$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

3 stars
3255 Main Avenue, Durango, CO 81301-4248
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
69 reviews
retirement trip

Only complaint was the door mechanism did not work well. The key card would not open the door. The... See full review

  • Roger l.
  • Aug 18, 2014
Nice place to stay

For this type of hotel, it was very nice and clean. A little pricey. See full review

  • LAHA
  • Jun 30, 2014
Our Durango hotel guests enjoy convenient access to sites in the great outdoors, like Mesa Verde National Park. Whether you're here for a trip to the Durango® Mountain Resort or you're taking care of business at Fort Lewis College, let our Durango hotel be your comfortable home away from home. We're close to downtown Durango and Durango Community Recreation Center for an action-packed vacation, and we're also near the local high school, making us a favorite for reunion groups. The La Plata County Fairgrounds and Durango Soccer Shootout attract many visitors to our Durango hotel. If you're in the region for the Four Corners Motorcycle Rally™, we're happy to host groups and ensure you have a pleasant stay. Our location, close to the ski and recreation area, makes us a popular choice for vacationers looking for a little excitement on their trip. Our Durango hotel is known for affordability and friendly service. Featuring an indoor, heated pool and hot tub, relaxation is a top priority for many of our guests. There are microwaves and refrigerators in every room, making an extended stay simple. Stock up on essentials and stay awhile, with endless recreational opportunities just moments away. The Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad™ is a popular tourist attraction, but most of our guests are here for business with the college or to take advantage of Mother Nature. Endless sporting and recreation opportunities await your arrival. Our friendly staff members are happy to give you recommendations on how to make the most of your stay at our Durango hotel. There's something for everyone nearby, and we're a top destination for traveling families. Reserve your spacious room at the BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows and enjoy a great value!

Hotel Map

37.3014 -107.8706
Area served
Farmington,, Ouray, Cortez, Denver, Pagosa Springs, Silverton, Albuquerque,
Nearby airports
(ABQ), 200.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,WIRELESS,MICRWV,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK, WIRELES HISPD,SOFABD,MICRWV,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,WIRELESS,MICRWV,REFRIG,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSZD,SOFABD,WIRELESS,MICRO,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OVRSZD,JETTED TUB,WIRELESS,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,2 ROOMS,MICR RFRG,WHISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Golf
Game room
Horseback riding
Fishing
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed

Dining

Ken & Sue's
2.5 mile(s) from Ken & Sue's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Modern American Cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger l.
Midwest City, OK
Aug 18, 2014

retirement trip

Only complaint was the door mechanism did not work well. The key card would not open the door. The staff reprogramed the cards still would not open . Sometime you had to reenter the card 7 or 8 times. The light came on but door would not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snikt
Littleton, Colorado
Aug 5, 2014

Average hotel, decent location in Durango

This hotel is right on the main strip, so it's not really far from anything in Durango. The rooms and amenities are pretty average. Our room near the room service storage ended up being pretty noisy in the morning with all of the workers talking there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAHA
Denver
Jun 30, 2014

Nice place to stay

For this type of hotel, it was very nice and clean. A little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark58
BC, Canada
Apr 27, 2014

Good value for money

The staff were very helpful and the rooms spacious. Breakfast was included and was quite adequate. The beds were comfortable and the room generally clean. While busy it was quiet enough and located near a trolley stop for a free ride into town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Durango Narrow Gauge train

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin Volleyball
Montrose, Colorado
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect place for our need

We enjoy this hotel and the big draw is a nice pool and hot tub for weary volleyball girls after a day of hard playing. The room was a little too warm for my liking but did figure out how to get it cooled down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gene1935
Austin
Mar 11, 2014

Family visit

Hotel gave me a lower rate than you guys. You misnamed the hotel in you re-mail confirmation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deeaw
Aurora, Colorado
Oct 10, 2013

CHOO CHOO...Durango Silverton Train

Quiet, well equipped, and nicely maintained. Friendly staff. Liked firm mattress and twin mini-pillows. Price in line with other BW motels, but would have liked to have the eggs & sausage we have had at other BWs for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ride the Durango Silverton train

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bamagirl13
mobile,alabama
Sep 23, 2013

nice

nice and friendly,good location close to trolley stop to downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Train lovers
Brackettville, TX
Aug 20, 2013

Good location.

It's in a good location and the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short drive to the train station.

Review of BEST WESTERN Mountain Shadows

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My review 999
The Southwest area
Aug 2, 2013

Better than the super 8

Much much better and cleaner than the Sipr 8 in Durango

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search