$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1717 Champa Street, At 17th, Denver, CO 80202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
80 reviews
Awesome New Years 2015

The hotel was great my friend and I had a awsome New Years weekend. The staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • DANAE R.
  • Jul 4, 2015
Excellent, Fun Hotel Right off the 16th St Mall

My wife and I (mid-30's) loved this place! It's certainly less expensive than neighboring hotels... See full review

  • Randayl B.
  • Feb 9, 2015

Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel is set in two renovated historical buildings, literally and figuratively combines a lavish past with modern functionality for an eclectic Denver property worthy of critical acclaim.  In 2009, Travel + Leisure magazine recognized Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel as one of the 500 best hotels in the world. The hotel's stylish, international aesthetic appeals to guests seeking luxury with flair. Superior location, amazing on-site amenities and exceptional service make this hip and elegant stay worthy of return.

Rooms

Common space, guest rooms and suites ooze with hip Parisian style at Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel. High-quality custom furnishings, eclectic artwork and exquisite details set guest rooms apart from those found at even the best chain hotels. An impressive selection of suites allows each guest to customize their stay.

Property features

Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel stands apart with impressive architecture, eclectic style and magnificent service. The on-site, Zagat-rated restaurant, Panzano, attracts foodies from all corners of the world for contemporary northern Italian cuisine at its finest. Panzano serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, focusing on organic, sustainable local ingredients that replicate and improve upon old-world traditions.

               

The Veda Salon & Spa provides travel weary guests and Denver's premiere crowd with relaxing and rejuvenating treatments using the highest quality, plant-based products. Guests enjoy a Renaissance experience with a complimentary chair massage, wine and appetizers from Panzano at the nightly receptions.   

Highlights
  • Veda Salon & Spa, full-service luxury spa onsite
  • Panzano Restaurant, Zagat-rated, award-winning contemporary northern Italian cuisine
  • Daily hosted evening wine reception offering complimentary wine, appetizers from Panzano and complimentary chair massages from Veda Spa
  • Pet-friendly, with no pet fees; Monaco Denver provides food and water bowls and pet bed during stay
Nearby attractions
  • Denver Center for Performing Arts (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Colorado Convention Center (.7 mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi access for Kimpton Karma Rewards members
  • 24-hour business center and business services
  • 4,000 square feet of unique meeting space in four rooms
  • On-site consultation and support for meetings and audiovisual equipment

 

Transportation
  • Denver International Airport (18.6 mi/30 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$133
4.1 / 5 242 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.3 / 5 345 reviews
★★★★
$170
3.9 / 5 165 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.2 / 5 195 reviews
★★★★
$183
4.0 / 5 68 reviews
★★★
$144
4.2 / 5 41 reviews
★★★★★
$319
4.4 / 5 51 reviews
★★★
$146
4.1 / 5 66 reviews

Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Guest Room 1 Queen Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft free wifi for Kimpton Karma Members frette linens, ihome alarm clock, desk,
Mediterranean Spa Suite 1 King B
Mediterranean Spa Suite with 1 King Bed 675 sq ft, free wifi Kimpton Karma, living rm, tempurpedic sofa sleeper, corner rm, jetted tub
Accessible Monte Carlo Suite 1 K
Accessible Monte Carlo Suite 1 King Bed 475 sq ft, accessible tub, comm features, living room, tempurpedic sofa sleeper
Accessible Deluxe 2 Double Roll-
Accessible Deluxe 2 Double Beds and Roll-in 350 sq ft., roll-in shower, comm features, free wifi for Kimpton Karma Reward Members
Accessible Deluxe 2 Double Beds
Accessible Deluxe 2 Double Beds 350 sq ft., accessible tub, comm features, free wifi for Kimpton Karma Rewards members
Deluxe Guest Room 1 King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King Bed 375 sq ft free wifi for Kimpton Karma Members frette linens, ihome alarm clock, desk,
Deluxe Guest Room 2 Queen Beds
Deluxe Guest Room with 2 Queen Beds 400 sq. ft. frette linens, ihome clock, desk, free wifi for Kimpton Karma Reward members
Spa Guest Room 1 King Bed
Spa Guest Room with 1 King 375 sq ft, free wifi Kimpton Karma, glass shower and jet tub, frette linens
Premier Guest Room 1 King Bed
Premier Guest Room 1 King Bed 850 sq ft free wifi for Kimpton Karma members living room sofa sleeper, views of 17th st
Monte Carlo Suite 1 King Bed
Monte Carlo Suite with 1 King Bed 475 sq ft, free wifi Kimpton Karma members, living room, tempurpedic sofa sleeper

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Play ground
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Mini bar
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • 16th Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Paramount Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Colorado Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • The Center Center for Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Denver Center Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • Sports Authority Field at Mile High: 0.4 mi
  • Colorado Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.6 mi
  • Coors Field: 0.6 mi
  • Colorado State Capitol: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception: 0.8 mi
  • Clyfford Still Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Denver Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pepsi Center: 0.8 mi
  • Colorado Ballet: 0.9 mi
  • 16th Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Paramount Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Colorado Symphony Orchestra: 0.3 mi
  • The Center Center for Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Denver Center Theatre Company: 0.3 mi
  • Sports Authority Field at Mile High: 0.4 mi
  • Colorado Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.6 mi
  • Coors Field: 0.6 mi
  • Colorado State Capitol: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception: 0.8 mi
  • Clyfford Still Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Denver Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Pepsi Center: 0.8 mi
  • Colorado Ballet: 0.9 mi
  • Molly Brown House Museum: 1 mi
  • Kirkland Museum of Fine & Decorative Art: 1 mi
  • Six Flags Elitch Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Downtown Aquarium: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Denver: 1.3 mi
  • Denver Mountain Parks: 1.3 mi
  • Chessman Park: 1.8 mi
  • Denver Botanical Gardens: 2 mi
  • Denver Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Forney Transportation Museum: 2.4 mi
  • City Park: 2.4 mi
  • Denver Museum of Nature and Science: 2.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 3.7 mi
  • Magness Arena: 4.8 mi
  • Cherry Creek Bike Path: 5.1 mi
  • University of Denver: 5.2 mi
  • Wings over the Rockies Air and Space Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Mount Evans: 36.4 mi

Dining

Panzano Restaurant
One of Americas Top Restaurants by Zagat and the four diamond award winner Panzano Restaurant lives up to that motto to offer the best in contemporary Northern Italian cuisine with a focus on sustainable local seasonal and organic ingredients.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buena Vista, CA
Feb 2, 2011

Shabby with Poor Customer Service

Visiting Denver for business. Hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area. It's entrance is right off the street with difficult parking and unreliable valet service. Staff was rude and unhelpful in regards to extending reservations, despite willingness to pay nightly rate. Follow-up took over 3 hours from a manager and was told no with little apology.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
to Denver
Couples
AZ
Mar 25, 2012

Hotel Monaco Denver

First we were given the room directly across the hall from a noisy elevator. When we asked to move, we were given a room with a view of the parking garage. Granted, we did get an excellent price but you have to wonder about the SPECIAL treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MarcandHailey
Couples
NYC
Aug 20, 2013

Stay elsewhere

Other than the very courteous valet, reception staff and porter, there is nothing good to say about this hotel. Location is poor, property lounge area smells odd, rooms don't have good (any?) climate control - stuffy stuffy stuffy - and I couldn't wait to get out the door. We stayed literally for a night before boarding an early train but I wished we'd done more research and booked elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Taking the Amtrak Zephyr? Get accurate directions to the temporary station at 21st STREET not 21st Ave before you leave reception

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheyenne, WY
Nov 8, 2009

Very Disappointing for the Price

I checked into the hotel on a Wednesday and was told the hotel was sold out. I paid for a king bed and got two double beds in a corner room (very small) and it was the handicapped room with no tub and small bathroom. After complaining, I was upgraded to a king suite for the next two nights, but the room was noisy and the shower was broken. Very frustrating! The $28 valet parking was very expensive as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DanEvanston
Single
Evanston IL
Jan 17, 2010

False advertising

Didn't get the room I requested. Two twins vs a queen, lousy view of the PARKING GARAGE and they dumped me into a less desirable handicapped room. I won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ski more
Couples
breck,co
Mar 14, 2012

Aint what it use to be

no comfortaBLE SEAT TO SIT AND READ,no reading light,no morning paper at door,weak coffee in lobby,good happy hour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

don't dine at Panzano's on a saturday nite, a gross disappointment from previous dining there.

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2M mile travel earth dad
Family
Windsor, Colorado
May 14, 2012

Interesting, thin on service & standards.

Having stayed or had business meetings or social meals at most 3-5 star Denver hotels, I thought the decore was fun. The service polished but thin. The value over-priced. Valet parking is outrageous, but virtually necessary - so add $31 & tip to your expected room cost. Stay at the Brown Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave your car in parking; you can reach more than you can do walking from the hotel. There is a 7-Eleven right across the street if you need toiletries or get the late night munches.

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just A Guy with his Gal
Couples
Sandpoint, Idaho
Aug 10, 2012

splurged and were disappointed

Had a great visit. Very good hotel and the staff was great. Only issue was we booked on Internet (the Big O) and requested a King Size bed. We were taken to our room and discovered we had two full size beds. We reported the error to the desk and were told there was nothing they could do; the hotel was overbooked for King Size beds. The hotel had problems seeing the booking that (The Big O) had made and apologized saying they did not see where we had booked a King Size bed. Not wanting to make too much of it (since there were no real options), we decided to deal with it in the morning. (The bed was comfortable but a little cramped for two adults... I supposed we could have slept separate...) In the morning we retrieved our confirmation, which was indeed for a King Size bed. The hotel clerk comped the $30 parking and apologized for the error. In the future we will carry our reservation confirmation with us and verify with the clerk it is what we requested. The problem was they were overbooked for King Size beds, therefore like the aviation industry, the room should be comped for a future stay. It was due to this bed mix-up that we lowered our rating for this hotel. This hotel should have been across the board a 5-start rating. I do not know if it was (The big O) or the Hotel that should be at fault here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
CA
May 8, 2009

Hotel Monaco

Friendly staff and very clean hotel. The gym was the worst but not everyone cares about the gym :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car nearby and save $15 as opposed to the Hotel.

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Louisville, kentucky
Aug 16, 2009

wedding guest

One night stay for wedding. Very friendly staff. Excellent resturant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top