$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

The Historic Crags Lodge

3 stars
300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
31 reviews
So right

Nice comfortable room with a great picture window view of Estes Park. wondeful outdoor heated pool... See full review

  • BroncoBuck
  • Aug 18, 2013
Great Place

It's a nice old place with a touch of modern in the right places. My wife and I enjoyed our stay.... See full review

  • Frank from Houston
  • Aug 3, 2013
Offering a bird's eye view of the town of Estes Park and breathtaking views of the Continental Divide, Golden Eagle Resort, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is on the north shoulder of Prospect Mountain. You will find a "home away from home" at The Historic Crags Lodge because the hospitable staff treats each guest as a welcome part of an ongoing family history that began 95 years ago. Enter and explore comfortable guest suites, breathtaking dining room, wonderful wedding and conference facilities, and panoramic views of Rocky Mountain National Park. Amenities include Laundromat (coin operated), 24 hour Front Desk, Pool Table, Lobby Computer, Reception, Spa Tub, Pool (seasonal) and Restaurant (seasonal). There is no air conditioning offered in the Historic Crags Lodge rooms. When checking in picture identification and $100 deposit hold via major credit card (cash and debit cards are not accepted) is required for any incidentals and hold is removed at the time of check-out and inspection of unit. Guests must be 21 years to check-in. Please note that the resort does not provide daily maid service. Pets are not allowed. A Resort Fee of $5.00 USD (plus applicable taxes) per night will be applied per reservation. Covers Wi-Fi; Pool and spa; Garden recreational activities; Garden Gas Grills; Morning lobby coffee, Laundromat, DVD Rental, Lobby computer, Printing of boarding pass.

The Historic Crags Lodge Rooms

Studio
Studio offers One Queen bed along with alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room.
1 Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite offers One Queen size Bedroom and a sofa sleeper in the living room along with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room (No two rooms are exactly alike)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Crags Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.3695 -105.5273
Area served
Estes Park.
Nearby airports
Denver International Airport
Area description
Nestled quietly on the shoulder of Prospect Mountain, the Lodge offers breathtaking views of the Continental Divide to the West, and a birds-eye view of downtown Estes Park to the East. The Lodge is everything you imagine when a quiet retreat to the mountain of Colorado is what you have in mind.

Dining

The View Restaurant
"The View" Historic Crag's Lodge restaurant occupying the 90 year old dining room, features a 90-foot floor to ceiling wall of hand blown glass windows. Simply put, it is here where you will find the best food and views Estes Park has to offer. Share a toast on one of three private balconies, and you will know why Historic Crag's Lodge "The View" will probably be here for another 80 years.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Crags Lodge

Overall score

3.9 / 5
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

1
Db2012
Colorado
Aug 6, 2012

Horrible and disappointing

Room was extremely below average. Bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in and every noise from the entire could be heard throughout the night, including when someone walked up the stairs. We have stayed in Estes Park many times. We would never consider this place again. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

2
MeBuzzard
Denver
Mar 31, 2012

Looks good, but....

At first glance this place seems quite the catch. It's in a good location (but Estes is pretty small), right across from the brewery! Hill top, among trees. Kind of hidden. Then there were problems: pool, hot tub, restaurant all closed. If you're not on the 'city side' of the hotel, then your view is of the parking lot. Some strange engine humming noise at night. Renovation was loud. Staff assistance?? Alarm clock was BRIGHT...I unplugged it. No food options and no directions to point to food options. This place seems to reek of corporate mis-management. It's all about the numbers and the quaintness and relaxation are gone. I came here to relax and get away. I left more tense than at arrival. Won't stay here again. While basically nice, it wasn't much different than a Comfort Inn or $50/night place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

2
Sassed
Dallas
Mar 19, 2012

Disappointing

Estes is beauiful, but this was not the best place to enjoy it. The room was incredibly hot and what few amenities were available were hard to find. No restaurant service and no staff until we were checking out. The rooms were old and did not smell good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
NY
Jul 14, 2011

Quaint, cute.

The hotel has a private perch above Estes Park, with a view of the mountains and of the haunted Stanley across town. The rooms are a bit small, musty and dark and could use updating. The bathrooms, though were nice and modern, and our room was actually a suite with a kitchenette, well worth the price. The restaurant has some very romantic balcony tables for two, where you have your own private little balcony with a view. Overall we enjoyed the place, but next year we'll know to go for one of the condos on Falls River.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Surprisingly, the RMNP Falls River visitor's center has a restaurant in it with a great view and delicious, inexpensive food, including wild game as well good old fashioned diner food like Reubens and mac&cheese.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

3
Mrs. Lisa H.
Cheyenne, WY
Jun 25, 2013

Estes Park

Very clean and friendly staff. Lobby area was very nice and created the atmosphere we were expecting. The room was very clean and the bath towels so, so soft! On the negative; our room was tiny and the structure seemed old, some parts of the floor were uneven. It was a bit stuffy and there was no air conditioning. We felt the that the price didn't match the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

3
bsisl
denver
Dec 2, 2013

impulse in estes

Overall good. We would return. However the room was smaller than we are used to and needed some updating. Had we paid more than what we did we would have been disappointed. This was a impulse stay for us and we didn't really get to use the amenities but from what we could tell they were nice. At the end of the day you have to tell yourself that this is a 100 year hotel with an incredible view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

3
Tronasauras
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 12, 2012

OK for a quick stay near RMNP

My room was really hot, couldn't sleep well. Other than that it was fine. I really liked the fire place and open areas to hang out downstairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
L.Novo
Chicago, IL
Oct 10, 2013

A little sketchy at first

We planned this trip before the floods and before the government shutdown. We learned that all but one road to Estes Park was open, but when the government shutdown the National Park we tried to cancel. The hotel refused to cancel our reservations and they were going to charge us $160.00 whether we showed up or not. We were not happy about that. We made the trip from Denver to Estes Park on the only road that was open (due to the flooding), it took over 3 hours to get there. We were very pleased with the location when we got there and the staff made all the difference in the world....especially Ann. We ended up staying an extra night in part because of the long drive in and out of the area, but if it wasn't for Ann we would have changed hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
maryseab
Kansas City, MO, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Historic Crags Lodge

This 80+ year old lodge has charm and historic appeal. The room layout is a bit different but it offers a view of the mountains and Estes Park that is a treat to the eyes. You have a mini kitchen in your room which is handy and money saving. There is also an outdoor gas grill available. We stayed during the week and the room rate was very affordable. On the weekends, the rate was much higher. The restaurant is open in the evening and the food is high quality and in large servings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
2Ariver.com
Etters, PA
Jul 14, 2013

Nice Lodge

Very enjoyable meal at the hotel restuant. Good view of the town and mountains. No air conditioning but it was nice with cool air of the rockies at night. Very nice quiet room with 2 bathrooms, kitchenet ,couch and 2 tv sets Nice pool and no kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top