$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1717 Champa Street, At 17th, Denver, CO 80202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tharris1012
Business
Alexandria, VA
Oct 24, 2012

Kimptons never disappoint!

I am never disappointed by a stay at a Kimptons hotel! My room was HUGE (a standard room) and beautifully ddecorated. All the staff I encountered were extremely polite, helpful, and responsive. I did not take advantage, but happy hour included chair massages! Great alternative, especially if you are attending a convention at the Convention Center. No problems at all with wifi. Very nice equipment in the gym!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DenverTraveler01238
Business
Denver
Mar 19, 2013

Good Hotel

The hotel and amenities were great the rooms were clean and the staff courteous and knowledgeable. The bar was decent but I didn't eat there as the 16th Street Mall was only a few blocks away and an easy walk with many dining options and entertainment. They provide coffee and tea service daily in the lobby until 10 and happy hour with wine and lite fare from 5-7 daily. Oh, and they do allow pets. While this is a good hotel there are a few things they could improve upon: This is a valet only hotel so be prepared to pay $32 a day for parking unless you make other arrangements. They should offer a discount if your staying for a week or more in my opinion. Also cellular reception in the hotel is spotty at best and you can't get a good enough signal with ATT to make calls or provide your own internet. That said internet service in the hotel is $11.99 and if you need to use the business center as I did it's like $10 for fifteen minutes. I did enjoy the hotel and would recommend with the caveats above but don't know if I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rock Bottom Brewing Co. was a nice place with good beer. Also Larimer Square is a short 10 min. walk to Larimer and 14th. --Enjoy

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In town for quick trip
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 3, 2013

Short trip

I picked this hotel due to the star rating, location and excellent price. It exceeded my expectations, and I would highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the wine bar happy hour in the lobby! The hotel restaurant is also excellent.

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pensiveye
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 7, 2013

My best hotel stay

After a less than optimal experience nearby, we switched to this hotel. Having heard about our troubles, we were upgraded to the Monaco Suite at no cost. The staff was more than attentive and took care of every need before we knew we needed it. The decor was unique, giving us the impression that we were not staying in a standard hotel. The overall personality made our hotel stay a highlight of our trip rather than a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
agel
Business
Orlando, Fl
Nov 13, 2012

Great Stay!

I was very impressed with the service and room. The only this i could possibly come up with as a negative is the shower was a step up shower. The bathroom flooded when I use the shower. The room was perfect and they had extras of those things that you always tend to forget when you travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Oct 11, 2012

Close to conference center and LoDo hot spots

This hotel has nice, albeit small rooms in a good location. Rooms were trendy and modern. Service was excellent. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Colt & Grey is an excellent spot for dinner.

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grasshopper Jeff
Business
Memphis, TN
Aug 17, 2012

Feel at home

Friendly and helpful staff, central location with comfortable and quaint facilities made me feel at home in a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bar connected to the Hotel is one of the hottest happy hour spots in town.

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just A Guy with his Gal
Business
Sandpoint, Idaho
Aug 10, 2012

splurged and were disappointed

Had a great visit. Very good hotel and the staff was great. Only issue was we booked on Internet (the Big O) and requested a King Size bed. We were taken to our room and discovered we had two full size beds. We reported the error to the desk and were told there was nothing they could do; the hotel was overbooked for King Size beds. The hotel had problems seeing the booking that (The Big O) had made and apologized saying they did not see where we had booked a King Size bed. Not wanting to make too much of it (since there were no real options), we decided to deal with it in the morning. (The bed was comfortable but a little cramped for two adults... I supposed we could have slept separate...) In the morning we retrieved our confirmation, which was indeed for a King Size bed. The hotel clerk comped the $30 parking and apologized for the error. In the future we will carry our reservation confirmation with us and verify with the clerk it is what we requested. The problem was they were overbooked for King Size beds, therefore like the aviation industry, the room should be comped for a future stay. It was due to this bed mix-up that we lowered our rating for this hotel. This hotel should have been across the board a 5-start rating. I do not know if it was (The big O) or the Hotel that should be at fault here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jan's move
Business
san jose, california
Jul 11, 2012

road trip to california

Very comfortable, great location. Enjoyed our stay, staff was very gracious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monaco Denver, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2M mile travel earth dad
Business
Windsor, Colorado
May 14, 2012

Interesting, thin on service & standards.

Having stayed or had business meetings or social meals at most 3-5 star Denver hotels, I thought the decore was fun. The service polished but thin. The value over-priced. Valet parking is outrageous, but virtually necessary - so add $31 & tip to your expected room cost. Stay at the Brown Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave your car in parking; you can reach more than you can do walking from the hotel. There is a 7-Eleven right across the street if you need toiletries or get the late night munches.

Back to menu Return to top