$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Iron Horse Inn

2 stars
5800 North Main Avenue, 5800 North Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
35 reviews
Durango Trip

The location is fantastic, rooms are clean and we loved the loft set up. It was nice to be bit out... See full review

  • Xavier123
  • Sep 28, 2014
Nice surprise

My friend and I were not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised given the height of the... See full review

  • Kiwi Wanderer
  • Jul 5, 2014
Welcome to the Iron Horse Inn of Durango Colorado where every room is a bi level suite. A great location friendly knowledgeable staff pet friendly and comfortable affordable accommodations makes this a great value that you will not want to miss while in Durango. We include a free continental breakfast for guests. Also available for your use is a game room for kids and barbecue picnic area. Located only 5 minutes from historic downtown Durango and 30 minutes from Purgatory Mountain at Durango Mountain Resort we offer the perfect mix between ease of access to downtown Durango and easy travel to the resort area. The city trolley stops in front of our lobby on a regular basis and travels the entire length of Main Avenue. It is an economical and fun way to get downtown to explore the wonderful heritage of Durango.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Iron Horse Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Iron Horse Inn Rooms

TrackSide 2 Q Beds
Description not provided
Bi-Level 1 Q & 1 Dbl bed
Description not provided
Kitchenette 1 Q & 1 Dbl
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Skiing
Children's activities
Golf
Game room
Driving range
Horseback riding
Cross country skiing
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Family plan
Services
Maid service
Guest laundromat
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Turndown service
Fire place
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Iron Horse Inn

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xavier123
Business
New Mexico
Sep 28, 2014

Durango Trip

The location is fantastic, rooms are clean and we loved the loft set up. It was nice to be bit out of town and yet close enough to get there easy enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Steamer Brewery had the best combination of service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee Lou
Business
Albany, OR
Aug 4, 2014

dated but comfortable

Decor was dated, but was comfortable. Kid loved the Durango to Silverton train passing by right outside our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MickeymOuser
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 7, 2014

good option

The shower was dirty, other than that a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwi Wanderer
Business
Auckland, NZ
Jul 5, 2014

Nice surprise

My friend and I were not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised given the height of the travel season and the price of the room. The room (really, a two-level suite) was clean with what looked to be newer carpet. The bathroom was a bit worn but was clean. There were no funny smells, which is the biggest red flag for me. The linens were new - no funky old bedspread - and the beds were comfortable. It's a bit out of the way, but there's a streetcar/shuttle that stops regularly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ne bugle
Business
north platte ne
Jun 21, 2014

good value and quiet

Clean room older motel only negative was wifi signal in room was nonexistent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disjecta
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jun 16, 2014

Great Deal!

Although there was a bit of a musty smell, the rooms were clean. The room configurations featured a loft room upstairs which provided nice morning views of the surrounding mountains. The front desk staff were very accommodating and friendly. I would stay here again if I needed an affordable room in the Durango area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Belchman
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 16, 2014

Needs Updating, But the staff is great!

The hotel looks like its straight out of 1989 the way it is furnished and the wallpaper is peeling back in the upstairs loft. A little updating on the rooms would go a long way in making this place more enticing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rafting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TeeCharley
Business
Brimhall, New Mexico
Jun 10, 2014

Loved the scenery

I liked the stay, was great and clean. Wasn't expecting our room to be cleaned but returning from our outing it was completed. Enjoyed our basketball tournament very welcoming. thank you very much, will plan another get away here with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

scenery

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manny M
Business
Austin, Tx
May 27, 2014

Good experience

I just used the hotel to shower and sleep. There is so much to do in Durango that I was either out hiking or rafting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mesa Verde Cliff Dwellings, Animas river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weeonesmommie
Business
denver, co
Jun 8, 2013

good room for the price

location was prefect, it is in the loop for the downtown trolley  which makes it nice since parking downtown is horrible especially in the summer season. rooms are clean but a little dated. the condo style lets you spread out nicely, and with kids that is a big plus. only real big complaint is that there was a connecting door for the room next to us and could hear their conversions, maybe a newer door that was not hollow would fix that.. over all not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top