$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Durango Downtown Inn

3 stars
800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
43 reviews
great location

very helpfull staff with plenty of ideas for places to eat and visit. A very good "Motel" very... See full review

  • dave101
  • Apr 16, 2014
Hotel Review

Room was clean and well appointed with the necessities for staying comfortably for a few days. See full review

  • asdfjklh
  • Mar 26, 2014
We are located in historic downtown Durango, Colorado, 1 block off of Historic Main Street and just 4 blocks from Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad Depot. Within walking distance you can enjoy hiking, hunting, fishing, and river rafting. The Animas river and its 3 mile river walk are located behind the hotel. Snowmobiling, racquetball, golf and tennis are also available within 5 miles.

The hotel offers a heated indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, fitness center and all of our rooms offer 1 king or 2 double beds, in room coffee, hair dryer and iron and ironing board.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Durango Downtown Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Durango Downtown Inn Rooms

Non Smoking King or 2 Double
All rooms offer 1 king or 2 double beds, in room coffee, hair dryer and iron and ironing board.
Accessible King
King Bed, roll-in showers, handlebars & seat over the toilet, sliding door into the bathroom, lowered closet rod. Max occupancy 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Local Dining
We are conveniently located adjacent to the Applebee's Neighborhood Bar & Grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Durango Downtown Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Oct 13, 2010

Good location.

It was nice. Never went into the lobby or used the amenities, so no opinion on those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bike, running, walking path next to the Animas River.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bentleys grandma
Business
boston,MA.
Sep 13, 2010

"just what we wanted"

We went to Durango to meet our first grandchild! Not wanting to upset their household we opted for a hotel this trip. We had a room that faced the river...very nice. It was clean and comfortable.I especially enjoyed the walkway that the town has built along the river ..which we hopped on right at the parking lot.We could walk to alot of the town's many eating spots as well. We did not do much sight-seeing this trip but did go to Mesa Verdi and drove out to Pagosa Springs...we WILL visit that next trip! People seemed to really be enjoying that! My best tip would be to grab the Durango map in the lobby..the town is so simple to get around if you look at it on paper. I may choose the Holiday Inn the next trip as well...no-one will be looking for a diapher change there in the middle of the night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 15, 2010

Great place to stay in Durango

The check-in was quick and efficient. I asked about express check-out and it was made available. The physical layout allowed us to easily park close to our room on both visits. We did not hear other guests through the walls or floor. The hotel building includes an Applebes Restaurant which is really convenient, and it is within easy walking distance from central downtown Durango and the Durango-Silverton RR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Walk into town and leave your car at the hotel. If you are taking the RR, walk there, don't drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson AZ
Jul 24, 2010

Durango

It's a great location to explore Durango. It's walking distance to the train station to take the steam engine train to Silverton. We walked to restaurant and shopping. The hotel is old but it was clean . It also has a coin operated laundry room which came in handy since we were taking a 8 day road trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 21, 2010

Fun in Colorado

Great trip to see the sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Train to Silverton is fun. I would suggest riding to Silverton and taking the bus back. If you do ride the train both ways, get the souvenir cup with unlimited refills. Well worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michelle mom-on-the-go
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 21, 2010

Pricey, not great

Location was great, room was small and bathroom even smaller. Paid more for a "pool-side" room, which wasn't, it was on the 2nd floor and pool enclosed in an adjacent building. Priced way too high - guess it's the season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orem Ut
Jun 8, 2010

Nice location.

Windows didn't open. Would have got a nice breeze. Liked location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrownEyedBlonde
Business
Madison, WI
May 4, 2010

Great location, beautifully renovated

We visited Fort Lewis College, Mesa Verde National Park and took to narrow gauge train ride to Silverton. A drive to Ouray was breathtaking! It would have been nice to have a free breakfast, but Applebee's opened at 7, and McDonalds is across the street. Hotel sits right on the river and on a hiking path.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great dinner at the Red Snapper! Breakfast at the Durango Diner was a great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 24, 2009

Holiday Inn in Durango, COlorado

We stayed there at night but were out and about during the day. The rooms was clean and comfortable. We did not really have time to enjoy any of the amenities. The A/C was noisy. The staff was very friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most dining and entertainment areas are on Main Avenue, just 2 blocks away. Some places are pricey and some of the menu prices on the street were not the actual prices seen on the menus inside, such as at teh Palace Restaurant next to the Train Station. Irish Embassy Pub and Restaurant had good service and drinks but the food was lackluster. The Palace was a little Pricey for what you got but the location and ambiance were excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Durango Downtown Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingman, AZ
Jul 23, 2009

Nice view of the river

Hotel was closely located to the Durango/Silverton Terminal. We took a round trip train ride from Durango to Silverton and back, nice trip but a bit pricey. Visited Mesa Verde and took a tour to the Cliff Palace, worth the trip and very good value, especially when we were there it was free weekend day. I'd recommended the Mesa Verde trip but go there early in the day as it can get very hot this time of the year (July). Lot of shops and restaurant in the downtown area, parking is a bit of a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ken & Sue's in downtown area, small place, friendly staff, good food. Francisco also was good, everything a la carte even the chips and salsa. For breakfast you can't beat College Cafe on College Drive away from downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top