$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Historic Crags Lodge

3 stars
View map of 300 Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Mother's day

Perfection. Great mothers day weekend. It snowed plus staff was friendly. I will be coming back for... See full review

  • Nate
  • May 19, 2015
Great getaway

Staff was very friendly. Location was perfect. Views are unbeatable. Rooms are cozy! See full review

  • Hilnaq
  • Apr 25, 2015
Offering a bird's eye view of the town of Estes Park and breathtaking views of the Continental Divide, Golden Eagle Resort, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is on the north shoulder of Prospect Mountain. You will find a "home away from home" at The Historic Crags Lodge because the hospitable staff treats each guest as a welcome part of an ongoing family history that began 95 years ago. Enter and explore comfortable guest suites, breathtaking dining room, wonderful wedding and conference facilities, and panoramic views of Rocky Mountain National Park. Amenities include Laundromat (coin operated), 24 hour Front Desk, Pool Table, Lobby Computer, Reception, Spa Tub, Pool (seasonal) and Restaurant (seasonal). There is no air conditioning offered in the Historic Crags Lodge rooms. When checking in picture identification and $100 deposit hold via major credit card (cash and debit cards are not accepted) is required for any incidentals and hold is removed at the time of check-out and inspection of unit. Guests must be 21 years to check-in. Please note that the resort does not provide daily maid service. Pets are not allowed. A Resort Fee of $5.00 USD (plus applicable taxes) per night will be applied per reservation. Covers Wi-Fi; Pool and spa; Garden recreational activities; Garden Gas Grills; Morning lobby coffee, Laundromat, DVD Rental, Lobby computer, Printing of boarding pass.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Crags Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Historic Crags Lodge Rooms

Studio
Studio offers One Queen bed along with alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room.
1 Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite offers One Queen size Bedroom and a sofa sleeper in the living room along with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, DVD player, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron / ironing board, kitchenette, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, mini refrigerator, 2 burner stove, coffee making facilities, telephone, toaster, voice-mail and dining room (No two rooms are exactly alike)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The View Restaurant
"The View" Historic Crag's Lodge restaurant occupying the 90 year old dining room, features a 90-foot floor to ceiling wall of hand blown glass windows. Simply put, it is here where you will find the best food and views Estes Park has to offer. Share a toast on one of three private balconies, and you will know why Historic Crag's Lodge "The View" will probably be here for another 80 years.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Crags Lodge

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris P.
Business
Redmond
May 29, 2015

Aged, but nice lodge

The Craig's is kind of what you'd expect of an old CO mountain lodge - homey, great amenities, comfortable chairs and fireplaces but you can't escape the feeling that 1000+ people have been through the place before you. I stayed in the annex building and the bathroom could have been cleaner, especially the tub grout and sink but the kitchenette was nice. Worth the stay if you can avoid peak season pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nate
Business
Deer Park
May 19, 2015

Mother's day

Perfection. Great mothers day weekend. It snowed plus staff was friendly. I will be coming back for the 4th time. Home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hilnaq
Business
Hillsboro
Apr 25, 2015

Great getaway

Staff was very friendly. Location was perfect. Views are unbeatable. Rooms are cozy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Tucker's
Business
Dallas
Apr 11, 2015

Woodsy cabins

Beautiful place with lovely views and friendly people. Not much there though except coffee in the morning. Convinient to town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
landon m.
Business
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Great getaway

We've been coming to the Historic Crag's Lodge for the past two years and we love it! The staff is great and the rooms are perfect with the ability to cook your own food so you don't have to spend a fortune eating out. We go to Estes for the snowshoeing and hiking and some days we just stayed in the hotel, relaxed, shot some pool, hot tub, etc. It's close to the downtown area and yet you feel remote. It's beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HappyCamper
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Winter break getaway

The Historic Crags Lodge was a lovely place to spend a night away. The building itself is beautiful and set up in the mountains of Estes. The room was comfortable and I really appreciated the well-stocked kitchenette. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retirees ready to travel
Business
Wauseon
Dec 29, 2014

Memorable Experience

Historic Crags Lodge was a very special experience. So much memorabilia and such a fantastic view. Our accommodations met all our expectations of cleanliness and comfort. Our only disappointment was that we had to go into town for breakfast and we would have so enjoyed having breakfast in the dining room right on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

It's a little bit of a drive but the Dunnsraven Inn in Estes Park was a wonderful experience. We would definitely return there. The walls were plastered with dollar bills that had been uniquely signed by various past guests. Really fun and memorable. Good food too.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retirees ready to travel
Business
Wauseon
Dec 22, 2014

Memorable Experience

Historic Crags Lodge was a very special experience. So much memorabilia and such a fantastic view. Our accommodations met all our expectations of cleanliness and comfort. Our only disappointment was that we had to go into town for breakfast and we would have so enjoyed having breakfast in the dining room right on the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

It's a little bit of a drive but the Dunnsraven Inn in Estes Park was a wonderful experience. We would definitely return there. The walls were plastered with dollar bills that had been uniquely signed by various past guests. Really fun and memorable. Good food too.

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother Mar
Business
East Lansing, MI
Aug 31, 2014

Ok, but I would try another hotel next time.

This hotel was very comfortable and clean. The decor was disappointing; I think they need to improve the lighting and pictures. Rocky Mountain National Park is so scenic, but the pictures and lamps in the room looked like garage sale finds. If the hotel is hosting a function, I would suggest eating elsewhere. There was a wedding the night we visited, but the restaurant served us anyway. It was somewhat disappointing and quite expensive. I'm sure it would have been nice if they weren't busy serving a wedding. The staff was very kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Historic Crags Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old Novice Hiker
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Aug 23, 2014

Beds

We asked and received a one room bedroom with a couch that converted to a bed. The queen bed was fairly comfortable but the couch bed was springy and lumpy and not conducive to sleep. The personnel and surroundings were very nice and the food was tasty and they could adhere to the gluten free diet we requested. The location is somewhat difficult to find at first but is very scenic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Old Mountain Café in the lower Stanley area has wonderful breakfasts.

Back to menu Return to top