$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

The Historic Crags Lodge

3 stars
300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
37 reviews
Great family getaway

Pool area and dining room were excellent Very relaxing would come back anytime See full review

  • Rdbird fan
  • Jun 5, 2014
Excellent value for such luxury!!!

I would have stayed for a whole week if I could! It was such a wonderful room. Very comfortable and... See full review

  • Geology Nerd
  • May 2, 2014
Offering a bird's eye view of the town of Estes Park and breathtaking views of the Continental Divide, Golden Eagle Resort, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is on the north shoulder of Prospect Mountain. You will find a "home away from home" at The Historic Crags Lodge because the hospitable staff treats each guest as a welcome part of an ongoing family history that began 95 years ago. Enter and explore comfortable guest suites, breathtaking dining room, wonderful wedding and conference facilities, and panoramic views of Rocky Mountain National Park. Amenities include Laundromat (coin operated), 24 hour Front Desk, Pool Table, Lobby Computer, Reception, Spa Tub, Pool (seasonal) and Restaurant (seasonal). There is no air conditioning offered in the Historic Crags Lodge rooms. When checking in picture identification and $100 deposit hold via major credit card (cash and debit cards are not accepted) is required for any incidentals and hold is removed at the time of check-out and inspection of unit. Guests must be 21 years to check-in. Please note that the resort does not provide daily maid service. Pets are not allowed. A Resort Fee of $5.00 USD (plus applicable taxes) per night will be applied per reservation. Covers Wi-Fi; Pool and spa; Garden recreational activities; Garden Gas Grills; Morning lobby coffee, Laundromat, DVD Rental, Lobby computer, Printing of boarding pass.

Hotel Map

40.3695 -105.5273
Area served
Estes Park.
Nearby airports
Denver International Airport
Area description
Nestled quietly on the shoulder of Prospect Mountain, the Lodge offers breathtaking views of the Continental Divide to the West, and a birds-eye view of downtown Estes Park to the East. The Lodge is everything you imagine when a quiet retreat to the mountain of Colorado is what you have in mind.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Crags Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Historic Crags Lodge Rooms

Studio
Studio offers One Queen bed along with alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room.
1 Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite offers One Queen size Bedroom and a sofa sleeper in the living room along with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room (No two rooms are exactly alike)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The View Restaurant
"The View" Historic Crag's Lodge restaurant occupying the 90 year old dining room, features a 90-foot floor to ceiling wall of hand blown glass windows. Simply put, it is here where you will find the best food and views Estes Park has to offer. Share a toast on one of three private balconies, and you will know why Historic Crag's Lodge "The View" will probably be here for another 80 years.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Crags Lodge

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2Ariver.com
Etters, PA
Jul 14, 2013

Nice Lodge

Very enjoyable meal at the hotel restuant. Good view of the town and mountains. No air conditioning but it was nice with cool air of the rockies at night. Very nice quiet room with 2 bathrooms, kitchenet ,couch and 2 tv sets Nice pool and no kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IATRAV
Des Moines, IA
Jun 30, 2013

Great Place

We had a 1 Bedroom on 3rd floor with a great view of downtown Estes Park. Small kitchen was great. Front desk personnel were very helpful and friendly. Only thing we could have added would be air conditioning or a ceiling fan in the bedroom

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. Lisa H.
Cheyenne, WY
Jun 25, 2013

Estes Park

Very clean and friendly staff. Lobby area was very nice and created the atmosphere we were expecting. The room was very clean and the bath towels so, so soft! On the negative; our room was tiny and the structure seemed old, some parts of the floor were uneven. It was a bit stuffy and there was no air conditioning. We felt the that the price didn't match the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Whara
Fort Collins, Colorado
May 18, 2013

One night stay isn't long enough.

Love the hotel. Stayed in the one room suite and had everything you want and need. Awesome lobby with history and fun games. Pool, hot tub, and awesome view of Estes park downtown. Will for sure stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location for national park and Stanley hotel and downtown Estes park as well.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fly Fisherman Weekend
Castle Pines, CO
May 13, 2013

Awesome Weekend!

Even though we booked before the "Season" started at the Historic Crag Lodge, we had a fantastic weekend with great hospitality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dunraven's Inn Restaurant was an awesome place to eat in Estes Park.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T muff
Broomfield, CO
Feb 25, 2013

One night of fun!

We stayed only one night but will definitely be back! Had a great time in the lobby at night singing with the guitar playing staff and other guests. We even played a game of chess and walked through the whole lodge reading all the history. Looking forward to returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

In the winter the bar and restaurant are closed.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David in Denver
ABQ, NM, USA
Feb 12, 2013

Winter in Estes Park in a wonderful lodge

The winter experience is very different than that of summer, and The Crags is a great way to enjoy it. Quiet, comfortable with very friendly staff, a few days staying at The Crags while enjoying daytime activities in Rocky Mt National Park and the surrounding area is idyllic. Evening s'mores or ice cream sundaes by the fire is a perfect way to end your day. And again, I must mention the friendly, helpful staff that added to the nice environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen M.
Denver, co
Sep 8, 2012

Family Excursion

I went to the Crags Lodge with my parents for a night. The site I reserved the hotel on only sent one of my reservations to the Lodge. The staff was great and upgraded me for free since it wasn't my fault. There is a new pool and hot tub, although I did not see them. The room was very clean, although the suite part of the room was furnished in outdated furniture. There was a new TV with cable. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great view from my room. It is near town and dinner was very enjoyable in their restaurant. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're going to Rocky Mountain National Park go early. There is a tendency for afternoon thunderstorms. If you're in Estes for a number of days you can get a park pass that is valid for 7 days, so you can spread out your trip.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Db2012
Colorado
Aug 6, 2012

Horrible and disappointing

Room was extremely below average. Bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in and every noise from the entire could be heard throughout the night, including when someone walked up the stairs. We have stayed in Estes Park many times. We would never consider this place again. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ketsler
Denver, CO
Apr 9, 2012

One night stay

70$ studio for one night for my girlfriend an I, very clean room and bathroom. Mini fridge, small stove and microwave, newer TV and an alright bed. Great view of Estes and very short drive to Rocky Mountain National Park. Room was slightly warm but opened the windows and fans made it just fine. Will be my go to for stays in the area! Staff was very nice and helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top