$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Historic Crags Lodge

3 stars
View map of 300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Mother's day

Perfection. Great mothers day weekend. It snowed plus staff was friendly. I will be coming back for... See full review

  • Nate
  • May 19, 2015
Great getaway

Staff was very friendly. Location was perfect. Views are unbeatable. Rooms are cozy! See full review

  • Hilnaq
  • Apr 25, 2015
Offering a bird's eye view of the town of Estes Park and breathtaking views of the Continental Divide, Golden Eagle Resort, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is on the north shoulder of Prospect Mountain. You will find a "home away from home" at The Historic Crags Lodge because the hospitable staff treats each guest as a welcome part of an ongoing family history that began 95 years ago. Enter and explore comfortable guest suites, breathtaking dining room, wonderful wedding and conference facilities, and panoramic views of Rocky Mountain National Park. Amenities include Laundromat (coin operated), 24 hour Front Desk, Pool Table, Lobby Computer, Reception, Spa Tub, Pool (seasonal) and Restaurant (seasonal). There is no air conditioning offered in the Historic Crags Lodge rooms. When checking in picture identification and $100 deposit hold via major credit card (cash and debit cards are not accepted) is required for any incidentals and hold is removed at the time of check-out and inspection of unit. Guests must be 21 years to check-in. Please note that the resort does not provide daily maid service. Pets are not allowed. A Resort Fee of $5.00 USD (plus applicable taxes) per night will be applied per reservation. Covers Wi-Fi; Pool and spa; Garden recreational activities; Garden Gas Grills; Morning lobby coffee, Laundromat, DVD Rental, Lobby computer, Printing of boarding pass.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Crags Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Historic Crags Lodge Rooms

Studio
Studio offers One Queen bed along with alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room.
1 Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite offers One Queen size Bedroom and a sofa sleeper in the living room along with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room (No two rooms are exactly alike)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The View Restaurant
"The View" Historic Crag's Lodge restaurant occupying the 90 year old dining room, features a 90-foot floor to ceiling wall of hand blown glass windows. Simply put, it is here where you will find the best food and views Estes Park has to offer. Share a toast on one of three private balconies, and you will know why Historic Crag's Lodge "The View" will probably be here for another 80 years.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Crags Lodge

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geology Nerd
Business
Duluth, MN
May 2, 2014

Excellent value for such luxury!!!

I would have stayed for a whole week if I could! It was such a wonderful room. Very comfortable and clean and my night there was very relaxing! The staff was very nice and efficient. Check-in was very quick and painless. I would certainly stay here again and will recommend The Crags to anyone passing through Colorado. Wonderful stay and such an amazing price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
olddw
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Feb 8, 2012

perfect stay

it's an old lodge,maybe not for everybody but perfect for us.Everybody that worked for the hotel was great, could not have been treated any better.RMNP 3 miles away. Cannot wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

not open in winter other restaurants within walking distance. hotel rest. when open really good

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VicH
Business
Superior, CO, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Simply Amazing

Boyfriend and I went up to hike at RMNP and they was doing a special on this hotel, so we booked it and were both ecstatic when we got there and saw it. I've stayed at a lot of hotels at around what I paid and I wasn't expecting anything spectacular, but when we got there, the staff and other guest were all really friendly, and the hotel was beautiful. We got up to our room, and it was nicer than some apartments I've stayed in. It had a kitchenette, 1.5 bathrooms, two TVs, tons of windows and a window seat. I can say that this was definitively one of the nicest hotels that I've stayed at, and my boyfriend (who grew up staying at 4/5 star hotels) agreed. The only point to note is that there didn't appear to be any AC in the room. It was beautiful out, so we opened the windows and felt great, but I don't know how nice it would be in the middle of summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David in Denver
Business
ABQ, NM, USA
Feb 12, 2013

Winter in Estes Park in a wonderful lodge

The winter experience is very different than that of summer, and The Crags is a great way to enjoy it. Quiet, comfortable with very friendly staff, a few days staying at The Crags while enjoying daytime activities in Rocky Mt National Park and the surrounding area is idyllic. Evening s'mores or ice cream sundaes by the fire is a perfect way to end your day. And again, I must mention the friendly, helpful staff that added to the nice environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T muff
Business
Broomfield, CO
Feb 25, 2013

One night of fun!

We stayed only one night but will definitely be back! Had a great time in the lobby at night singing with the guitar playing staff and other guests. We even played a game of chess and walked through the whole lodge reading all the history. Looking forward to returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

In the winter the bar and restaurant are closed.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whara
Business
Fort Collins, Colorado
May 18, 2013

One night stay isn't long enough.

Love the hotel. Stayed in the one room suite and had everything you want and need. Awesome lobby with history and fun games. Pool, hot tub, and awesome view of Estes park downtown. Will for sure stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location for national park and Stanley hotel and downtown Estes park as well.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank from Houston
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2013

Great Place

It's a nice old place with a touch of modern in the right places. My wife and I enjoyed our stay. The staff was very accommodating and was able to point me in the right directions from horse back riding to hiking to places to eat. Thank you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Get your ticket to Rocky Mountain National Park early in the week for the ticket is good for the week. This way you can take small hikes every day if you want and not have to do it all in one day.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BroncoBuck
Business
Arizona
Aug 18, 2013

So right

Nice comfortable room with a great picture window view of Estes Park. wondeful outdoor heated pool and hot tub under the pines. The staf went above a beyond for us. Free laundry. The only minor problem is thwe cramped parking lot, don't come up the driveway in a big pickup. The "View" restaurant was a bit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rdbird fan
Business
Effingham, illinois
Jun 5, 2014

Great family getaway

Pool area and dining room were excellent Very relaxing would come back anytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longmont, CO
Jun 1, 2011

Best Restaurant!

This is an AMAZING hidden gem! Most definitely the BEST VIEW in Estes Park! My husband and I visit The View Restaurant every year, we got engaged there and had our wedding reception there. [...] and [...] are a pleasure to work with, and everything was beyond our expectations. The wedding was amazing and perfect, BUT SO IS DINNER! I would recommend trying the spicy shrimp and chicken pasta, and a brownie sundae for desert. We look forward to coming, every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best Dinner in Estes Park! Hands down!

Back to menu Return to top