$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Stanley Hotel

3 stars
333 E Wonderview Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
40 reviews
night out!

The Stanley hotel is the most incredible place to stay in at Estes Part Colorado! See full review

  • munchkin family
  • Mar 27, 2014
Quick Wedding in CO

The staff at the hotel and the people of Estes park are all amazing. The hotel was really cool and... See full review

  • JFaith
  • Oct 12, 2013
Famous for its old world charm, The Stanley Hotel boasts spectacular views in every direction and is less than 6 miles away from Rocky Mountain National Park. Multi-million dollar renovations have restored this 138-guestroom hotel to its original grandeur. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stanley offers over 16,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space equipped with modern day amenities. Only an hour away from Denver, it is the ideal destination for your Colorado getaway. The property also offers banquet facilities, beauty salon/ hairdresser, business centre, conference facilities, gift shop, gym/ fitness facilities, Internet access-wireless, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, restaurant, room service, spa services, swimming pool-outdoor- seasonal. Pets are allowed with fee. It's a smoke-free hotel.

Hotel Map

40.3803 -105.5177
Area served
Estes Park.
Nearby airports
Denver International Airport.
Area description
The Stanley Hotel is located within easy access of Rocky Mountain National Park in beautiful Estes Park, Colorado. About an hour from Denver, the Stanley offers a true year round mountain getaway and provides an ideal starting point for your Rocky Mountain retreat or adventure!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Stanley Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Stanley Hotel Rooms

Historic Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.
Classic Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.
Manor Queen
Room with one queen bed offers alarm clock, cable/ satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, iron/ ironing board, non-smoking rooms, telephone and voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Steamers Cafe
Offers Starbucks coffee, gourmet espresso drinks and fresh baked pastries.
Cascades Restaurant
Cascades Restaurant offers a relaxed and luxurious dining experience. Offering seasonal daily specials the restaurant features fine continental and regional Colorado fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Stanley Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neri C.
Denver, CO
Jul 7, 2014

4th of July Weekend in the Mountains

Stayed at the Condos on the Stanley Hotel grounds. Roomy and comfortable. Condos are privately owned but managed by the Stanley. The owner of condo that we were placed in by the hotel did not want to service the outside jacuzzi, so we could not use it; sad really, it would have been a perfect day and review. The hotel has no control over things like that. Also, a surround sound speaker system was installed, but it looks as though it has never been hooked up to any entertainment appliance, so it was not operational. There were DVD movies in the condo but no DVD player. Overall, the condo was good, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking through town to get to the AirTram at Estes Park makes for a great excursion and scenic walk.

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim and Susie
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 25, 2014

Stanley Lodge

We stayed at the Stanley Lodge rather than the main building. It too was built around 1910 on a smaller scale. It was quieter than the main building making it seem more appropriate for a visit to the outdoors. The views of the Rockies from the front porch were magnificent. It also provided a wonderful breakfast reminiscent of a good bed and breakfast. The Lodge has been recently refurbished and painted making it very attractive. The Lodge is not air conditioned because of the cool mountain air. This is fine with us, however we felt the Lodge could pay more attention to the ventilation in individual rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GloV
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 8, 2014

Piece of mountain paradise.

This historic property offers comfort and an amazing restaurant and whiskey bar. The history is fascinating and the views are spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KTrue
Denver Colorado
May 11, 2014

Great historic hotel

For such an old hotel the building and rooms are modernized just enough, clean and in great shape. The location is perfect. There is nothing nicer than waking up in a nice hotel in the mountains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Twin Owls steakhouse is a very short drive from the Stanley and was very good.

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
munchkin family
Denver colorado
Mar 27, 2014

night out!

The Stanley hotel is the most incredible place to stay in at Estes Part Colorado!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandad Paul
San Francisco, CA
Nov 12, 2013

Great getaway

This is a grand old hotel filled with memories of a more graceful bygone time. I give the restaurant food high marks for flavor and presentation. The overall experience staying in this hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JFaith
Nashville
Oct 12, 2013

Quick Wedding in CO

The staff at the hotel and the people of Estes park are all amazing. The hotel was really cool and the surroundings were unbelievable. I definitely recommend the tour of the hotel...very interesting and informative. I will say that we did get a bit spooked out and did not sleep well. We both woke up to every noise while there, but that's just us. The food at the Cascades Restaurant in the hotel is REALLY tasty and the bartender was great. They source a lot of their foods locally so you know they're fresh and nutritive. They also had an amazing whiskey, scotch, etc. bar if that's your thing. AND, they have the BEST crème brulee I have EVER tasted, and I've had a lot as it is my favorite dessert. Also, you can walk down to the downtown strip in no time at all. LOVE a vacay with less time in a car. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Yelp has an accurate depiction of the local eateries.

Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
khumphrey
Morrison, CO
Sep 10, 2012

Go for the overall experience

Wonderful historic hotel centrally located with amazing views, exceptional staff, on-site restaurant with tasty menu, relaxing outdoor pool overlooking the mountains. Being a historic hotel, rooms are older but have ben updated beautifully with modern amenities. Staff is attentive and supremely helpful. Beautiful veranda overlooking the mountains where you can have a drink or just relax. Cascades restaurant has a concise but diverse menu. Lovely outdoor seating area in the back. Request The Hotel vs The Lodge for a more unique experience. Such a pleasant stay, we plan to return again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bovingdon
Aug 7, 2012

Beautiful Hotel and Setting

This is a beautiful hotel in a spectacular setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but one of the things I was most looking forward to about this was swiming in the pool enjoying the wonderful mountain views. Sadly, the pool was stone cold and I was unable to get into it. During my stay, nobody braved the pool except a couple of children who didn't even stay in it long. The heat in the showers were also hit and miss. Sometimes the water was nice and hot and other times we had to have tepid showers. There are constant ghost tours which is a little disruptive but I had been forewarned about this from reading reviews before our stay. I would recommend this hotel as it is beautiful with gorgeous views of the Rockies and is a very interesting tourist attraction but I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Stanley Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenwood Village, CO
Jun 17, 2012

Great Old Hotel

In a perfect setting. Also enjoyed a very nice dinner in the Cascade Dining Room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top