facilities, Internet access-wireless, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, restaurant, room service, spa services, swimming pool-outdoor- seasonal. Pets are allowed with fee. It's a smoke-free hotel.

Hotel Map

40.3803 -105.5177
Area served
Estes Park.
Nearby airports
Denver International Airport.
Area description
The Stanley Hotel is located within easy access of Rocky Mountain National Park in beautiful Estes Park, Colorado. About an hour from Denver, the Stanley offers a true year round mountain getaway and provides an ideal starting point for your Rocky Mountain retreat or adventure!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stanley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Stanley Hotel Rooms

Historic Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.
Classic Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.
Manor Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Steamers Cafe
Offers Starbucks coffee, gourmet espresso drinks and fresh baked pastries.
Cascades Restaurant
Cascades Restaurant offers a relaxed and luxurious dining experience. Offering seasonal daily specials the restaurant features fine continental and regional Colorado fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for The Stanley Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bovingdon
Aug 7, 2012

Beautiful Hotel and Setting

This is a beautiful hotel in a spectacular setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but one of the things I was most looking forward to about this was swiming in the pool enjoying the wonderful mountain views. Sadly, the pool was stone cold and I was unable to get into it. During my stay, nobody braved the pool except a couple of children who didn't even stay in it long. The heat in the showers were also hit and miss. Sometimes the water was nice and hot and other times we had to have tepid showers. There are constant ghost tours which is a little disruptive but I had been forewarned about this from reading reviews before our stay. I would recommend this hotel as it is beautiful with gorgeous views of the Rockies and is a very interesting tourist attraction but I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenwood Village, CO
Jun 17, 2012

Great Old Hotel

In a perfect setting. Also enjoyed a very nice dinner in the Cascade Dining Room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Chocolate Chip
Florissant, CO.
Aug 5, 2011

The rooms were too hot.

Since the hotel is not air conditioned, the rooms were hot and even hot in the hotel lobby and gift shop. Sitting out on the big front porch is wonderful and it is a beautiful hotel. Just couldn't sleep, since our room was too hot, even with 2 fans and the window open. I called the front desk, but they were not any help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to The Taffy Shop in town that has been opened since 1935--great taffy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ghlatta3
Salt Lake City
Jul 26, 2011

Overpriced Tourist Trap

My wife and I booked a reservation for The Stanley and looked forward to staying in what promised to be a splendid location, but instead found that we were being charged the equivalent of the Ritz for a room that did not have AC and had an inside temperature of over 90 degrees! The bed was so soft our hands sunk in 6 inches, and the furniture was old and in bad shape. The hotel is overrun by tourist groups at every corner - loud, and has only a few young inexperienced staff running around and of little help. Truly a nightmare - we checked out less than an hour after checking in it was so bad!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bondelev
Denver
Nov 28, 2010

Needs upgrades

We have stayed at the hotel three years in a row, and as far as I can see there have been no upgrades in that time. Granted, the hotel is over 100 years old, but the bedspreads and curtains look 30 years old. That would be an easy upgrade. The carpet is old as well. We stayed in the Manor House in a standard room. (The manor house allows pets.) This is the first year that we were not upgraded to a better room. The standard rooms are very, very small, and the walls are very thin. We had families with children on both sides of us. It was our worst experience at the hotel. If you do stay here, I would recommend upgrading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the hotel food. It is OK, but WAY overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFFFam
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2010

Disappointed

Hotel staff was indifferent, and after check-in, when I asked were to find the room, I was told "it's on the 3rd floor". I lugged my baggage and family only to find that the room didn't exist...went back down to the desk where I was told the room was in a building the was adjacent to the main hotel! Don't get me wrong, this hotel and it's location were amazing and beautiful, but for the cost of the room, one expects a little better personalized service. Also, the food and the service in the grossly expensive restaurant were just average at best. My $35 rack of elk was as tough and flavorless as shoe leather. The guest next to us at the restaurant also sent his entree back to the kitchen. We were very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Centennial, Colorado
Jan 18, 2010

Stanley Hotel worth a visit

Great experience at least one, to see spectacular views of the Rockies, learn the history of the hotel, look for ghosts. Normally creaky floors would bother me but they fit in perfectly here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get out of downtown Estes to one of the nicer eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shining Fan
Pueblo, CO
Jan 4, 2010

Girls Only Weekend Getaway

Skip the ghost tour and just ask the waiters and bartenders for the real dirt! We had a great time. Great service, great food and an amazingly beautiful location. It is an historic hotel so if you are looking for modern looking furniture and decor look up the word historic. It was a great experience and we are already planning our return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

We had planned on going into town for some nightlife but after one round in the fabulous hotel bar we decided to stay "in house" for the evening. A great band and lively bartenders as well as fellow guests made it the perfect night out without leaving the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kr in torrance
torrance ca
Sep 20, 2009

Old world beauty

this is a beautiful old victorian charmer with original wallpaper and furniture from the turn of the century. Very comfortable rooms and beds and a great location in downtown Durango right by the train depot. The staff was very helpful and the restaurant is absolutely beautiful with wonderful food...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

the restaurant is really lovely and has excellent food...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Parker,Co
Aug 1, 2009

Thanks!

We stayed for our wedding night. The room was small for the money but the hotel is awesome. Great staff as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search