$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

3 stars
View map of 3255 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-4248

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Great stay.

We had a very good breakfast, and the room amenities were also very good. The staff was quite... See full review

  • NM Ray
  • Oct 9, 2014
driverljf

Attended aweding in the area. Good experience but the parking was a problem because a a biker rally... See full review

  • driverljf
  • Sep 1, 2014
Our Durango hotel guests enjoy convenient access to sites in the great outdoors, like Mesa Verde National Park. Whether you're here for a trip to the Durango Mountain Resort® or you're taking care of business at Fort Lewis College, let our Durango hotel be your comfortable home away from home. We're close to downtown Durango and Durango Community Recreation Center for an action-packed vacation, and we're also near the local high school, making us a favorite for reunion groups. The La Plata County Fairgrounds and Durango Soccer Shootout attract many visitors to our Durango hotel. If you're in the region for the Four Corners Motorcycle Rally, we're happy to host groups and ensure you have a pleasant stay. Our location, close to the ski and recreation area, makes us a popular choice for vacationers looking for a little excitement on their trip. Our Durango hotel is known for affordability and friendly service. Featuring an indoor, heated pool and hot tub, relaxation is a top priority for many of our guests. There are microwaves and refrigerators in every room, making an extended stay simple. Stock up on essentials and stay awhile, with endless recreational opportunities just moments away. The Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad® is a popular tourist attraction, but most of our guests are here for business with the college or to take advantage of Mother Nature. Endless sporting and recreation opportunities await your arrival. Our friendly staff members are happy to give you recommendations on how to make the most of your stay at our Durango hotel. There's something for everyone nearby, and we're a top destination for traveling families. Reserve your spacious room at the BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows and enjoy a great value! Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WIRELESS,MICRWV,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK, WIRELES HISPD,SOFABD,MICRWV,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WIRELESS,MICRWV,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSZD,SOFABD,WIRELESS,MICRO,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSZD,JETTED TUB,WIRELESS,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2 ROOMS,MICR RFRG,WHISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed

Dining

Ken & Sue's
2.5 mile(s) from Ken & Sue's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Modern American Cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NM Ray
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 9, 2014

Great stay.

We had a very good breakfast, and the room amenities were also very good. The staff was quite helpful in giving advice about the town and getting to the train station for the ride. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Irish Embassy restaurant was excellent. Service was great, and the fish and chips (half order) was more than enough for a meal, and also quite delicious.

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
driverljf
Business
meridian Id
Sep 1, 2014

driverljf

Attended aweding in the area. Good experience but the parking was a problem because a a biker rally in the area.+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old town area and farmers market on Saturday morning

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
driverljf
Business
meridian Id
Sep 1, 2014

Wedding Trip

As indicated above the motel is a typical Super 8 motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Main Street Diner

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
browtines1
Business
cottonwood, arizona
Aug 29, 2014

TRAIN RIDE

the hotel was very good, older but clean and comfortable. also only 1 block from city bus shuttle which is free, a great way to get downtown for the train ride, or to eat as it runs until around 10 in the evening. wish i could say same about train ride, train is hyped but its expensive for what you get and after a hour the scenery gets kind of boring, we rode down from silverton, might be better going up. no one on train came around to explain local history about places we passed or things we saw. also no map with highlights was given to anyone on our car. if you want a great train ride, go to chama New Mexico, ride the culbres/toltec, same train but more comfortable, lots of info and scenery just as good and cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger l.
Business
Midwest City, OK
Aug 18, 2014

retirement trip

Only complaint was the door mechanism did not work well. The key card would not open the door. The staff reprogramed the cards still would not open . Sometime you had to reenter the card 7 or 8 times. The light came on but door would not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snikt
Business
Littleton, Colorado
Aug 5, 2014

Average hotel, decent location in Durango

This hotel is right on the main strip, so it's not really far from anything in Durango. The rooms and amenities are pretty average. Our room near the room service storage ended up being pretty noisy in the morning with all of the workers talking there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAHA
Business
Denver
Jun 30, 2014

Nice place to stay

For this type of hotel, it was very nice and clean. A little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark58
Business
BC, Canada
Apr 27, 2014

Good value for money

The staff were very helpful and the rooms spacious. Breakfast was included and was quite adequate. The beds were comfortable and the room generally clean. While busy it was quiet enough and located near a trolley stop for a free ride into town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Durango Narrow Gauge train

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin Volleyball
Business
Montrose, Colorado
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect place for our need

We enjoy this hotel and the big draw is a nice pool and hot tub for weary volleyball girls after a day of hard playing. The room was a little too warm for my liking but did figure out how to get it cooled down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gene1935
Business
Austin
Mar 11, 2014

Family visit

Hotel gave me a lower rate than you guys. You misnamed the hotel in you re-mail confirmation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top