$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

The Historic Crags Lodge

3 stars
300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
36 reviews
Great family getaway

Pool area and dining room were excellent Very relaxing would come back anytime See full review

  • Rdbird fan
  • Jun 5, 2014
Excellent value for such luxury!!!

I would have stayed for a whole week if I could! It was such a wonderful room. Very comfortable and... See full review

  • Geology Nerd
  • May 2, 2014
Offering a bird's eye view of the town of Estes Park and breathtaking views of the Continental Divide, Golden Eagle Resort, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is on the north shoulder of Prospect Mountain. You will find a "home away from home" at The Historic Crags Lodge because the hospitable staff treats each guest as a welcome part of an ongoing family history that began 95 years ago. Enter and explore comfortable guest suites, breathtaking dining room, wonderful wedding and conference facilities, and panoramic views of Rocky Mountain National Park. Amenities include Laundromat (coin operated), 24 hour Front Desk, Pool Table, Lobby Computer, Reception, Spa Tub, Pool (seasonal) and Restaurant (seasonal). There is no air conditioning offered in the Historic Crags Lodge rooms. When checking in picture identification and $100 deposit hold via major credit card (cash and debit cards are not accepted) is required for any incidentals and hold is removed at the time of check-out and inspection of unit. Guests must be 21 years to check-in. Please note that the resort does not provide daily maid service. Pets are not allowed. A Resort Fee of $5.00 USD (plus applicable taxes) per night will be applied per reservation. Covers Wi-Fi; Pool and spa; Garden recreational activities; Garden Gas Grills; Morning lobby coffee, Laundromat, DVD Rental, Lobby computer, Printing of boarding pass.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Crags Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Historic Crags Lodge Rooms

Studio
Studio offers One Queen bed along with alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room.
1 Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite offers One Queen size Bedroom and a sofa sleeper in the living room along with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room (No two rooms are exactly alike)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The View Restaurant
"The View" Historic Crag's Lodge restaurant occupying the 90 year old dining room, features a 90-foot floor to ceiling wall of hand blown glass windows. Simply put, it is here where you will find the best food and views Estes Park has to offer. Share a toast on one of three private balconies, and you will know why Historic Crag's Lodge "The View" will probably be here for another 80 years.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Crags Lodge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 36
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother Mar
Business
East Lansing, MI
Aug 31, 2014

Ok, but I would try another hotel next time.

This hotel was very comfortable and clean. The decor was disappointing; I think they need to improve the lighting and pictures. Rocky Mountain National Park is so scenic, but the pictures and lamps in the room looked like garage sale finds. If the hotel is hosting a function, I would suggest eating elsewhere. There was a wedding the night we visited, but the restaurant served us anyway. It was somewhat disappointing and quite expensive. I'm sure it would have been nice if they weren't busy serving a wedding. The staff was very kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rdbird fan
Business
Effingham, illinois
Jun 5, 2014

Great family getaway

Pool area and dining room were excellent Very relaxing would come back anytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Priyatna
Business
Topeka, Kansas
Dec 18, 2013

Place to Stay Near from the Rocky

The location is perfect. The view in the morning is incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bsisl
Business
denver
Dec 2, 2013

impulse in estes

Overall good. We would return. However the room was smaller than we are used to and needed some updating. Had we paid more than what we did we would have been disappointed. This was a impulse stay for us and we didn't really get to use the amenities but from what we could tell they were nice. At the end of the day you have to tell yourself that this is a 100 year hotel with an incredible view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kansas Don
Business
Western Kansas
Jul 28, 2013

Great Place to slow down and enjoy

This hotel is a great place to take a break. It reminded me of the old world resorts - big open area in the lobby, deck, porch area. While the property is the third oldest resort in Estes, the room was modern and nice. The rooms are not air conditioned so get you windows open and ceiling fans going early - the rooms will cool down. There is not breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen M.
Business
Denver, co
Sep 8, 2012

Family Excursion

I went to the Crags Lodge with my parents for a night. The site I reserved the hotel on only sent one of my reservations to the Lodge. The staff was great and upgraded me for free since it wasn't my fault. There is a new pool and hot tub, although I did not see them. The room was very clean, although the suite part of the room was furnished in outdated furniture. There was a new TV with cable. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great view from my room. It is near town and dinner was very enjoyable in their restaurant. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're going to Rocky Mountain National Park go early. There is a tendency for afternoon thunderstorms. If you're in Estes for a number of days you can get a park pass that is valid for 7 days, so you can spread out your trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colorado folks
Business
golden colorado
Apr 8, 2012

great views

nice place. close to town to walk. relaxing had lots of fun. staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sassed
Business
Dallas
Mar 19, 2012

Disappointing

Estes is beauiful, but this was not the best place to enjoy it. The room was incredibly hot and what few amenities were available were hard to find. No restaurant service and no staff until we were checking out. The rooms were old and did not smell good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raghu
Business
Stillwater, OK, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Excellent family getaway

Nice. Comfortable. Great views. Shower water temperature changes without warning--this was the only negative. Well-equipped kitchenette helps in reducing the total cost of the vacation; we had breakfast and some dinners in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smarter
Business
Fort Myers, FL, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Great experience

Great staff, location, and view from the room. Would highly recommend to a friend. GREAT VALUE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bus system in Rocky Mountain National Park to save gas, avoid parking headaches, and get good park/hiking info from the drivers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top